We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have a new favourite in Yorkshire”
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 10 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I am up in this region often and as yet I struggle to find anything I could say I like to return to, in the past I stayed at the more expensive Chevin Lodge but have never been happy
The Wheatley is a little further out for me but we'll worth the extra distance as I could not fault the place
I was greeted by a very helpful friendly lady at reception who was able to advise me which room would be most suitable, the room was better than most at this price range and with more home comforts
The food in the restaurant was also exceptional, I had the prawn cocktail with a twist and will have it on my next visit
A good nights sleep a nice meal and a couple of pints of local Ale means that I will be returning

Room Tip: I had initially booked an extra comfort room but it did not have a bath I was then given Room 5. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Well we are all very happy that you have found us too!!! with a lovely,fantastic and complimentary review!!!!

we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards

Kate & Team Wheatley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 375 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I joined a large group here for our Annual Luncheon. Numbers should have been restricted - the dining area was much too crowded, subsequently very noisy and claustrophobic. The meal took and AGE to serve - about an hour between each course - very tedious. I think more staff should have been brought in for such a lot of people. Also the room was too hot.
The food was nice - hot and tasty - but the menu said gravy and there was none, so a bit dry.
I haven't stayed here for a night and it's certainly a nice building, but I just wasn't as impressed with the service and food as I wanted to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judethepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Firstly I would just like to mention that we did not actually sell tickets for the luncheon. It was the organisers,and they were fully aware of how many people could fit into that room. We were actually 14 covers off full capacity on the day.

We followed the itinerary for the day as was given.

We were initially told that everything was running 20 minutes behind schedule(late arrivals etc) and due to the fact that there was a guest speaker who spoke for 45 minutes before lunch as well as another speaker after each course it perhaps did seem like an AGE before you got your food..On occasions like this it is not always the venue that is at fault.....
Kind Regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in room 9 upstairs under the roof. The room has a bath tub in the room in addition to a shower in the bathroom. Very original. Good decoration, unsecure parking and no lift. So travel light. We found this stop to be very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. Room 9 is MY favourite room!!! Yes unfortunately no lifts but plenty of willing staff more than happy to help.Let us know next time and you won,t have to lift a finger (or bag)

Kindest Regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Only stayed one night, no major problems but restaurant service very slow. not a problem as we were not in a hurry. Staff friendly and welcoming. bed comfortable and the shower was very good. Good quiet location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review..We are certainly very pleased that we have managed to tick a majority of boxes for you. At busier times in the restaurant there will unfortunately be slightly longer waiting times for food. We are pleased you were not in a hurry and apologise for any delays...

Kindest Regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in a club room with deck area. The room was well equipped. The bed was comfortable. The shower room had a large shower . The staff were very helpful and the room was clean. Only criticism was noise from the next room which was clear despite the neighbour being relatively quiet. Noise from kitchen fans could be heard too. It didn't prove a problem for us. Breakfast well cooked high quality ingredients. It was nice to relax in the pleasant bar surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titch5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Titch,

Thank You for your lovely review..We do unfortunately have the kitchen fans but we do always try when ever possible to close them down as soon after food service as possible. I will certainly look into the noise from adjoining room. If you come again please mention to a member of staff on booking. We do have alot of rooms which are probably a little quieter.

Kindest Regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have to be honest we tried to rebook the Wheatleys sister hotel The Tempest Arms but couldnt get in - but I am glad we didnt because we wouldnt have fund how lovely The Wheatley Arms is and we will be going back and not as a second choice next time - the hotel and restuarant are well presented and comfortable and clean as are the rooms, the food is excellent and the service and the staff could not be faulted, they were friendly helpful and cheerful - this is an excellent choice for a weekend stay - I am already trying to plan our next escape !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendisgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

How super to have two great Inns to choose from! I am over the moon that you liked our Wheatley Arms we do too! So here's to the next time! Cheers and all the best to you thank you from all at Individual Inns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

spent 3 nights here . a great experience, cant fault the Hotel in any way. staff wonderful. rooms well appointed , food very good ,in fact a fantastic Hotel , and set in a nice area , we will be going there many more times,so its 10 out of 10 from me. last thing it the best bed iv"e ever slept in.

Room Tip: We looked at a few rooms all good , room 10 was our room loved it .very cosy nice hot shower and a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your FAB review we are chuffed to bits you liked our Inn we do too! look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range: $99 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing