We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and ales” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stubbing Wharf

Stubbing Wharf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food and ales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Food cooked on the premises to a high standard with good service and a fine selection of beers all at a reasonable price.
What's not to like?
Just outside the main part of HB but easily accessed on foot down the canal towpath which makes the approach more interesting.
A must visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    140
    60
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Large portions of perfectly edible pub grub ,very busy, and clearly the business model is working,
There is car parking and the log fire and proper pub atmosphere help.
Would not seek to put anyone off eating here or popping in for a drink and a sandwich.
However ,as my title says, it is what it is-doesn't pretend to be anymore.
Would suggest booking and then hitting your time slot-they work understandably hard at maximising turnover.
Mainly staff were very pleasant and friendly although we did have contact with one grumpy and clumpy waitress-cups bangewd down and sort yourselves out
In reality we had a 3+ experience but not a 4

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank littlewillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew B, Owner at Stubbing Wharf, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to us. It was a busy day but we do expect to maintain our usual standards and can only apologise. Regarding the problems with your meal it seems something went wrong and we will do our best to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future. Sauces should have been offered to you as usual, as sachets are intended for use outside and in our upstairs overflow room. We hope your next visit will be much more satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They have a Vegan Christmas Menu too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went for a christmas meal with a large group; everybody on my table enjoyed their meal (I sat on a table of 8). The veggie food was delicious (as always)! But one of the vegan dishes was absolutely wonderful & looked stunning; which included delicious parsnip chips.

I eat here fairly regularly. Large portions are the norm. If you have chips they are proper home made chunky chips & the best in Hebden Bridge. However booking a table is highy recommended as it is always busy even on weekdays. But you can chance it & grab a little table around the bar area. Very good selection of real ales & they sell Fentimans soft drinks as a great alternative to the well known cola brands. Lovely location on the canal on the edge of Hebden Bridge heading towards Todmorden & best of all it's dog friendly so great for dogspotting!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dogsspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth it every time :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Group of 6 of us in on Tuesday night all having food from chips to steak, all very nice, very hot and very pleasant. Very busy bar and tables full all night I would personal book to avoid any disappoint moment :) x

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Secert_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Large portions of delicious home cooked food. Book to avoid disappointment. Lovely atmosphere very warm and welcoming with lots of choices on the menu. Food to suit all tastes. Parking outside close to building. Large room upstairs to book for special occasions. Impressive menu for large events.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stubbing Wharf also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Cragg Vale, Hebden Bridge
 
Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Stubbing Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing