We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sarahball78
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

wow, what a lovely place. we stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and were not dissapointed. The room was amazing with free standing bath & lots of little extras and luxuries including the sun trap private terrace! Staff were helpful, friendly & very professional in the bar, restaurant and reception. Food was faultless in the evening and for breakfast. There wasnt anything I could fault about the place, would love to return soon! Nice walk into Ilkley too which doesnt take too long.

Room Tip: room W4 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahball78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are thrilled you enjoyed you special stay with us! I will certainly pass on all your comments to our team!
With best wishes hope to see you again soon
Gary & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    75
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
40
204
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Went on Thursday 4th oct for an evening meal. Food was average but the service was beyond belief. Had to get up from table and go and find a member of staff for someone to take dessert order. 3 staff found standing around doing nothing but huddled together chatting. Won't be going back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Frostybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Frosty Beer

Thank you for your recent review, I will certainly look into all points raised in your review we will certainly use it as a stepping block for future training sessions.

I do hope that you give us another chance where I am sure you will receive a friendly warm efficient service and of course excellent food.

With all best wishes Gary & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Took my daughter for a birthday treat the food was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly the rooms were done very tastefully. We caught the train from the station which is virtually 2 mins down the road and were in Leeds in 20 mins and had a lovely afternoon shopping returning back to the Wheatley for a welcoming glass of wine and a tasty evening meal. Will definitely be returning to this little gem . Mags from lancs

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magslancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We've stayed here on two occaisions, both times in the W4 room (which i believe they now market as their honeymoon suite). The room is absolutely beauftiul and well appointed, with large double bed, in room "couples" bath, lovely shower room and a large outside terrace upon which you can arrange for the hotel to serve your evening meal. The adjoining pub/restuarant provides good quality food and the breakfast is a real treat! For the cost, I think you would struggle to find anywhere else as good with as good links to Iklley and Leeds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

ROOMS:
A group of us stayed at the Wheatley Arms, were were in Rooms 3, 4, and 12, all of which were lovely. I was in Room 4 - had a great shower, lovely roof terrace, plenty of room, and all very stylishly done (I was worried it would be over the top from the photos, but liked it on arrival). The roof terrace from Room 3 had a better view but was over the kitchen so a bit noisier. No complaints at all - homely, comfortable, slept like a baby.
STAFF / SERVICE:
Staff were helpful, friendly and available. Offered to bring up fresh milk for tea, and remained patient when we made all sorts of requests that we probably should have let them know about in advance (putting double beds into twins, setting up an extra z-bed). In the bar downstairs, staff were also very friendly, although it did take three requests to get some bread with our Ploughmans lunch
FOOD:
Didn't eat extensively, but the ham sandwich deserved a special mention because it surpassed all expectation. How can a simple ham sandwich be so spectacular?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeffer_Relli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for just one night, more's the pity. This is a great (individual) hotel in a great location with great facilities and great staff. We're looking forward to trying the other hotels in the 'chain' - five hotels !
The room was very nicely decorated and finished, the shower room was good, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast excellent - what else do you need ?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After trying to book in one of their sister hotels, fully booked (the Tempast) we were recommended to try the Wheatly. Oh what a place great food, great service and great accomidation. The Tempast and Wheatley are individual but have one thing in common, magnificent. As two couples we stayed for Friday night 31/08/12 both in such high quality rooms and the homemade hamburgers for dinner were out of this world. The breakfast was of a very high standard and only using quality local produce and we loved the homemade granola! The breakfast room decor was so nice that my wife has asked for the colours so that we can paint our family room the same. The service at breakfast was so proffesional,warm and just great.
We vist the North of England from the Isle of Wight about 4/5 times per year and we will definitely return to both hotels and we would like to also try the others in their group.
Full marks and thank you to all at the Wheatley Arms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank alanoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Property: The Wheatley Arms
Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing