We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, straightforward pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilkley Pool & Lido

Ilkley Pool & Lido
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Ilkley
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, straightforward pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great straightforward pool. Massive car park. Friendly staff. Basic but clean facilities. Looked like a lively regular timetable. Outdoor picnic area with lovely views up to the moor. Lido was closed in April.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    9
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Outside Lido”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I last swam in Ilkley Lido in 1965, so many years later it is as pleasant now as it was then! Great fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJandET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“freezing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good facilities, beautiful area for sunbathing but the water was absolutely freezing. It was advertised as heated. fantastic pools and slide but just too bone achingly cold.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A local treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

English lidos have got to be one of the many wonderful things about our country. Even though the weather is so unreliable, they were built so that we can enjoy outdoor swimming, being outside, and taking time out with family and friends. on top of that, because they (mostly) built at the same time, they share early 20th-century characteristics that aren't seen any more.

Ilkley Lido is as charming as I expected it to be. It is an unusual shape and still has its fountain aerator, if you like that sort of thing! Even if lidos don't interest you, this is a lovely outdoor swimming pool, with a spacious area to lounge around after your swim, and the backdrop of Ilkley Moor. I think it is run by volunteers? Service was great, anyway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No good freezing water and expensive .resist staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went on monday 12pm with 2kids 11 and 12 years. Paid on counter anf very good old lady but when we went in pool area which is out door water was freezing and one young female staff was she looked surprised because we are Pakistani British. She came and told to kids they can't swim and just stay in 2ft water than I asked reason she told me they can't swim. I told her they are good swimmer and they swim every week and I am with them.but her attitude was very bad
She didn't want listen any thing anf we left pool and kids swim in deep water of ilkley river near to pool. Neve go back becoz of resist staff











Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank nawaz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilkley Pool & Lido also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Ilkley Pool & Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing