We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalesway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dalesway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Barton on Humber
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A dissapointment. The room was clean and tidy but with a very low bed that was painful to get in and out of. Very noisy, I had 2 very poor nights sleep. Certainly not worth £79 per night with breakfast extra!!!
I could not reccomend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Firstly, I am obviously disappointed that this guest did not have a good nights sleep.
However, when you book a room directly above the public bar, on a holiday weekend, it is not going to be the most tranquil of evenings to say the least !
All guests are advised prior to booking, that rooms above the bar can be noisy, especially at weekends.

The room rate paid was incorrect as this guest paid £49.00 first night and £79.00 (weekend rate) , total of £128.00, which is the best value in the town !
An alternative to this room was available at the time of booking but at a higher price.
The guest chose not to take this and booked the room above the bar areas.

As usual, there is no review from the guests who stayed on the same nights, in adjacent rooms because they all had a great stay and did enjoy the tremendous atmosphere in the bars.

For me as an owner, it is really difficult to draw a balance to keep everyone happy, but we are honest about our small hotel and are frustrated when guests suggest otherwise in reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    60
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
35
84
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Living in Leeds we frequently find ourselves in Ilkley for an hour or two and went out for a little drive and walk today despite the snow and cold! We have eaten previously at the Crescent opposite but that has changed beyond recognition over the 45 years or so I've been calling there. Today we discovered it had changed yet again so decided to try the pub opposite. As we are both of pension age we noticed there was a 2 course pensioners lunch for around £7. We're not misers and don't actively look for such offers but my friend Terry decided to try it. He had vegetable soup and gammon egg chips & salad whilst I had a 1/2lb chilli burger with chips and salad.
We had a pint of Black Sheep which was in excellent condition and the welcome and service was excellent too. My friend said the soup was a bit salty for his taste but nevertheless delicious and accompanied by a warm crusty roll and two pats of butter at room temperature. That's a bit of a thing with me, I detest eateries that serve butter that's frozen solid from the fridge. Our mains arrived and despite being advertised as a slightly smaller portion, Terry's gammon and egg looked very good and there was a heap of chips and a generous crunchy fresh salad on each plate. My burger was enormous and served in a really soft floury bun. The chips were OK but looked and tasted like fresh ones rather than frozen and they can be difficult to get just right. They were a tad soggy and dark in colour but that was a very minor observation. The landlord was friendly and chatty and the other staff were attentive and polite.
Two large meals and 2.1/2 pints came to £21 which was very reasonable these days. Upon leaving I had just walked a few yards up Brook Street when I realised I had left my walking stick behind. We turned back to collect it only to discover the landlord crossing the road to bring it to me. Can't say I've ever had better service than that. Get the chips perfected and you get 5 stars !!! Will eat here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundaydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
636 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday night before walking the Dales Way. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was basic but nice and quiet at the top of the building. Large screen TV was handy for watching the late afternoon premiership footy match. Well located in the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Like home from home. Very accommodating, Lovely rooms. All bedroom furniture updated from last year. Would definitely recommend. Comfortable beds and lovely linen and fluffy towels.
Food great - breakfast optional - extra charge - brilliant choices.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are over the bar so if your'e a light sleeper request rooms 1-5 on top floor
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I would just like to say thank you Ian jenna(h) Vicky and the rest of the staff at the dalesway for a most enjoyable stay .room was very spacious and warm ,shower a bit confusing but that was probably just me .the hotel is very welcoming and we would both stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have read some very negative reviews for this place but I find them a bit unfailr. If its five star luxury you want then you need to book a five star hotel. If you want comfort, friendliness, and a home from home feel then the Dalesway will provide it. The room was actualy quite spacious and warm and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and it was nice to have breakfast cooked insted of a buffet for a change.

Room Tip: We were there on a quiet night but on a busy night a room above the bar could get noisy I would gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarleton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a couple of nights staying in Ilkley,but not at this hotel. We had walked all over and was getting ready for something to eat, so we walked in off the street and the place was still heaving at 2.15pm and we thought not much chance in getting anything here and was just about to walk out when we were approached by the manager who asked if he could help or where we being served, we asked about a table for two and he asked us if we could wait 1min while he cleaned a table and so seated us within that min. We ordered the battered fish and a mixed grill, and wow the plate was so full you didnt know where to start, and it was sooooo good.All the staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. We decided to go back on the sunday about 5pm but they had stopped serving food and had run out of everything which was a big dissapointment. But we would definatley go back if we are up there again, so well done chef and staff for a fantastic meal and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sj140160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesway Hotel

Property: Dalesway Hotel
Address: 1 Leeds Road, Ilkley LS29 8DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalesway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very centre of the pretty spa town of Ilkley, just a short walk from the railway station, serving award winning food in our restaurant & bar with excellent guest rooms on the upper floors. The Dalesway offers warm hospitality with a friendly atmosphere on the ground floor and accommodation with en suite guest rooms on the 2 upper floors. The large rooms are comfortable and well equipped with TVs. All of the rooms are en suite. A full cooked English breakfast is available at an additional cost. Generous and tasty pub food is served daily. Sunday night is our popular karaoke night, keep an eye out for special events. Privately owned, the Dalesway has a convenient location for visitors to Ilkley and the surrounding area. Wharfedale and the famous Ilkley Moor provide some of the finest countryside in the whole of England and the area is a haven for walkers and tourists throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dalesway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesway Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing