We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
90
74
41
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
74
41
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousethe pubtop floorsunday carverymain roadbrilliant locationspacious roomjacuzzi bathgreat yorkshiresaturday nightgreat place to staystayed here for one nightgreat weekendfew drinkshome from homepiefull english
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 246 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night because of its central location. We booked the penthouse room which was indeed on the top floor but this is where any similarities to a penthouse end. The room was spacious and could have been much better but the attention to detail was very poor. There was mould round the bathroom sealant the toilet roll holder was loose, the white painted bed had big scratches on it etc. we paid £120 which didn't include breakfast and I think it was worth £50-60 with breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a cheap double , it's probably the right priced what you will get.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tophatfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

We are very proud of our Penthouse room. It is the most popular room that we have. As I write this response, there are guests just checking out who totally disagree with the review. To suggest that a room with a Jacuzzi bath, huge tempur bed, leather sofa, leather massage chair etc. Is only worth £50 is ridiculous beyond belief. I suggest the reviewer should go spend £50 on a B&B in say Blackpool and see what he gets! Happy New Year to everyone reading this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Enjoyed a 1 night stay at the Dalesway and found it very good value for money. If returning to Ilkley would definitely book in again. Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was extra but again plenty of choice and good value. We were served very promptly. The room we had was at the top of the hotel. Very spacious and views towards the Cow and Calf. The hotel is central to Ilkley so very handy for wandering around the town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Dalesway. We have stayed here before on two previous occasions and each time in a different room. I can only think that the conflicting reviews on here are due to each room being quite different from another.

Our basic double room cost £49 which is much cheaper than we've paid previously and much cheaper than other establishments nearby.

The room was pleasantly decorated and reasonably spacious. However the bathroom was tiny and as other people have previously commented in need a little attention. If someone opened the bathroom door while you were sitting on the loo you would be kneecapped for sure;0)

That said, we still thought that at £49 per night it was a good value for money room and the staff, as we have found on previous occasions, were helpful. There was a small problem with the heating in our room when we got there but we were given a portable heater until the problem was fixed which didn't take very long.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This isnt an hotel. It is pub with rooms which are "student level" accomodation at best, Very overpriced. Lots of road noise. Comfortable bed but thats about it. Cheap garish furnishings. Jerry built wooden built in wardrodes with guests' abandoned coat hangers etc etc Mould around bathroom. very disappointed and surprised that this has so many good reviews. There must be better places to stay in Ilkley. I wouldnt go back.

PS great resturant next door.down the hill opposite the church- if only they did rooms!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank clanchiefminto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soccamatic, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

I am sorry that this guest did not like our lovely pub but, It clearly states on our website and on all sites on which we are featured, that we are a Traditional pub with rooms on the upper floors and in the town centre.

Therefore this guest's review was clearly based on their own wrong choice of venue.

Other guests would clearly disagree with the the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The owner of this hotel needs to inspect the rooms ,especially the bathrooms and then invest in major refurbishment.There was black mould in our shower and washbasin. The room could best be described as minimalist and the linings in the drawers of the chest of 3 drawers were filthy.
Other guests whom I met were similarly appalled by their rooms
The staff were very helpful but must be aware of the problems.
We could not get breakfast before 09.00am and were not offered an alternative to a cooked breakfast before that time.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norman w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soccamatic, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
I note that you had 2 rooms booked for your stay and assume that you are referring to views of your party in your comments.
I can agree that these 2 bathrooms are in need of upgrading and will be done during the winter months.
I also note that at the time of booking, higher grade rooms were available for you to choose from.
However our rooms, regardless of grade, are cleaned to a very high standard.

On a final point, I hope that the empty 1.5 litre bottle of gin left in one of your rooms did not blur anyone's judgement !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews