We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
65
107
33
36
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
107
33
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cow and calf security door complimentary continental breakfast checked in quickly walking holiday no lift fantastic location first floor one night stay double bed rocks moor velux fires log ales yorkshire
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 263 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Booked well in advance of our stay and was allocated room 1. Nice decor, comfortable and clean. Limited views on the back of the house and next to the security door, which wasn't working, which resulted in some noise from other guests coming and going. We had a terrible nights sleep due to the noise of a generator or extraction system from outside; not sure why guests would be allocated this room. On a positive note the meals were tasty and the staff were helpful although we had to wait for service at times. The continental breakfast was plentiful. We were limited for choice as this was a Virgin gift voucher but we definitely will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel and away from security doors
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Whatmo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

I chose to stay here as an alternative to the generic chain hotels in the nearby locale where you know what to expect regardless of the town or even the country you're in.
I wasn't disappointed by my choice and enjoyed the simplicity, cleanliness and value on offer here. Apart from the staggering beauty of the location, the rooms were well appointed but just a little on the cold side in terms of the temperature rather than decor, which was modern and simple.
The inclusive breakfast buffet was adequate but there was a good range of cooked options for an additional fee.
I would certainly come back to stay here.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night a a short get away and it was perfect. Lovely location, the views are amazing, and a walk in the moor just opposite is highly recommended.

The room was small but clean tidy and well equipped.

Bed was comfy, enough room for bags and to hang coats

Bathroom was a decent size, clean and tidy. Shower could have been a bit more powerful, and the position of the loo roll holder is frustrating.

Went to the pub downstairs for food and were not disappointed, good food at good prices.

The continental breakfasts was more than enough .

Would we stay here again? YES!!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SamuelOwen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018

We really enjoyed our short visit to this hotel, up on Ilkley Moor.
Room was very clean, bright and comfortable. Bathroom was very good with plenty of toiletries supplied. Tea and coffee making facilities were good.
We visited when the hotel was quiet, so being next to an internal security door was not a problem. I think the noise of the door opening and closing may be a issue at busier times.

Room Tip: Try get a room away from any internal security doors. I think the noise of the door opening and closing may be a issue at busy times.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on Valentine's day and we will definitely be going back. The Cow & Calf sits against the stunning backdrop of Ilkley Moor and right below it's namesake rock formation. Upon arrival you enter the main bar area, a young lady directed us to the check in point at the end of the bar & we were checked in quickly with no fuss, the guy was lovely & told us where everything was. There's no lift but the stairs aren't steep or narrow so even though we were in room 9 up on the attic floor it wasn't an issue. The whole place has a rustic charm which comes with the age & character of the building & it's decor but we loved the quirky low ceilings & sloping floor up at the top! The room was toasty warm, clean & had everything we needed despite its size, we only had skylights so no view from the room but it was cosy & perfect for us. The shower room was spotless & had plenty of towels & toiletries. We ate down in the restaurant that evening & the food was well cooked & served with a friendly efficiency. Complimentary continental breakfast the next morning was plentiful and the view from the breakfast room was stunning. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant, helpful but unobtrusive from start to finish, we are already planning our return trip. The only negative was that the mattress on the bed was quite hard but we still got a reasonable nights sleep so not the end of the world!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews