We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gomersal Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gomersal B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I came to look around Gomersal Lodge Hotel with my fiance as a possible wedding venue. We have been engaged for over 8 months and this was the first venue I had seen in that time within the Bradford area that I really liked.
We both loved the marquee and had decided that should the price be right we would definitley get married here in 2015. We were told we would be sent some quotes in the post but after over 3 weeks I have received nothing. I followed this up with a phone call around 10 days ago and was told they had been sent...which is obviously not the case.
The hotel is under new management so I did expect to wait longer than usual but I feel that as a hotel under new management they should be doing everything they can to build a good reputation and gain future business.
As my fiance's family are not from Bradford, we would have hoped to book most of the hotels rooms for the night of the wedding so I feel like they have lost out on a lot of business through not doing something so simple.
I am extremely disappointed as I will now be finding a new wedding venue...if a hotel cannot even send some information, how will they be able to make important arrangments for a wedding?

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 163 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had stayed at gomersal park hotel the night before and it had been Fantastic! But due to a Wedding event they were fully booked so we needed somewhere to stay for the last night, We came across gomersal lodge hotel and thought we would try it.
First odd thing about this hotel was that the man wanted cash up front. It was getting late so I agreed. Booking in was very casual indeed. We had quite a big room. Bed sheets were nice and clean. But everything eles seemed dusty. The views were beautiful. Breakfast was ok lady who served us was very friendly but unorganised. Its ok if you need somewhere to crash but I would not recommend it, Try Gomersal Park Hotel if they are not fully booked instead! Cheaper and you get a lovely clean room and bathroom and yummy Breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmaliz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I didn't expect this place to be top grade at £ 55 but it was absolutely awful and not worth half that. Old beds dirty mattresses, floor, door, walls. Mould on the floor and wall of bathroom and paper coming off the wall. Curtains do not fit or close properly, no blind nets ect. Very dated artex ceiling and very tacky decor/colours. Lots of banging and people talking very loud beneath us in the kitchen & office, the room was number one. The window overlooks the marque that had a noisy birthday party going on. The window sills were very dirty and the windows. I desperately wanted to leave but due to finances and a busy Saturday night with everywhere booked we had no choice but to stay. Their were only showers no baths and so dirty that I wouldn't use it. The kettle was so old and also dirty (20yrs+) that I'm amazed it could be safe to use? Its a shame because the house is connected to bronte and it has lovely gardens, in the right hands it would be awesome and very profitable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Metsx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently held my husbands surprise 40th birthday party in the marquee, it was brilliant! The marquee and gardens are beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I had it booked for months beforehand and anytime I needed anything the manager Antony and his wife Jane were always there to help and did me a great deal. Amy, abid and Nadeem were fab too. Definitely recommend! In fact there are a few of my family members and friends wanting to book their up coming functions there now too. Overall a big success! X

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edenwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Came for a 40th and it was fab, the marquee was awesome and the staff esp abid and nad were fantastic and great hosts, we asked for nothin they gave us everything. They let us stay up and they served us even though it was closed, they then bought us a curry at no expense to ourselves. The grounds are beautiful, defo recommend it and hope to come back. Staff were great xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nettienbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've written several reviews for T.A. and other media and pride myself in always giving an honest opinion. Myself and my four brothers, along with our partners, all stayed here for the Folk Festival weekend of the 6th & 7th of July and, I've got to say, we are all of the same opinion that we couldn't have been better treated.
Having consulted the reviews on T.A., we approached our stay with some trepidation but were very pleasantly surprised! It's not The Ritz, and the rooms aren't 'premier inn modern', but we weren't expecting that. What it is, is a nice family run, small hotel which was clean, tidy and welcoming and everything worked.

It is, essentially, a large Victorian house set in it's own spectacular grounds. We received a warm, friendly welcome which lasted all weekend. The rooms were more than adequate, for the price range, and the breakfast was very good indeed. We used the late bar facilities on one night and the barman was equally friendly and informative and there was no pressure to have 'one drink and out' as in some places.

Having revisited some of the reviews, I can only think that some people are trying to use T.A. to pursue a vendetta and that's a real shame. We'd all have no hesitation in staying here again so - be discerning, yes - but don't believe everything you read!

Tom Wilson (on behalf of The Wilson Family)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Bit of a shame really. As a previous visitor said "room under £40 so don't expect the Hilton". Didn't expect the Hilton but would have liked TV working and hot shower. Shower was also grubby inside and not hot water not working and TV didn't work. Was moved from this room into another and this was better. So all in all they corrected the problem - yet shouldn't have put anyone in there until everything working. Breakfast was stated as £3.50 on confirmation which we thought was brilliant value but when given breakfast was told that £7.50 was the cost - £3.50 was not full english. Fair enough but should really tell you this beforehand. Have stayed several times and this was the worse which is a shame. If travelling on a budget and just want a clean bed go for it. Location was also good. Lastly, no meals being served so had to go up road for something hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gomersal Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomersal Lodge Hotel

Address: 189 Spen Lane | Cleckheaton, Gomersal BD19 4PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Gomersal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gomersal
Price Range: $66 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gomersal Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very Warm Welcome awaits you here at the Privately owned Gomersal Lodge Hotel, Overlooking the famous 15 acre Stray parkland, the historic Grade II Gomersal Lodge Hotel dates back to 1860 and sits on the site of the town's first ever hotel. Gomersal Lodge Hotel has comfortably furnished en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and equipped with all the usual facilities that one would expect from a hotel of such stature. All bedrooms features an en-suite bathroom, and offer a desk, Hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a flat-screen TV. All of the rooms benefit from large windows and views across the countryside and garden. At the Gomersal Lodge Hotel guests will be able to relax in the garden. The hotel offers extensive free car parking and only 5 minutes from both Junction 26 & 27 of the M62 and is located at the very heart of West Yorkshire. The hotel is only a short drive from the centre of Leeds, Bradford, Huddersfield, Halifax and Wakefield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gomersal Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing