We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely apartment but confused breakfast arrangements”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Croft Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Croft Mill
Ranked #1 of 22 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment but confused breakfast arrangements”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

A lovely place to stay, clean, well furnished and comfortable, we booked this for our 30th wedding anniversary as I had to work up north on the actual day - so we could turn it into a bit of a holiday for the rest of the stay. We were upgraded to a larger apartment on arrival, as they were fairly quiet at the time. We had booked it partly as it said breakfast provided in the terms online and looked forward to this. We soon learnt that the breakfast pack, lovely as it was, was really a welcome pack on arrival in what was fully self catering accommodation. I had no objection to cooking it ourselves, but one tin of beans, six eggs and a very small loaf would not provide breakfast for two people for the six nights we were staying! On commenting on this, we were give another small loaf, some more coffee and another packet of cookies, very welcome, but somewhat limiting. We went out for a cooked breakfast for several mornings, an added expense my husband did not well disposed to pay for, as we had already paid for it in the package. The host was charming and the apartment lovely, the upgrade was welcoming but the breakfast arrangements need to decide whether they are b and b or self catering and state this clearly to be fair and within the trades descriptions.

Room Tip: Try the White Lion for an excellant cooked breakfast and wonderful evening meals, we will stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishagoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    4
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
82
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was the fourth time we have stayed here and it will not be the last as all have been excellent. The local produce provided is a real treat and there is everything one would need, including TV/oven/washing machine. The bathrooms are sparkling clean and the beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkPacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for 2 nights (27th & 28th of January).
I had 'phoned Josephine earlier in the day to say we anticipated arriving around 5.30 p.m.,however due to the snow en route we arrived an hour later,I called from my mobile to say we were delayed and was told "it's not a problem,just call me when you arrive".
Josephine met us on arrival and showed us into the secure 'gated'car park.
We chose the lift,with our luggage,rather than the steps to our second floor apartment,.Josephine showed us in and explained where everything was.
As previous people have commented,the complimentary food and drink,which included 2 bottles of locally brewed beer ! was more than we expected and of the highest quality and locally sourced.
The apartment was extremely clean, modern and warm without being oppressively hot.The beds have 'memory foam' mattresses which made for a great nights sleep.
The walk into 'the square' in Hebden Bridge is about 2 minutes,there are plenty of pubs and places to eat in or take away and lots of quirky shops and NO big supermarkets.
We took a 30 minute walk along the canal tow path to Stubbins Wharfe,which is a canal side pub,serving great food and several well kept real ales.After spending a good few hours in there,we thought it would be in our own interest to avoid the the tow path and catch the bus back into Heben Bridge !!!
On Sunday morning we awoke to the aroma of hot fresh croissants,which Josephine had left for us in the porch,a lovely touch.
We loaded the car,had a last stroll around the centre,fed the ducks and headed home.
A really relaxing weekend and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broughton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This place was lovely we had a warm welcome by the lady who took us to our appartment which was number 6 there was complentrary food milk, eggs, bread, cheese, beans, milk, tea, coffe, sugar, biscuits,choclate, fruit, cake, jams and chutneys, which is fantastic alone the place is spotless brand new even a dish washer and washing machine and ironing board etc everything really and the beds are memory foarm. you could live there quite happily if you have a car there is a private car park which is allocatered for you and its privately accessed this place is lovely and its situated idealy at the edge of town in hepden bridge but you dont hear any traffic. If your disabled there is the standard room on the ground floor which are also perfect and there are plenty of pubs and eating places and a info pack in your room which gives you numers for these places and also time tables its ideal for the walkers for that area. This place is a must will deffintley go back again for longer next time. Thank you for the people who run it makes a change to see a place sooooo clean etc :)

Room Tip: All are excellent ground floor rooms for wheel chair users but theres also a lift and stairs for hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night in November and received a very warm welcome from the owner. The 2 bedroomed apartment was furnished and equipped to a high standard and was ideal for 2 couples. Beds were exceptionally comfortable and the best Egyptian cotton sheets and towels provided. Breakfast items (all organic and/ or locally/ ethically sourced) included eggs, bread, beans, meusli, cereal, milk, cake, biscuits, basket of fruit, jams, chutney, honey and even a couple of organic beers - fantastic! The location is superb; in the heart of Hebden Bridge but also including on-site secure parking. We will definitely return and I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Love2Roam_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Dominica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our short stay with Josephine and Patrick Anderson at the Croft Mill is a good reason to return to the UK.

Our team of 3 travelled from Dominica (English speaking and located in the Caribbean) to do an understudy tour of the Pennine Way, and spent 6 nights along the Pennene Way.

Fantastic experience...and our time with Josephine was the highlight of our accommodation. A home away from home, clean, hospitable and very comfortable.

This was our best choice for accommodation, and I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waitukubuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Croft Mill is an excellent alternative to B&B - the self catering aspect means more flexibility and freedom (we like to sleep in!) but the welcome basket means you don't need to bring lots of things with you! Milk, bread, tea, butter, cheese etc are all provided, as are lovely big fluffy towels. In fact, you don't need to bring anything, just pitch up, settle in and enjoy. Josephine made us feel very welcome (once we'd figured out how to get into the secure complex) and we were even upgraded, which was lovely. Our apartment was very well equipped and we will definitely be coming back.

The pricing on this review site makes it look expensive - but these are the prices per apt, not per person, so if there's 3 or 4 of you, it's probably cheaper than most B&B's - and you can sit around in your own living room drinking wine at night if you want to!

The apartment was immaculate - and lovely and warm without being stuffy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanuk_of_the_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
361 reviews
4.9 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
271 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#5 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#10 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Mill

Property: Croft Mill
Address: Croft Mill Yard, Hebden Bridge HX7 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croft Mill 4 Star Self-catering Apartments. A former saw mill now a unique conversion that it is today using contemporary interior design while still retains its original features and character of its Industrial heritage. We offer style and comfort coupled with the convenience of home. Every one of our apartments comes with a fully fitted kitchen, complete with all cutlery and crockery. Also included are those 'little extras' - hairdryer, washer/dryer, WiFi, Satellite TV, DVD player etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Croft Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft Mill Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing