We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a nice place to stay”
Review of Dalesway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dalesway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed January 6, 2013

i booked a twin room,room 7,this was grubby and shabby and in desperate need of cleaning and redecoration on all counts.
the bathroom was in a poor state with a yellowing and smelly shower curtain and ill fitting and damaged accessories.
the beds were very poor.
i did not bother with breakfast due to the above.....

Room Tip: do not choose this hotel
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your opinion of our small hotel.

It is bizarre that upon check out, you were asked if everything was to your satisfaction and you confirmed that it was.
I would prefer that guests speak to me or any member of my team if they are dissatisfied as we would have done all possible to oblige.

I can agree that the bathroom in that room is dated and due for replacement. However it is clean despite its age. The the other comments are ridiculous. Our property is immaculately clean having received a 5 star hygiene certificate throughout. Fully refurbished and redecorated throughout.
Our breakfasts are highly rated by all guests and it is sad for me that you missed out.

We appreciate the time taken by anyone making a review but would add that sweeping inaccurate generalisations do not help anyone.

Regards,
Ian.
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Dalesway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the Dalesway with my wife and children for a night recently over Xmas for a seasonal get together and enjoyed our time at the Dalesway. Nice lunch, friendly but efficient staff, pleasant rooms and a great welcome for my extended tribe. The stand out for me personally was the quality of the Tim Taylors ale; excellent. Thanks and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Don't go if you expect the Hilton or aren't into karaoke.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
It was great having you all here and I am pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves.
One thing to clarify is that Karaoke is only on a Sunday evening - not every day as suggested.

Today for example, we had afternoon Jazz. 4 - 7pm.

Regards,
Ian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed for one night (three couples in three double rooms) in mid December and enjoyed our stay. We thought that the standard of the rooms was OK but not fantastic, considering the price you pay (£70 / £80 excluding breakfast). We didn't arrive 'till 1.15 am after a wedding, so we didn't see much of the rest of the hotel 'till the next morning when we enjoyed a very very good 'full English' at a very reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and efficient - Aflie the resident black labrador added to the relaxed atmosphere.

There are, however, a couple of things that potential guests should be aware of;

- The bar at the Dalesway is apparently the popular venue for the local gay scene. When we arrived at 1.15 am on saturday night / sunday morning, the party was in full swing! Not an issue for us, but some, less broad minded, guest may possibly be uncomfortable with this.

- The party / disco in the bar downstairs went on until about 2.00 am and our room was directly above it. We actually quite enjoyed listening to Jimmy Somerville and Divine tracks while we drifted off to sleep after a long day! The hotel web site made this clear and we were fully aware of location of the room when we booked it - so again, not an issue for us.

The Dalesway served its purpose for us and we enjoyed our stay, but don't expect anything more than a 'pub with rooms' and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the second floor. Rooms 7, 8, 9 are above the bars and can be noisy (but they a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodgerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

I would like to thank the guests for their comments which we found amusing.
My first point in reply is that our hotel was full with a mixture of Wedding guests and Christmas party goers in the run up to Christmas.
Ilkley itself was full of Christmas spirit and all the bars and restaurants were full well into the early hours.
This is a fantastic tribute to the management and staff who work in the town and create a good atmosphere, especially at Christmas time.
The reference to the so called "gay scene" is totally ridiculous.

We welcome all members of society and will continue to do so.

Ilkley is a very prominent place to "be seen" and most of the girls and boys in town are well dressed and very fashionable. This does not make them gay. On this particular Saturday, the staff of 2 of the local hotels all met here after work for a Christmas drink and they were in very high spirits, nothing more.
Perhaps the reviewers being familiar with the records of Jimmy Sommerville and Divine could be taken the same way. (Non of which were played by the way as we have a computerised playlist).
Regards,
Ian.
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in Nov 2012. The pub is fine, with a cosy "oldy worldy" atmosphere. Staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The rooms over the pub were more dated than we anticipated, and could do with updating, they are basic. The noise from the road didn't bother us, nor did any noise from the pub itself. The breakfast was brilliant - one of the best I have had, everything was hot and fresh, and plentiful. I felt the housekeeping in the rooms let down the hotel/pub, as areas of the room were not cleaned thoroughly, specifically areas in the bathroom. This was such a shame, as this pub/hotel has the potential to be really good, and if it wasn't for this I would have given it a 4 rating!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerWazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Alright, you are in llkley for probably only a few reasons, walking, business, shopping, visiting friends, odd wedding etc. This will mean that most likely ( anagram of Ilkley, clever eh ! ) you will be stopping a night or two, not a week. We stopped 16 & 17/11/12 to mainly go walking. What would you look for ? Personally it would be the bedroom, food, then staff. We stopped in the room at the top of the reviews. Really modern, very comfy bed, spacious, nice room touches and a functioning bathroom with a good shower, 3 double windows with good views for the nosey, out that is. We were greeted by the staff and asked regularly if everything was alright. Breakfast ( very nice ) you do pay extra for, but for 2 nights it still came to £50.00 less than the one over the road. No hesitation in recommending this hotel because it ticked the afore mentioned boxes. Comfy bedroom, good food, friendly staff. Go.

Room Tip: Superior double very nice. If hungry at lunch, try a Doorstopper sarnie with chips, alright £5 to £6...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed here with my young daughter for one night.

The room was spacious on the top floor but was very dated. The room looked out over the front of the hotel and was very noisy at night due to road noise, and the curtains were so thin, the street lights made it hard to sleep.

The bathroom was very small, which wouldn't be a problem except for the fact that the door opened in such a way that you couldn't really get to the toilet properly.

We ate an evening meal in the pub which was very nice and of a good price. We were very surprised however to find that breakfast is not in fact included and you had to pay extra. It wasn't pricey, but for the cost other places in the area do include breakfast. On the evening we asked for fresh milk and the response seemed to be quite intolerant of the simple request.

Ilkley itself is lovely and towards Skipton is a great ice cream parlour called Billy Bobs which we would highly recommend.

I wouldn't return to the Dalesway unless the price starts to include breakfast but the stay we had was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was suggested that we have a pre-theatre meal at this pub before a performance at the Ilkley Playhouse. It was really good - excellent value and generous portions. The service was very friendly and efficient. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NicoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesway Hotel

Address: 1 Leeds Road, Ilkley LS29 8DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: $83 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalesway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very centre of the pretty spa town of Ilkley, just a short walk from the railway station, serving award winning food in our restaurant & bar with excellent guest rooms on the upper floors. The Dalesway offers warm hospitality with a friendly atmosphere on the ground floor and accommodation with en suite guest rooms on the 2 upper floors. The large rooms are comfortable and well equipped with TVs. All of the rooms are en suite. A full cooked English breakfast is available at an additional cost. Generous and tasty pub food is served daily. Sunday night is our popular karaoke night, keep an eye out for special events. Privately owned, the Dalesway has a convenient location for visitors to Ilkley and the surrounding area. Wharfedale and the famous Ilkley Moor provide some of the finest countryside in the whole of England and the area is a haven for walkers and tourists throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Dalesway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesway Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing