We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break!!”
Review of Croft Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Croft Mill
Ranked #2 of 22 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“Great Break!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Went to croft mill to have a short break with my family, would just like to say that the accommodation could not be better, the apartment we stayed is was perfect, very relaxed atmosphere and the owners were brilliant, i would definately recommend to anyone visiting the area to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    5
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
85
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I stayed here with my partner and would recommend Croft Mill to all my family, friends and business colleagues. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished with stylish modern funishings. The attention to detail was terrific with lovely toileteries and a quality food hamper containing breads, jams etc. the owner was extremely helpful and was a mine of information and recommended trips out and places to eat locally. The location could not be better right in the centre of town handy for bars, restaurants and attractons , yet it was quiet and peaceful in the apartment. I stayed in a superior room which was pure luxury so heaven knows what the penthouse suites are like. I will try one when I stay next time as I will definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We booked Croft Mill for our Honeymoon, agreeing that our children 15 and 13 and our two small terriers would also be accompanying us. We checked prices and asked if they would do a deal for cash, of which this was greatfully accepted, we then gave our card details for security for the booking.
On arrival we were meet by Josephine, the accomodation was very good, also nice welcome pack. She said that they could not get the payment from that card, we said it was a cash deal and we would pay by the end of the week, very happy all round with this.
A few blunders along the way, a toaster blew all the lights, the shaving light was not wired up correctly and the washer dryer as advertised and instructions for a washer dryer in the Bible was in fact a washer only, but we took this with good faith.
Josephine was paid £500 cash on the Thursday night (for Mon pm to Fri am) and was very happy.
We left on the Friday and stripped the beds and put dishwasher on etc and generally did all we could without doing all the cleaning ourselves, Josephine came into the appartment and said what good guest we were and was very happy how we lhad left it, then we went on our merry way.
A few days later we noticed something wrong with the card we put up for security, it had been debited for £80, this took a few days to appear that it was Croft Mill, we then telephoned and asked why? we were informed that we had made a water mark on a coffee table and there we stains on the carpet, also dog hairs from our Lurchers!!!!!
Being very astounded we challenged this and was told that Josephine would check with the cleaners and call us back, this did not happen, this is then when we spoke to her obnoxious, unable to tell the truth, nasty, unprofessional husband, who was very disagreeable. He lied time and time again, one being they dont take dogs and they did not agree to it, (truthfully would people travel 500 miles from home hoping they could get away with two dogs that were not allowed) and said that photos were in the post to prove the damage etc, the payment was taken two days after we left straight and photos and letters were five days later after we have discovered this dishonesty. This could have been anyone and they were just trying it on.
They had no manners or scruples to ring us to say they thought there was a problem they just used our card without our permission, and when challenge incredibly rude and dishonest. On talking to the husband the next day he added more problems with dog hairs, that I should not have stripped the beds, that he never deals with cash (rubbish, bit our hand off when offered) just a very nasty piece of work and is just incapable of telling the truth. .
Whlst the accomodation and the Mill is in a good location, there are just as nice placed to stay, places that you could trust the proprietors with your credit card details. Not just people that would take advantage and who have no manners to address the situation before taking money that was not rightly theirs.
It was eventually sorted where they return half of the charge, again we feel that we had been stitched up and just wanted to get it out of the way and never have to deal with them again.

If you do try your luck here, I would suggest pay deposit with cheque and pay the remaining with card in their presence and get them to sign that they are happy with how you left the accomation and also sign that they will not use your credit card without authorisation. Also read their rules and regulations (copy in the room) he will change them to suit himself.

My advice go somewhere else just as nice but with piece of mind that your money is safe

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Dolliedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

My partner, 2 year old daughter and myself stayed here last Friday. We are looking to move to Hebden Bridge and just needed somewhere to sleep on Friday before going off to look at properties the next day. As we had two long days of driving either side of our stay, I wanted somewhere we could just crash out comfortably. That's what we got, and more. Everything was thought of - there was a lovely fruit basket, continental breakfast including croissant, bread, eggs, tea and coffee and apple juice, organic chocolate and crisps, and locally made biscuits. The kitchen was beautifully equipped, there was a great toy basket for our daughter, who got stuck straight in after our 6 hour drive. Josephine met us and showed us in, made sure we had everything we needed. What needs saying about this place is that it isn't just somewhere where they've done a bare minimim to get it to a certain level. Everything has been carried out to a really high standard - the conversion has been beautifully done, the furniture and fittings feel expensive - no wobbly IKEA stuff here. The bedlinen was lovely, the beds really comfy. Ecover toiletries and cleaning products too. I can't think of a better place to stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recidivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

After trawling the internet for accommodation services in Hebden Bridge, i came across the faboulous Croft Mill, as soon as i read the description, services and what the rooms had to offer my mind was made up in an instant.
I took my partner away for a couple of nights of relaxation to get away from our hectic lifestyles, as soon as we arrived, the owner Josephine made us feel relaxed, she showed us to our apartment which just looked like the internet pictures, Josephine was very informative and knowledgeable and ensured that we were happy with everything.
The apartment still feels very new, light and airy. It has everything you need for self catering accommodation, not to mention the little extras from a fantastic welcome tray, overflowing fruit bowl and a vase of fresh flowers.
The property is located in the centre of Hebden bridge opposite the canal walking distance to all shops, bars, cafes etc.
All i can say from a hospitality background myself, i thought the owners attention to detail in providing and thinking of the customers needs were outstanding, customer service with a smile was given right from the start and one of my bugbears is cleanliness which i couldnt fault thoughout the entire apartment.
I would like to wish the owners good luck in their journey and when i can get time at the end of the year we will be back for another memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

These are lovely new self catering apartments in a newly converted mill in the centre of the beautiful town of Hebden Bridge. The penthouse apartments were all fully booked but they look lovely with floor to ceiling windows. We stayed in apartment 13 and everything was brand new. There were so many nice touches, a big basket of fruit, milk, tea, coffee, sugar, bread, butter, cheese, eggs, fruit cake etc. There were also fresh flowers. All the furniture and fittings are very nice, it feels very luxurious. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. Outside there is a decked area with seating and a table. The car park is behind secure gates for which you have a remote key fob. I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — luxurious, clean, modern.
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anng5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I was lucky enough to be treated by my girlfriend to a weekend away in Hebden Bridge recently as it was my birthday. We arrived at the Croft Mill Apartments at around 7.30 pm on the Friday night to be met personally by the owner Josephine. She was good enough to guide us in personally as our Sat Nav couldn't quite get us right to the door!

We stayed in Apartment number 18 which is one of the penthouse ones at the top. It definitely had the wow factor when Josephine showed us up there. It had large floor-to-ceiling windows on both sides with fantastic views of the town and the surrounding countryside. There was a fully-equiped kitchen which we used to cook on our second night with a large dining table and large living room with wall-mounted flat-screen TV. It helped that the sofas were comfy too.

There were several nice touches about our stay - including the complimentary bottle of wine left by Josephine to celebrate my birthday. She also left us plenty of Taylors of Harrogate tea, freshly ground coffee, croissants and pastries for breakfast.

The penthouse apartments were duplex and ours has a large king bed in one room and a single bed in the other. Both rooms were en-suite but the shower in the single room was better as it had one of the large monsoon heads. There's no bath if you are partial to a soak but that didn't bother me.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and would happily recommend the Croft Mill Apartments to anyone. Josephine seemed eager to please and called round on the second night to check how we were getting on. She even allowed us to check out late on the Sunday as there were no guests expected until the following day. We were also able to leave our car in the secure gated car park at the rear of the property througout our stay and after check out so we could have another wander about town.

By the way, the restaurant at the Moyles Hotel opposite the Croft Mill Apartments is also very good - even if the starters can be a bit strange for some people's taste!

  • Liked — Wow factor to apartment - finished to a very high standard. Also amazing views!
  • Disliked — Not a lot - very pleased all round
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swiftykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
379 reviews
4.9 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#5 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#9 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Mill

Property: Croft Mill
Address: Croft Mill Yard, Hebden Bridge HX7 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croft Mill 4 Star Self-catering Apartments. A former saw mill now a unique conversion that it is today using contemporary interior design while still retains its original features and character of its Industrial heritage. We offer style and comfort coupled with the convenience of home. Every one of our apartments comes with a fully fitted kitchen, complete with all cutlery and crockery. Also included are those 'little extras' - hairdryer, washer/dryer, WiFi, Satellite TV, DVD player etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Croft Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft Mill Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing