We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed, Cosy, & Festive.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilkley Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed, Cosy, & Festive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is the second review I have posted for this gem of a hotel. My mother, father, and I visited the Riverside on Sunday, 4th December 2011. The bar area had all festive decorations with a beautiful tree in the corner. There was a lovely log fire and it really was a welcoming sight. After a drink we moved into the small restuarant. Catherine took our order at the same time finding time to engage in some friendly banter. The roast lamb and accompanying potatoes and vegetables, which we all chose, were plentiful and hot and beautifully cooked. After we had eaten we returned to the bar and lounge area and just relaxed, it was a great afternoon. We were informed that the Riverside is open on Christmas Day but NO FOOD. On Boxing Day you can select from a prepared Christmas menu and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    101
    37
    18
    8
See reviews for
40
95
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We found the hotel to be clean and the staff were very warm and welcoming. The facilities were great and we had the bonus of being in the hotel for their bonfire night celebrations. The fireworks were fantastic.
A great place to stay and good value for money

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Videowizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

stayed at this hotel this week and it was really lovely - very friendly staff and yummy food - only complaint I am on a diet but the scampi and chips were to die for thank you to all the staff there for making our stay so comfortable - we will be back x

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttynetty1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Two out of three of our family's bookings were messed up. The Owner - Manageress blamed a staff member for one email confirmation that was not honoured but took no responsibility for any of the mistakes made. The room was tolerable but the en-suite bathroom was very small. The shower had a fault. Breakfast was below "Little Chef" quality with a choice of only 2 cereals. Generally over-priced. Probably worth £40 per night. The reception is never manned and new guests must enter through the bar at the rear - not very welcoming.

Room Tip: Where ever your room there are stairs everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyRiversideHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ilkley Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We sincerely apologise for the error in the booking, we are updating our booking system soon to make sure that these kinds of errors don't happen in the future, we have fixed the shower recently. I hope that you might consider visiting us again so we may have the opportunity to show you how much improved we are since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Group of 12 walkers starting the Dales High Way. Arrived by train - walked to hotel, with bags on wheels - no problem
Very friendly helpful staff, warm comfortable rooms, good food (evening and breakfast). Walked out next morning leaving a mountain of bags on doormat for luggage transfer company to collect.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for one night at start of Dales Way.

The staff were very friendly, the room adequate/good and the breakfast was good choice and well presented. We did not eat there, but had a drink in the bar which was quiet and comfortable.

Good location in residential area - very close to start of Dales Way.

Far from a problem - if you are walking the Dales way an early breakfast is very good news - so 7:30 was great for us.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Liked most : En-suite hot shower/WC/washbasin, but no bath. Location is outside of busy town centre but within walking distance of train/bus stations (even with pull-along small luggage), and near local bus stop; and near the pack-horse bridge which is the trailhead for the 135km-long Dales Way footpath to Bowness-on-Windermere, Cumbria. Fresh air outside. Friendly licensed bar, pub-like. Ample on-site car parking.

Liked least : wonky door-knob with key-operated lock on bedroom door; nice flat-screen TV on wall but only the five main channels; restaurant cutlery quality/cleanliness not liked; restaurant menu only good if you like chips or Yorkshire pudding, otherwise rather limited. My pork in the Yorkshire pud was unlike a home roast. Barman seemed to have trouble with gassy ale from two of the handpumps, so I resorted to Guinness. Restaurant floor at breakfast time not cleaned after previous evening (fried chips in evidence). Very limited breakfast time, 07.30 - 08.30. Small tables.

Bedroom cleanliness very good except for the dust and three hair-curlers behind bedside cabinet. Good wardrobe with sufficient hangers. Tea and coffee tray OK, and you can use the kettle as a tea pot. No desk/table and chair, except the small coffee table with stool. Poor lighting except in en-suite - just two uplights above bed, and one table lamp with big shade.

A friendly welcome by James marked the beginning of our 3-night stay for visiting an old friend in Ilkley for his 80th birthday, and for visiting the Keighley & Worth Valley heritage railway (The original "Railway Children" line, just about 40 minutes away by frequent bus). The hotel has a busy licensed bar (open also to non-residents) and a restaurant where we had a meal on two evenings. The pub-type menu includes many meals with chips, and roast meat or mince or sausages and onion gravy in a Yorkshire pudding base. I had a pizza baked in the hotel's new pizza oven. Fish & chips and ice creams are served outside to non-residents. A standard cooked breakfast includes very good bacon but is otherwise unremarkable.
Our room contained a king-size bed, and a modern en-suite (the best feature of our stay) containing a step-up shower cubicle with a powerful adjustable spray of water from the on-wall electric unit. The wash basin was supplied with very hot water through a mixer tap and the clean white loo had a push-button concealed cistern. The towels were effective but not anything like soft, fluffy and white - they would be better used as bathroom floor mats. There were no face flannels. There were no complimentary toiletries except a dispenser inside the shower cubicle. There was no bar soap for the basin. The loo paper roll was good quality, better than many, but there was no courtesy box of face tissues. The small bed pillows (just one each) were inadequate for us and in our opinion the bed sheet and mattress were due for renewal soon.

Overall, the B&B room price of £225 for our 3 nights seemed a little too high for the service and amenities enjoyed (£75 per night presumably including 20% VAT - there was no printed invoice/receipt), as the Hotel does not make any special offers or better rates for multiple nights.

Room Tip: Have a room at the back unless you come by car and want to see if it's OK from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrambler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyRiversideHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ilkley Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review, we have taken many of your comments on board and we're always working to provide our customers with the best service that we can. We are working with agencies to provide our customers with better promotional offers where we can, and we have, since your stay, updated some of our rooms. Please consider visiting us again so we can show you the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rombalds Hotel
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilkley Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilkley Riverside Hotel

Property: Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Address: Bridge Lane, Ilkley LS29 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilkley Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel in Ilkley West Yorkshire, offers a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere combined with a picturesque riverside setting. Ideally situated for visiting Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Otley, Leeds and Bradford, with Ilkley Moor and the Dalesway a stone's throw away the Riverside is an ideal location for business or pleasure. All of our hotel rooms are en-suite, and include Sky TV, free wireless broadband connection, tea and coffee making facilities. They have views overlooking either the Dalesway, River Wharfe or Ilkley Moor. Our restaurant serves homemade and seasonal food and is open all year round for non-residents as well as residents, as is our award-winning bar serving the very best hand pulled CAMRA Real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Ilkley Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilkley Riverside Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing