We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and ambience, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“great food and ambience, average rooms”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent food, very average and tired bedrooms. Would stay again as very good value as we only paid £30 for two b&b but not really worth any more. Bathroom was pretty dreadful too. Better as a pub than a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    97
    32
    33
    22
See reviews for
59
99
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just back from dinner at the Cow and Calf. We often go here when we are visiting the Ilkley area. Tonight's visit was for my father-in-law's 84th birthday. We made reservations for an early service at 6:30pm. When we arrived at just after 6pm, we were just the second table. The first impression was being greeted by a man wearing running shoes, jeans and a an unkempt shirt. My in-laws had gone in before us while we parked the car and I was looking for their table. This guy approaches me and I had no idea he worked there, let alone the fact he was the manager/front of house/greeter, whatever.

We got seated and ordered a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. We were told by our waitress that they were out of some menu items that evening. It's between Christmas and New Year, so it is understandable. The waitress came back with the wine and four empty glasses, presumably for water. She then left and returned with four glasses of tap water and said they didn't have any bottled water. The table setting was not clean. There was a large candle in a glass vase that had greasy fingerprints all over it. My wife's knife had crusted food stuck to it and the overall feeling was that it wasn't clean.

We waited for several minutes and finally got our order placed. The waitress was flustered and didn't take all of the menus with her. They are very large and in the way, so it was an inconvenience to sit with them with wine glasses and water glasses and dirty candle vase, etc on the table.

Once our food was ordered more tables began to fill up. Within 15-20 minutes the dining room area we were in had filled up. There was probably 50 plus people at about 12 tables. There was ONE waitress.

A full hour passed and we hadn't gotten our food. Furthermore, none of the other tables had any food either. The waitress continually slipped in and out of the room without making eye contact with anyone. My 84 year old father in law finally tried to flag her down and, in the process, knocked over his glass of wine. The Cow and Calf seems like the kind of place that should have cloth napkins but we had small paper napkins. The waitress actually brought us 5 small paper napkins to try and wipe up a full glass of wine spilled across the table. With the addition of our 4, we barely got it handled. At the same time, we asked about the length of time we'd waited for our food. The waitress said they were 'very busy' and would go check. Yes, they were busy NOW, but not when we came in an hour ago! She returned to say it was coming and then whisked herself away.

The food came out, delivered by the unkempt front door man. Since he didn't take our orders, he didn't know who got what. There was no acknowledgement or request for anything else and we had to ask him for napkins since ours had been used. He didn't assess our table and ask if we needed anything, he left. I think we would have like to get some ketchup or steak sauce but nobody asked and nobody could be flagged down.

Our food was not good. My wife's salmon was swimming in butter. She actually had to drain each bite before eating it. I ordered a fillet steak medium RARE, it came as close to well done as it possible could. Nobody ever returned to our table to ask about the food or service.

Keep in mind, that this isn't a 5 star affair but it isn't fast food either. For 4 of us, our bill for food and drinks would be 100pounds, easily. We opted to skip after dinner drinks and dessert given the experience. That would have easily added 30-40 pounds to our bill that they weren't going to get from us at this point.

Trying to keep the mood light since it was a birthday dinner, my wife went to the bar to pay the bill instead of trying to flag down the waitress and complain. Also, since nobody EVER came back to our table, this was really the only option. After she paid the bartender, she spoke with the unkempt man about the service and he immediately shut her down saying they were very busy and the waitress was highly experienced, etc. My wife actually felt worse after speaking to him. He actually said that she should have complained 'at the time' and that there was nothing he could do now. She explained that she was complaining at the time and that nobody ever came back to the table to complain to. We watched the waitress and a couple servers come into the room with food, etc and leave as fast as possible with their eyes on the floor, never looking up to see the tables of people vying for their attention.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyinTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We popped in here as everyone we met recommended it. Well all I can say is the food is delicious, the service is excellent and the staff were attentive! The cost was very reasonble too! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Hotel has wonderful views, pity we were given a room in the Attic with only two dormer skylight windows. It was on the second floor with no lift. We had the worst night veering a Hotel as the wind and rain thundered against the badly fitting skylight windows. There was no hand wash in the bathroom and the room was cold on arrival.

Good location and the pub was nice but make sure you don't get put on the second floor.

Room Tip: First floor only with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Live in Yeadon and stumbled here today after a drive to Ilkley. What a lovely venue, warm, cosy, paired with friendly and helpful staff.
There appears to be a great selection of real ales on offer (six I think), tho sadly didn't sample any as driving. Given the opportunity i'd have enjoyed a meal followed by a few pints next to the lovely fire.

Partner had the beef & Merlot pie with home made wedges. The meat in the pie was plentiful and the wedges/chips divine. The veg selection sprouts, broad beans& (my all time nemesis) garden peas didn't really go (though they were fresh and well cooked). Mushy peas would have been better-but it's about personal preference I guess

I had the slow roasted pork belly with apple fritter, black pudding and sage mash.
Bloody gorgeous! All the flavours really worked, and the pork belly was so unctious offset by the different flavours and textures of the othe bits of the dish.
I'll certainly be returning and may bring the in-laws for a little one night stay, to enjoy the moors and some good food.
Prices are honest and reflect the quality of the locally sourced ingredients.
And the Toilets were spotless...
Recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiemyers1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to the Cow and Calf on Sunday 2/12/12 for lunch. It appeared to be very busy when we arrived but we were quickly shown to a table. Aarron our waiter appeared with menus and took our drinks order. We both choose a roast pork Sunday Lunch and did not have a long wait before our order was on our table. Food very good value. Excellent service and somewhere we will return to next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lovely pub food. Upmarket and worth the money spent after a long walk on the moors. They don't mind if you smell a bit too Haha. Nice decor very cosy and friendly staff. They brought some water for my dog which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLeeds87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
211 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing