We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalesway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dalesway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Food says home made.... its certainly not. I had a beef Yorkshire pudding. Beef was the stuff you cook in the bag in the microwave ,,, roast potatoes well 2 was home made but hard the other 2 was frozen and as for the Yorkshire pudding well it had no taste what's so ever. Tables were dirty and we also found a hair in one of our children's meals. Would never go there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarelouise1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I would like to point out that no one else agrees with this opinion.
We have won Best Food in Ilkley 2011 and 2012 with our brand of homemade pub food. (As voted by the public not some "in house" award).

We buy all local produce from suppliers in the town and they are particularly annoyed with the review. Too many places provide "ready made" food and we certainly do not.

Any guest is welcome to visit our chef/cook - Rose, who has worked here for 20 years and watch her preparing fresh meals from goods delivered daily.

Yorkshire Puddings.
We get loads of brilliant comments about our homemade Yorkshires and if this reviewer doesn't like them then perhaps they are used to the "supermarke frozen variety" !

How can a roast potato be frozen on our premises ? We peel and cook them fresh for every meal service and never keep any at the end of each day. Ridiculous.

The old chestnut about finding a hair in food. I would be demanding to speak to the manager immediately if it happened to me , something it appears this reviewer neglected to do. Odd.
Perhaps a DNA test would solve the question of how it got there.

Finally, I do not as an owner like to have to tackle a guest review but I will not stand by and see our chef and staff's hard work ruined in one ill informed review.
Ian.
Owner/Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    60
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
35
84
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night as takes dogs. Is an old building and decoration basic. Furniture basic, cleaniness of bathroom okay. Bed comfy. Did not have breakfast so no comment but the reviews suggest great food but on arrival between 6-8pm only handful people in and no one eating !. Went to station for great curry. Is a 2/3 star. Okay as place to lay your head.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came here the other weekend for a break with my children aged 10 and 8 and our first trip away with our 6 month old Border Terrier... Wow.. The room was very clean with lovely fresh bedding and a nice size. We didn't eat here as we had a walk out.. but I have to say it looked and smelled lovely.. I love Ilkley - such a beautiful town and a lovely variety of shops and all in all a lovely weekend away.. Dalesway is the perfect location, right next to the river, the Dalesway walk, park, shops and restaurants.. Will definitely return.. and bonus we met 2 lovely people who come here regularly with their Border Terrier Gem.. Loved it and they were lovely company.. Thank you for a lovely weekend.. and highly recommended is Lishmans of Ilkley.. Quality butchers, deli and pie shop...! Went in for a pack of sausages and £70.00 later I walked out... but the some of the best meat I've ever bought...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlene_warman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at dalesway for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we had a very warm welcome. The room we stayed in was one of the more expensive ones and it was comfortable and clean, we even had a memory foam matteress which was so comfy!! It had all the facilities in the room you would expect, iron and board, tea coffee facilities, tv with satellite and a power shower and even a whirlpool bath which was fantastic!
We had a few drinks in the bar that evening after we'd been for our meal to a restaurant and the atmosphere was lovely and the locals and staff were very friendly.
Our breakfast was delicious and great value for money.
There's no parking on site however you can park on the street or church opposite for free!
Overall it was a fantastic hotel and I would definitely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwilliams82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

2 Adults & 3 Dogs had a wonderful time. This hotel has it "off pat". from the lovely welcome from the young man behind the bar to the evening bar staff to the "nothing is too much trouble" attitude at breakfast. Their attitude to our dogs is well rewarded by the owners care in keeping them all under control (who wants to spoil a great venue ?) - felt a bit sorry for the resident lab though, luckily he is so laid back.
Only suggestions I could make are 1. Put a sign out the back to remind some owners to clean up after their dogs (there are always some) and ensure residents have the latest password for the wi-fi connection. Minor but I did promise to put something - continuos praise can get boring !!
I have already highly recommended the Dalesway and will continue to do so and would go out of my way to stay again when we are next in the area. Many thanks to all involved.
Dee Carpenter. Telford. Sam Jack & Ben send their best too !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Dalesway for one night at the start of the Bank holiday weekend .We were able to park directly at the back of the pub/hotel which made for a good start.We found the young lady on reception to be extremely helpful ...she checked us in in a very professional manner and gave the impression nothing was to much trouble .Our room was on the top floor . The room was very clean and huge ... Double bed ,sofa ,tv ,dressing room !!! The shower room was very clean and although not luxurious it was perfectly functional .The only little niggle we had was with the curtains (too thin and could do with black out linings ) .We paid £49 for this room and it was worth every penny.The staff were really friendly and helpful ,even let us use their salt and vinegar for our late night supper (from over the road next to co op ,great pizza & chips ) . We love Ilkley , it has great bars restaurants and shops ,surrounded by beautiful countryside ,walks etc . The Dalesway is half the price they charge over the road and in our opinion is a bargain !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
untied kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here while visiting friends over may day bank Holiday the room was lovely and clean and the bedding was so fresh so well done house-keeping.
Breakfast was good such a lot of choice and cooked fresh after talking to the owner Ian he told me all they meat is sourced locally i also with my friends took Sunday lunch here again such choice and everything home made .
On the Sunday night there was karaoke which was great fun and the locals made us welcome on Bank Holiday Monday it was Ilkley carnival we sat in the Hotels beer garden lovely furnishings and good cold beer
Keep up the good work Dalesway ..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ward3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesway Hotel

Property: Dalesway Hotel
Address: 1 Leeds Road, Ilkley LS29 8DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalesway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very centre of the pretty spa town of Ilkley, just a short walk from the railway station, serving award winning food in our restaurant & bar with excellent guest rooms on the upper floors. The Dalesway offers warm hospitality with a friendly atmosphere on the ground floor and accommodation with en suite guest rooms on the 2 upper floors. The large rooms are comfortable and well equipped with TVs. All of the rooms are en suite. A full cooked English breakfast is available at an additional cost. Generous and tasty pub food is served daily. Sunday night is our popular karaoke night, keep an eye out for special events. Privately owned, the Dalesway has a convenient location for visitors to Ilkley and the surrounding area. Wharfedale and the famous Ilkley Moor provide some of the finest countryside in the whole of England and the area is a haven for walkers and tourists throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dalesway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesway Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing