We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, we really liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Corfu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well, we really liked it!”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Glad I didn't read all the negative reviews before booking the Cow and Calf. We have stayed there before, so knew approximately what to expect and were not disappointed at all this time.
I think we are fairly discerning, and whilst the breakfast wasn't quite as good as before (no bacon and eggs), the fish and chips we ate in the bar were scrumptious and the portions huge.

Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. We had a skylight window this time round, so missed the view, but since we only used it for sleeping that was not a problem.

Location is excellent - right on the famous moors and within a short drive of the town centre.

I would thoroughly recommend the hotel - for this area the price is excellent, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you want a view, second for peaceful sleep (floorboards creak a bit and sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirefile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    32
    32
    22
See reviews for
58
99
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I used to love this place, they have changed the menu a little and increased the prices a tad.

In the last 3 months I have been to this place 4 times and seriously the food and service is getting worse.

Example:-

The chicken fillet started previously came with a rich plum type sauce which was delicious, now it comes with mayo!!! They have increased the price by 75p and the amount received was shocking for around £5.75.... I mean imagine half the size of a cooked fish finger, it's terrible!!

The last time I went was on a sunday with friends as we wanted a Sunday roast, after being told we would have to wait an hour for a table we were they had run out of everything that was on the roast menu !!!! 

I ordered the lamb and when it came it had been positioned in a way that the burnt bottom could not be seen, the waitress could not understand why the chef let this go out..

It's gone from awesome to average

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrD1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The staff here need to recognise that customers pay their wages. Total disinterest in us even down to acknowledgements - none whatsoever - ignored the whole two days. They even managed to look irritated checking us in!

Room tiny and grubby. Needs a good clean at least. Shower only just usable.

Breakfast ok. All self service.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whateverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Cow & Calf is set on the outskirts of Ilkley on the moor. The views are amazing and in the evening you are joined in the car park by some friendly sheep. If you want to go walking in the moors this is a really good base.

Had an evening meal here which was very good - restaurant seems very popular so worth booking. Breakfast was also very nice - continental.

I was on the top floor so didn't have a window but rather a skylight. This meant absolutely no view of anything but the sky so be prepared. The skylight was over the bed and the torrential rain was rather loud and woke me a couple of times. I quite liked it as reminded me of childhood holidays in a caravan but you might not be so keen.

Room had basic needs and decor of average standard if a little tired. The power in the shower was not that great as on top floor but enough to get wet and stay warm.

Would stay there again if working in Ilkley but would try and get a room with a view. For those of you less mobile, there is no lift so getting to the top floor with a case, laptop bag and handbag leaves you pretty weary.

Very friendly staff and enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms with skylights as you will miss the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trahard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

was not a very nice room only one bedside table one chair, was not a mattress protector on the bed, not very clean cobwebs everywhere very very dusty . out look was the bins and the kitchen yard not very pleasant.the edge of the carpets has not seen hoover for months it was disgusting. would not stay here ever again i would say its the worst room we have ever stayed in. we have stayed at other innkeepers that were very nice thats why we booked thought its standards would be the same. the toilets for the pub are not very nice not checked. its a very busy place so i dont think they are bothered about the bedrooms. for the record we left a day early.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tillymacNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My family & I have just returned from 3 days at the Cow & Calf - Overall it was a very enjoyable experience.
As a very small hotel (about 16 rooms) we had expected it to be small and friendly and it certainly was - we call had a good selection of rooms, 1, 2 and 14. Room 14 was very unusual - there are no windows you can easily look out of! it has 2 skylights but these are at least 8ft from the ground! plenty of natural light though but suffers from a strong smell of food from the kitchen as the extractor fan is directly below. My family however didn't mind these drawbacks and enjoyed their room. Room 1 was a good size double - the slightly shabby decor could do with a revamp but it actually fits style of the building. Another noted problem in this room was another extractor fan from the kitchen situated below the bathroom window - as the room was hot the window needed to be open but the sound was pretty loud so it was a real compromise. Room 2 on the other hand was very good in comparison - no noise, plenty of natural light and clean - it is situated on the first floor next to some sort of storage cupboard - we didnt think this was a problem until later at night when a loud beeping sound could be heard from the store room - not a problem unless you have a light sleeping 2 year old!!
All in all the hotel is good for the price you pay.

We ate in the bar each night and found it to be excellent, the staff were very attentive and the speed of service was perfect for a young family. The quality of food was good, fresh and plenty of choice - exactly what you expect from a good pub meal.

The location is stunning - brilliant look out on to the moors and as the name suggests a stones throw from the cow and calf rocks on Ilkley Moor. We had great days out at Bolton Abbey and the Yorkshire Dales Ice Cream Farm - both highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwilliams1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Check in was OK and the manager did his best to fulfill our complicated family booking requests. We also encountered the "lump under the carpet" which we were told would be looked at while we were out the following afternoon - it's still there!
Bar & restaurant staff were all very friendly and chatty and the food was quite decent as was the selection of ales.
A plentiful continental breakfast was included with the option to pay extra for cooked items if you liked. Old crusted marmalade should have been wiped off the tables though, it hadn't just been dropped recently.
The location of the pub/hotel gives fantastic views over the surrounding countryside and is only a decent walk from Ilkley centre but what really lets the place down is the general upkeep of the bedrooms: heavy cobwebs in both bedroom and bathroom, thick dust on the door panels, worn out carpets etc.
The bedroom corridors are separated from the rest of the hotel by a key coded door which is great for security, except, there is a fire escape from the same corridor out into the car park which is *always* left open so *anyone* can access the hotel area of the building - not good really.
We'd definitely go back for a drink and probably a meal but wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: No lifts. Room 3 seemed huge compared to others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
998 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
208 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing