We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Live in Yeadon and stumbled here today after a drive to Ilkley. What a lovely venue, warm, cosy, paired with friendly and helpful staff.
There appears to be a great selection of real ales on offer (six I think), tho sadly didn't sample any as driving. Given the opportunity i'd have enjoyed a meal followed by a few pints next to the lovely fire.

Partner had the beef & Merlot pie with home made wedges. The meat in the pie was plentiful and the wedges/chips divine. The veg selection sprouts, broad beans& (my all time nemesis) garden peas didn't really go (though they were fresh and well cooked). Mushy peas would have been better-but it's about personal preference I guess

I had the slow roasted pork belly with apple fritter, black pudding and sage mash.
Bloody gorgeous! All the flavours really worked, and the pork belly was so unctious offset by the different flavours and textures of the othe bits of the dish.
I'll certainly be returning and may bring the in-laws for a little one night stay, to enjoy the moors and some good food.
Prices are honest and reflect the quality of the locally sourced ingredients.
And the Toilets were spotless...
Recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiemyers1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    95
    32
    32
    22
See reviews for
57
98
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to the Cow and Calf on Sunday 2/12/12 for lunch. It appeared to be very busy when we arrived but we were quickly shown to a table. Aarron our waiter appeared with menus and took our drinks order. We both choose a roast pork Sunday Lunch and did not have a long wait before our order was on our table. Food very good value. Excellent service and somewhere we will return to next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lovely pub food. Upmarket and worth the money spent after a long walk on the moors. They don't mind if you smell a bit too Haha. Nice decor very cosy and friendly staff. They brought some water for my dog which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLeeds87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having heard all about the Cow & Calf from our daughter we had to go out to Ilkley to see what it's like. We had lunch in the dining room leading off the bar. It's very nicely decorated in muted tones with a touch of rustic tartan, and the large windows give excellent views over the moors.

The menu was what you might expect from a gastro-pub - interesting variations on some traditional favourites. The food was very good, in particular the tuna burger and the pork belly. The puddings were also well up to standard - and made a real contribution to our waistlines!

Overall I think it's well worth a trip, particularly if you round off the meal with a bracing walk on the moors to help justify those puddings!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SixNineOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
267 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a lovely Saturday lunch on a cold day in December. Roaring fires, good service, hot comfort food, and attractive decor made us feel extremely welcome. Go, enjoy, then walk on the moor to wear it all off and leave room for tea at Betty's in the town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I booked in for a 3 night stay. The Cow and Calf is in a superb location – breathtaking views over the moors. We received a warm welcome, and enjoyed an evening meal next to one of the pub`s two log fires. The problem was with the room we were allocated – it had no windows, only two roof lights. Although comfortably furnished it felt like a prison cell. There were no windows along the entrance corridors. Although I attempted to go to sleep, I was just so aware that I could not see out – I was trapped! The manager did not have any spare rooms, and we were forced to leave, because I need to be able to see out. When we booked we were told that the room would not have a view of the moors – but is it too much to expect that you would at least have a window – even if the view was of the car park? How can the English Tourist Board allow such cupboards/rooms to be used?

Room Tip: Make it very clear that you want a room with a window that you can see out of. NOT ROOM 9, but bewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spirite53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had ladies lunch here. Lovely looking place overlooking the moor. Fantastic views. Roaring fires. Could do with having a few more staff tho as service slow, but place was very busy for a Tuesday lunchtime. Ordered off the lunch fixed price menu. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieblinkert85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rombalds Hotel
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing