We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second time around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The four of us took advantage of a 2 night package offer two years ago and enjoyed it so much we did the same again this November. The Sunday quiz night was our first night so it meant we were asked to eat early, which we accepted, and our meals were all fine though the vegetables weren't up to much. We realised Sunday is probably a very busy 'long haul' day for all staff who still managed to be welcoming and friendly. We joined in the quiz - but didn't win....
Breakfasts were excellent and included imaginative, unusual options, and our meals on Monday were lovely, including the vegetables. Our luxury rooms both had a bath plus full en-suite, very comfortable beds and all other expected facilities.
We have to commend all the staff for their attentiveness, pleasant manner and being especially helpful when we had a problem accessing the free wifi the hotel provides.
I

Room Tip: If you like a bath, the luxury rooms are the ones for you. Both our rooms were higher up so were qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkylarkWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    73
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
38
202
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed for one night only for my birthday. We were lucky that we got a special deal emailed through for an excellent dinner, B&B rate, with upgrade to the best available room - in our case this turned out to be the honeymoon suite! Our initial welcome was fantastically friendly. The room was amazing - beautifully decorated, althjough the freestanding bath in the room may not be to everyone's ttaste I loved it! Our evening meal was beautifully cooked, there's a good choice of mains as well as an interesting specials fish board. Breakfast next morning was also plentiful and beautifully cooked. All in all a fantastic stay - even though we only live around 45 mins away, we are considering when our next stay will be! Well done to all at the Wheatley

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitnLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed for just one night. Staff very friendly and the whole place has a welcoming feel the moment you arrive. The place was packed when we arrived and the food smelt great, and it was! Excellent choice for breakfast, would certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aniwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottz UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Lets get the small niggles out of the way first, and they are small. The room was rather warm and there was no way of turning the heat off or down. Sunday night is quiz night and the PA system was right under our room, it did go off about 10:45 but you couldn't have gone to sleep before that. We did mention this and we were told that the system is being redesigned and the speakers relocated soon.
However, we were made very welcome from the start. The room was very nice, decorated to a very high standard with high quality fixtures and fittings. Our evening meal was cooked to perfection and the local real ale is so good I tried it twice! The breakfast was one of the best I have had in any hotel. The quality of the ingredients was very high and again it was cooked to perfection, there is a very good choice from a full English, scrambled eggs and salmon right down to a variety of cereals and yoghurts etc. The staff here are friendly without being OTT, they have got it just right. We stayed for one night as a stop off on the way to the Lakes and we contemplated another stop on the way back. Would we return or recommend it to people? Definately, go for some Yorkshire hospitality, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deano2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you very much for your review and very kind words about our 'Yorkshire hospitality! We are thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast, room and beer! and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Dont forget us on your next trip to the lakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed two nights at The Wheatley Arms having booked at short notice to attend a funeral and were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. We had an Executive room which is a bit more spacious than the standard for an additional £5 per night. The room was very spacious with a comfortable four poster bed, plenty of storage space, desk, refrigerator, chair and settee. All the furnishings were of a high standard. There was a large flat screen television wall-mounted with plenty of choice of stations.

The bathroom had a big walk-in shower with good toiletries and lovely fluffy towels. The window was non-opening but the extractor fan was very efficient.

As well as complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water there were chocolate brownies and flapjacks renewed each day. Both bedroom and bathroom were cleaned to a high standard.

We paid £50 per night for the double room which included breakfast. There was a wide choice of breakfasts as well as the normal full English or continental. The bacon was how bacon used to taste when I was young and the local sausages were also delicious.

We had two evening meals and both were very good. We liked their two course light supper at £10.95 and they do an excellent choice of fish meals.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to visit again next year for a longer holiday. We particularly liked the quality of the furnishings, the cleanliness, the quality of the food and the helpful and polite staff. Well done to all of you!

Room Tip: We had room 7 which is dual aspect but is on the front of the building although road noise wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for your sparkling review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

A very good Hotel , clean, lots of little touches to make you feel welcome . My only concern was our room was full of little noises which wake you up if like me you are a light sleeper . I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 as it is above the restaurant vent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were up in Room 12 and were delighted to find the bath in there - one of many quirky touches throughout the hotel (we especially liked the "Do Not Disturb" rabbit). We had a very comfortable night and a decidedly tasty breakfast, and we'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rombalds Hotel
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Property: The Wheatley Arms
Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing