We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish there was a lamppost cafe in every town!”

The Lamppost cafe and boutique
Ranked #18 of 69 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish there was a lamppost cafe in every town!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a completely revolutionary experience for my border terrier Basil and I.
I cannot understand why it is not more common with the power of the hound pound!
The welcome was evident from the moment we crossed the threshold to the counter displaying dog and human cakes and muffins.
Dog beds bowls and a warm and cosy fire. Lovely rustic furnishings.
Now that could all be worth little if the food did not live up to the welcome and surroundings.
Not to worry, the food is exceptional. We had the plough mans salad mixed with apple red onion and feta. Absolutely delicious. And the cakes were lovely too.
Basil had no complaints with his peanut butter muffin.
I only wish I lived closer, I would visit as often as I could. Why can't more cafes embrace dogs and owners. We are respectful punters! I look forward to getting here again and so does Basil.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    51
    19
    7
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fab place.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Went for the first time today with our 14 week puppy. A wonderful place with the best jacket potato I have had in years, the healthy feta, hummous and rocket topping was just delicious. Looking forward to going back often.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chall2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome for you and your pooch(es)”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've been a couple of times to The Lamppost, on both occasions by myself but with two (reasonably) well-behaved labs. On both occasions I and my dogs have been made to feel most welcome.

It's not just that they welcome dogs, they positively encourage them - with the special doggy treats, water bowls and jugs of water, towels and beds (a really nice touch as most of the flooring is stone so could be a bit cold/hard for dogs to settle on for long). But what I really appreciate, being on my own, is somewhere sturdy to tie the dogs whilst I get my order or if I needed to visit the loo. Not just a nice, but a very practical touch. Thank you

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden lass
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dog paradise!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Seriously though, even if you don't have a dog, this place is a great cafe. The coffee is the best in Hebden and the lunches (soups and salads) are delicious. The novelty cakes for dogs seem to go down well and the whole place makes you want to go out and steal a dog to take in. We are getting one soon, so will feel right at home!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HebdenlassJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Take a dog!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Extremely good soup, and wonderful coffee and cake. Lovely staff. we had muddy boots but this was no problem at all. what was a problem was that dogs were welcome, very welcome, and some of the other customers didn't seem to appreciate that you might want to be able to sit down and that they needed to move their dogs to enable you to!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamppost cafe and boutique also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
 

Been to The Lamppost cafe and boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing