We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service, highly recommended”
Review of The Saw - CLOSED

The Saw
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Gastropub, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Recently re-opened Family run Pub/Restaurant serving a variety of locally brewed real ales, lagers, ciders and fine wines. Kids Menu, Light Bites Menu and Main Menu available with a wide selection of Traditional Pub Meals.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, highly recommended”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have visited this restaurant twice over the last 3 weeks; once with a group of 8 from mixed ages and then with my husband and another couple.

I observed in these two visits quite a selection of meals from the menu and everything that was served was first class. I did not hear one complaint.

The food was well presented, to a standard I would have expected to have paid much more for. The waitresses were pleasant and very helpful, the atmosphere was good with music playing in the background without being intrusive.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to groups of individuals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shasbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Party”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've just had a party in The Saw, 21 of us in total.

As usual, the food was sublime and the service was excellent.

We all had different things, from open fish pie, roast beef dinner, toad in the hole etc etc and nobody had a bad thing to say - only complements.

I had open fish pie, which is a particular favourite of mine and it was fantastic (as always).

I can't believe The Saw is as quiet as it is. I know they have some busy days but the place should be heaving all the time, the food and service is that good. I guess it will be in time but, people, please get behind them - they deserve it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisndebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“back to the saw”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to the saw a lot a few years ago before it closed so was interested to see what it would be like under new owners
Four of us went on Saturday night not many people in which was a shame as the food was excellent we all had 2 different courses all the food looked good and tasted good the service was also good Food and coffees came to £80 and a lot of drink to £55.we will be back and hope a lot more go and keep it open

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch venue”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A friend recommended the Saw for lunch so we decided to give it a whirl and we were not disappointed. We had the lunch time deal, two steak sandwiches and two drinks for £14. The food was piping hot, chunky chips and delicious steak. Besides the steak sandwich there was a very reasonable selection to choose from and I would definitely visit again. The only complaint that I would have is that the interior of the pub could do with updating, but the service and staff were first class.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good food, recommended.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to The Saw, the first being a few years a go. I know it has recently changed hands and for he better!
The food was very good, well presented and good quality. So good, we had to have 3 courses!
The restaurant interior is more reminiscent of a good local pub, wooden tables and chairs etc. but on a Sturday night it was lively, full of atmosphere and the service was excellent. Food cost is not cheap, but worth it.
Recommended - we will be returning sooner this time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Family2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saw also viewed

Gomersal, West Yorkshire
Birkenshaw, West Yorkshire
 
Gomersal, West Yorkshire
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing