We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my mum and little brother one night after my graduation. The views of the Yorkshire moors from our window were stunning. We had a great room, basic, but spacious and very comfortable. We only paid £57 for the night including breakfast in the morning for all 3 of us, which I thought was very reasonable indeed! The food for dinner is amazing and the service is great. Breakfast was your average continental (cereals, toast, croissants, pain au chocolat etc) but perfectly nice (although they didn't have soy milk or any alternative to normal cow's milk when my mum asked, as she is lactose intolerant - however, we weren't expecting them to!). The service was really good and the people there were very friendly. This is a good place to stay if you're looking for a quiet break in the Yorkshire Moors (family/solo/couples). If you're looking for a loud friend's holiday, this isn't really the place - they stop serving drinks in the bar/restaurant at 11pm!

Particularly great for climbers and walkers (my little brother is a keen climber, and the rocks just opposite the hotel have plenty of great routes to climb).

Overall, a lovely experience!

Room Tip: I've read other reviews that have said top floors don't have any windows - we were on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaine_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul s, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thanks for your review I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your short visit with us both in the hotel and with the restaurant when you next stay if you give us a call or drop me an email I am more than happy to get some soya milk for your mum so she can enjoy our complimentary breakfast in full! Hope to see you soon and congratulations on your graduation. Paul Hughes General Manager email me direct at cowandcalfilkley@vintageinn.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We called after a shopping trip to Ilkley as we live not too far away, the idea being to have a refreshing drink and a light lunch. The bar and restaurant area was very busy but we found the staff to be very efficient and friendly. However, my husband was very disappointed to find that there was only one beer available as all the other pumps had a notice saying that the barrel had just been tapped and was settling. We ordered from the main menu rather than the light bites as they didnt appeal and unfortunately was disappointed again with the food when it did arrive. My crispy chicken breast was just that....crispy crumb chicken served with pale chips and watercress. It tasted very much like KFC chicken! was very dry and not very hot. My husbands shepherds pie was a little better, he did enjoy it but again was only very small. Overall for the cost of £15 we felt that it was very overpriced, probably because it was this particular eatery and not because the food was particularly good. It does have lovely views and is well prtesented but feel it is aimed at tourists and not a locals eatery. Feel very sad that we will be passing by from now on and calling further down the road at The Hermit...which is another review!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were delighted with the views from the Cow and Calf Inn and really enjoyed our visit to this location. It is a very popular location and was very busy when we arrived mid Sunday afternoon. It was not easy to park at first, although later on were were able to place our car in the main car park.We ate in the bar and restaurant and found the food to be excellent. The beds were comfortable with crisp white linen and additional pillows were to be found in the wardrobe if needed. Cleanliness throughout was of a high standard. Our visit was just an overnight stay but we found it most enjoyable

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in the Cow & Calf after our usual hotel for this area was full because of the doomed Great Yorkshire Show. For £62 per night B&B, you can't go wrong. The bar and restaurant do a good trade so the place has atmosphere. I can't comment on the food because we didn't eat in the hotel but the continental breakfast was good and the views are spectacular. The rooms are fine and the wi-fi was free, easy to connect and had a strong signal everywhere. Big car park as well. I cancelled a booking at a local Marriott because they wanted £20 for Internet...when will they learn?

On reading other reviews, i can imagine the service struggles when the sun's out and the place gets busy and believe me, it gets busy at the slightest hint of decent weather. All in all, a great place to stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaiowl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for 1 night mid week paid for smallest room £52 no view (it clearly states on web pages that it does not have views) 2 velux windows with blinds which is an excellent addition
Room clean tidy with lovely shower room and toilet
If staying for a few days not sure I would want that room
beautiful views from the hotel over the moors
Food was of a very good standard even though it is a pub chain
service was satisfactory breakfast continental again very good
does not start till 7am a bit late in my option if you want to get off early
Staff very friendly and polite
Can not comment on what it would be like at the weekend but the impression was that it could be very busy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in rm 14, a family room, on the second floor of the building, 2 adults, a toddler and a baby, the room was clean, modern and well maintained, the staff were friendly and welcoming, a lovely place to stay, if I had one gripe it would be the lack of space once a cot and the sofa bed were set up, but thats just being picky!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our simply furnished but spacious room had fantastic views. The hotel is an attractive building and the bar and restaurant areas are tastefully decorated. Breakfasts are Continental style.
We were disappointed that residents are not provided with any bar or other beverages service beyond 11pm and as the hotel is in an isolated position, there is nothing else around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
223 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: $91 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing