We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food and real ale”
Review of Stubbing Wharf

Stubbing Wharf
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good pub food and real ale”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been here a few times sometimes just for a quick drink - they have an ever changing selection of real ales - but usually for Sunday lunch. The pub is a traditional style pub with plenty of parking (important in Hebden Bridge!) and a lovely canal side setting just outside of the main town area. It's cosy in winter and the outside tables are lovely in summer. I always have something different from the menu - pie, burger, roast dinner - all are good. I had chicken with sundried tomatoes in a creamy sauce with spinach on my most recent visit. Very tasty and it came with lots of freshly cooked veg. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful and there's plenty of them so you don't have to wait long for drinks or food

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    151
    62
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best food/ pub in Hebden”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Beer is good. Food is good. What's not to like? You need to book if you want to eat mind. I have the giant home cooked and battered fish and chips often, and the Taylor's Landlord is always well kept.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“even the ducks complained”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

called in to the stubbing wharf for a spot of tea as we had been there on a few occasions for drinks and had always very much enjoyed the atmosphere.. we tried the menu for the first (and last) time tonight 20/08/13.. the staff were very friendly and helpful as i only wanted prawns with my salad and this in no way was a problem.. my partner opted for the "famous" wharf burger.. it did not take long to arrive.. the chips were lovely but the burger was dry and bland with a few wilted greens on the side which was described on the menu as a side salad.. my prawn salad was very disapointing.. a few very wet and small prawns mixed in with salad leaves and a hastily chopped pepper and tomatoe.. the portion was also very small.. as a side i ordered a crusty baguette with butter.. when that arrived i found the butter had melted in the wrapper and the baguette was stale.. the dog would`nt eat it so i decided i would feed it to the ducks.. even they turned their bills up at it.. will not be dining there again.. which is a shame as the pub is lovely.. the staff are friendly and the location is perfect..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tiggs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew B, Owner at Stubbing Wharf, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I am extremely sorry for the problems with your meals, I hope you will try us again as we have gained a wonderful reputation over the years for our traditional pub food, This I believe to be an unfortunate experience and one which we will work hard to ensure dose not happen again, please feel free to call me if you would like to discuss Matt (01422844107)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Canalside Pub”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very busy relaxed old fashioned pub. We were soon seated and served. The food was tasty and well cooked .Very reasonable prices. On our second visit we couldn't get a table as they were all reserved so booking here is highly recommended. Quite a lot of parking spaces. Will
go again (after booking) as we are often in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Proper pub food!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a proper old fashioned pub, with relaxed atmosphere in a great location.
The food is good, although not great. My favourite is the steak and ale pie, which is always amazingly tasty. Same goes for the fish and chips. I was slightly disappointed with a baguette I ordered once, but it wasn't the end of the world, it was still very filling and good enough.
Both food and drinks are affordable.
I definitely recommend booking on weekends and Bank holidays as it can get packed, especially if the weather is nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stubbing Wharf also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Cragg Vale, Hebden Bridge
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
 

Been to Stubbing Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing