We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway - we’ll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late November 2013 for a weekend getaway and we had a great time. The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, well presented and well stocked with tea, coffee etc. We arrived after dark on the Friday evening and received a very warm welcome and were booked a table by the fire for dinner. The food was fantastic throughout our two night stay - we dined in the restaurant twice for dinner and twice for breakfast – great service and scrumptious every time! I was a bit disappointed that they had run out of the calamari starter on the first evening, but they had it back on the next night and it was cooked to perfection. Also had the sea food risotto and pork belly with black pudding mains – again very tasty and perfectly presented. There was also a large selection of delicious looking puds, but only managed to sample the toffee apple pie since the mains/starter portions were very generous and I did not have room for desert on the first night. The whole place is full of charm and character, boasting spectacular views over Ilkley and of the “Cow and Calf” (which we explored and climbed on the first morning). We were also within easy striking distance of some great places to visit, including Bolton Abbey and Skipton. Overall, a great little find - top marks, we’ll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Cow and Calf. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 255 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Situated near town but just far enough away to feel remote. Our room was on the second floor and although compact it was lovely. Very clean and cosy. Bathroom was spotless and the shower good- no bath. We had lunch and dinner and thought that everything was excellent. Service was very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good but only continental. Whilst it might have been nice to have had a cooked option we found that this did not really change our high opinions of this inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Cow and Calf a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Having visited the Calf and Calf Ilkley on numerous occasions to celebrate both my birthday and my grandson's and also to stay. I was both disappointed and extremely sad to find how the standard of the food had gone down. This evening's meal was cold - the starter still frozen in the middle, and the main course barely warm. I travel each November from Suffolk to Yorkshire where my grandson lives to celebrate. Last November it was fine. This November absolutely awful. With such a lovely location it is such a shame this is now marred by poor standards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MallinEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We are sorry that your recent visit to Cow and Calf was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our service, and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Attractively situated inn. The room was clean and fresh and was comfortable. It was an enjoyable place to stay for a couple of nights. The only thing that puzzled me was that there was no cooked breakfast option, which was a pity, especially since they operate a restaurant during the day and evening. I would have given an excellent rating, if not for this shortcoming.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Cow and Calf, Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I came to visit the lovely are of Ilkley for a friend's wedding which was taking place at a venue nearby. Due to the start time of the wedding I arrived much earlier than the official 3pm check-in. One gentleman member of staff was very helpful with my situation and allowed me to collect my key early and even showed me how to get in later- as I explained unlikely to be back till the small hours! My room seemed fine and had a great view of the Cow & Calf rocks and scenic hills. Having read the previous reviews about breakfast I was prepared and happy to have croissants with honey and tea which were actually quite enjoyable. Overall, as a traveller on my own, and for a short stop over, I found it very reasonably priced and enjoyed my stay. The location is fantastic with great views from bar area and would certainly stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoltyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cow and Calf and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Arrived at the cow and calf incredibly excited beautiful building location and interior. Rooms nothing special but everything you need. Meal has to be one of the worst we have ever experienced, after having to settle for our third choices still took 45 mins to arrive, for our mains the standard of food was shocking, 'winter greens' apparently means overlooked "school dinner" esk peas. Considering we're within a stones throw of great english cheese producing areas, a slab of tesco value cheddar and unripe, tasteless Brie doesn't really make the cut.
Although the waitering staff seemed highly embarrassed by the standard of food, managing to get the right drink if you even got one at all was more of a battle than a pleasant dining experience.
When it came to paying the bill, there were obvious reservations, however no manager came to speak to us, despite our negative comments throught the meal and our obvious displeasure.
Such a shame considering the charm this place has under the right management.
Hopefully one day it will be able to live up to its potential.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dpm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We are sorry that your recent visit to The Cow and Calf, Innkeeper's Lodge, Ilkley was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our service, and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

went for a meal with family. there were 4 of us. a lot of the tables were still dirty and not cleared when we went in although they were not particularly busy.only 3 staff on we were told by the bar staff. we ordered food and it was terrible. 2 of us ordered shepherds pie from the 'specials board'. I have had better from Iceland paying only a £1. it was very small and came with a mountain of cabbage which I don't like and that was it!! another was a veggie meal that was tasteless and the cheese sauce was like water. we told the bar staff it was the worst meal we had ever had. it is not particularly cheap either. he made up some excuse of the specials not costing the company much. I would have thought that just because it is a special that it should not be of lesser quality and compromised. I asked for comments to passed to the manager, but he didn't bother to come and see us. it is not the bar staffs fault, they were all very nice. he barman felt very awkward about it. we have been going there for years and always had a lovely meal. what has happened. really enjoyed it when paul was the manager. very very poor. wont be going again in a hurry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Susancater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Cow and Calf was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
226 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Wheatley Arms
The Wheatley Arms
#2 of 10 in Ilkley
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: $95 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing