We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistent quality and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Traditional Fish and Chips

Crown Traditional Fish and Chips
Ranked #22 of 66 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“consistent quality and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We get fish and chips here regularly and they are always excellent. (often large queues on holiday weekends so get in there early!)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rooneyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A welcoming place on a wet day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

On a visit to Hebden Bridge we called in here and enjoyed a really good meal. Lovely piece of fish, super chips, bread and butter and a large pot of tea which came in a white tea pot (a nice change from the usual stainless steel ones). Friendly waitress, quick service and a very bright clean restaurant. We will go again if we are in the area.
We feel this represents very good value in this day and age. Jean and John Ruddy

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The nicest Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I would like to share with you our experience today we bought fish chips and mushy peas from the take away side of the restaurant and I have to say I couldn't get over how nice the fish and chips were never had fish and chips taste the way this did there was so much flavour in the Fish the batter was perfect crunchy and not soggy like so many other chip shops serve and then we move on to the chips they were very nice again not like the normal chips you tend to find you get from other chippys.
The price was very good and so were the staff that served they were very friendly and welcoming but what can you expect from Yorkshire folk a great Yorkshire welcome so guys thank you very much will definitely be back next time we come for a day out in Hebden Bridge.
Also Hebden Bridge is a great place to visit just love this little town and the people are all so friendly. Very enjoyable day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, Lancs
Level Contributor
246 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The best chips ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are occasional visitors to Hebden Bridge and think there is nothing better than taking fish and chips from the Crown over the road into the park on a sunny day. The chips are always perfectly cooked and the fish has crispy batter. Help yourself to s & v. The traditional restaurant is pleasant with generous servings which come with tea/coffee and bread and butter. My only gripe is that serving times are short and they close pretty early after a short lunch service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lottie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fish n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We came to Hebden bridge for a day trip - we came across this restaurant - the takeaway side was busy but restaurant only one table so we sat in. We were not disappointed - £7.95 for fish n chips, bread and butter and tea - great value! The kids portion was£4.95 and included a cordial - quite a large portion so be warned.
Good food, service could have been a bit quicker considering how quiet the restaurant was.
However would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cupcakes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Traditional Fish and Chips also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Crown Traditional Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing