We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclists haven”
Review of Robin Hood Pub

Robin Hood Pub
Ranked #33 of 70 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cyclists haven”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

always wanted to pop in for a pint in here as I have cycled past many times on my way up Cragg Vale but when your slogging your way up, you don't really want to lose the momentum!

Finally got the chance when recently watching Le Tour de France go by and it was worth it. Lovely little pub with great beers and the staff were so friendly and service was quick despite there being hundreds of thirsty cycling fans clamouring for refreshment!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thechief1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A warm welcome and a dog friendly bar. The food was great. I would highly recommend the steak pie. We would have returner for a second meal, but ran out of holiday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy with warm welcome”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a small gathering of about 20 or so people and needed a venue to provide some refreshment afterwards. The Robin was the ideal venue, the owners and their chef daughter certainly pushed the boat of hospitality right out for us. We were served a fresh buffet on arrival complete with coffee and tea and then passed most of the afternoon away in the bar. I sampled the real ales of which there were four on offer all in tip top condition but also noticed four different exotic lagers as well. The other thing was the value for money £2.40 for a fine pint of real ale is extraordinary these days.
The other thing that struck me was the menu. It looked absolutely delicious and incredible value also. I would say proper pub food of the highest standard would sum it up. If you are in the area you must give this place a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky local pub”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Small pub with well kept beers and guest ales / ciders. Great home cooked food, plentiful portions and friendly / welcoming staff.

Easily one of the best pubs in the area & highly recommended.

Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family, walker and especially dog friendly”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from "The Robin" after another fantastic family birthday meal. I was very disturbed to hear the hot topic of conversation was a recent Tripadvisor review of the pub by a first-time reviewer who seems to believe that the landlord is a dog-murdering psychopath. On today's evidence you could not find a more dog-friendly pub. Yet, put those same dogs in a field full of sheep and lambs and let them run amok and the situation changes dramatically. The consequences are all too often graphically shown on TV and the papers. If Roger has had to deal with that situation, I know that it would not be something he would later revel in. Please remember he is both a farmer a landlord, and as such real-life issues may be discussed which may not suit the ears of the likes of "Billie S". This pub is a superb local asset which welcomes everyone no matter how far you travelled. Good home-cooked food, great beers and a warm welcome awaits. What are you waiting for?

Helpful?
3 Thank Rockhopperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robin Hood Pub also viewed

Pecket Well, Hebden Bridge
 
Cragg Vale, Hebden Bridge
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Robin Hood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing