We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.”
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked the last room at 7.15 pm on a saturday night after walking out of a four star hotel we'd booked to celebrate our wedding anniversary which just was nothing like we'd expected.Their website looked fantastic but it was more like a delapidated nursing home. We were tired and feeling very disappointed as our weekend hadn't gone to plan, and we have never walked out of a hotel before. We arrived at The Wheatley Arms at 8 pm after driving for two hours and making endless phone calls to book a room for the night to salvage our anniversary weekend with some trepidation, but we were welcomed by friendly staff into a beautifully decorated and furnished establishment.All the public areas were tastefully furnished and there were lovely extra touches such as storm candles and lanterns adding to the warm ambience. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bed one of the most comfortable we have slept in and there were many extras , such as bathrobes, proper mugs, two lots of drinking glasses ,magazines and lovely toiletries. We ate in the restaurant and the staff were so jolly and welcoming, they raised our spirits and we began to finally relax and enjoy our long awaited weekend. We slept well and breakfast was served in a beautiful light morning room. They were particularly busy due to a wedding party staying, but the waitress on duty was exceptionally professional and capable, I'm sorry we didn't get her name to mention as she deserves a commendation as she coped admirably with a very full dining room. The waitress who had served us the previous evening came in at ten o'clock and was also just as jolly as she'd been the night before. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return. Thank you to everyone at the Wheatley Arms for saving our weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jencatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello there! And thank you for your glowing report we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that we saved the day!

Once again thank you from TEAM Wheatley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    75
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
40
204
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is our local and it looks lovely and very nicely decorated and having fought to get it re-opened a few years ago we feel we need to support it. We have never stayed there though the rooms do look fabulous. However with our experiences of eating and drinking there we would not recommend you stayed there unless your only requirement was a nice room.

Over the last 2- 3 years we have had about 5 meals there and all have had some issue resulting in a spoiled experience and we no longer go there for food.

The trouble is - going for a drink is not much better as drinks are pricey, not much choice and they don't do bar nibbles as such - just pricey specialist crisps which neither of us like.They also have 'strange ways' such as the lights MUST be turned down low at 'regulation' times and candles lit on the tables. (Just try asking if we can have a bit more light to see what we are drinking and reading.... The customer is right....Hmmm Not in this pub!)

When eating with friends they once forgot our table completely and we had to go chasing staff after an hour of being ignored - we had ordered - they had forgotten. The second visit as the same group of four and one of the meals was completely different to the menu. When we pointed it out they said the chef didn't know the menu had changed as though it was our fault, The meal was replaced eventually, resulting in my wife eating on her own long after we all finished. No apology was forthcoming.

On other occasions we have had problems such as wrong bill (nearly every time), bits missed from meals and delivered much later. We have never had anything amounting to an apology. The food is very overpriced, the service is very patchy and you quite often have to go chasing staff to get served with a drink. There are often plenty of staff around but they just ignore customers unless you are pushy.

On our occasional visits for a drink we often see and hear other customers dissatisfied with their meals or the service - it is not just us that feel this way.

We have tried suggesting changes such as a better range of beers and bar nibbles and also tried to prevent them dimming the lights so you cannot see. They don't seem to react to customer opinion at all - you are just ignored.

Very disappointing on the whole - for a pricey pub it needs to be a HUGE amount better.
What puzzles us is that it is a sister pub of the Tempest at Elslack which has to be one of the best in the area. There - you get a warm welcome, nice beer, excellent food and always walk away having had a good evening and feeling like you want to hug the chef! Shame it is not just around the corner.

We have voted with our feet and try and avoid the wheatley arms now.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revJandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello RevJandA

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your visits to the Wheatley Arms.
We will certainly look into all areas mentioned. As new managers we are certainly very interested in what our locals think. We are committed to offering a number of new initiatives including new menus, An early bird menu with a great choice for just £9.95 for two courses! A range of hand pulled local cask Ales with a special value Ale of the week. All this and set in what you have mentioned a very beautiful Inn! With roaring logs fires and more!

We certainly look forward to welcoming to the Wheatley Arms again do take the time to have a chat with us we would love to make this your favourite local!
With all best wishes
Gary & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahball78
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

wow, what a lovely place. we stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and were not dissapointed. The room was amazing with free standing bath & lots of little extras and luxuries including the sun trap private terrace! Staff were helpful, friendly & very professional in the bar, restaurant and reception. Food was faultless in the evening and for breakfast. There wasnt anything I could fault about the place, would love to return soon! Nice walk into Ilkley too which doesnt take too long.

Room Tip: room W4 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahball78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are thrilled you enjoyed you special stay with us! I will certainly pass on all your comments to our team!
With best wishes hope to see you again soon
Gary & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Went on Thursday 4th oct for an evening meal. Food was average but the service was beyond belief. Had to get up from table and go and find a member of staff for someone to take dessert order. 3 staff found standing around doing nothing but huddled together chatting. Won't be going back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Frostybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Frosty Beer

Thank you for your recent review, I will certainly look into all points raised in your review we will certainly use it as a stepping block for future training sessions.

I do hope that you give us another chance where I am sure you will receive a friendly warm efficient service and of course excellent food.

With all best wishes Gary & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Took my daughter for a birthday treat the food was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly the rooms were done very tastefully. We caught the train from the station which is virtually 2 mins down the road and were in Leeds in 20 mins and had a lovely afternoon shopping returning back to the Wheatley for a welcoming glass of wine and a tasty evening meal. Will definitely be returning to this little gem . Mags from lancs

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magslancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We've stayed here on two occaisions, both times in the W4 room (which i believe they now market as their honeymoon suite). The room is absolutely beauftiul and well appointed, with large double bed, in room "couples" bath, lovely shower room and a large outside terrace upon which you can arrange for the hotel to serve your evening meal. The adjoining pub/restuarant provides good quality food and the breakfast is a real treat! For the cost, I think you would struggle to find anywhere else as good with as good links to Iklley and Leeds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

ROOMS:
A group of us stayed at the Wheatley Arms, were were in Rooms 3, 4, and 12, all of which were lovely. I was in Room 4 - had a great shower, lovely roof terrace, plenty of room, and all very stylishly done (I was worried it would be over the top from the photos, but liked it on arrival). The roof terrace from Room 3 had a better view but was over the kitchen so a bit noisier. No complaints at all - homely, comfortable, slept like a baby.
STAFF / SERVICE:
Staff were helpful, friendly and available. Offered to bring up fresh milk for tea, and remained patient when we made all sorts of requests that we probably should have let them know about in advance (putting double beds into twins, setting up an extra z-bed). In the bar downstairs, staff were also very friendly, although it did take three requests to get some bread with our Ploughmans lunch
FOOD:
Didn't eat extensively, but the ham sandwich deserved a special mention because it surpassed all expectation. How can a simple ham sandwich be so spectacular?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeffer_Relli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Property: The Wheatley Arms
Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing