We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another super meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thaal

Thaal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $64
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another super meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had a lovely meal at Thaal last night. We opted for the £10.95 menu which was starter, main and pud. Super meal once again. My family and I are regular visitors and we have never had a bad meal. Super service every time we have been. Definately recommend. A+++++

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FayCharlstonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    38
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One To Thaal Your Friends About”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited on a reasonably quiet Tuesday evening with friends. We chose from the inclusive Monday-Thursday menu which offers a starter, main course, rice or naan and dessert for £10.95. Good choice of curries from the selection. We paid a little extra for rice and naan. The battered cod starter was nicely cooked and prepared. I had lamb madras which was a good hot curry and a generous portion. The ice cream was okay though exceptionally sweet and the combination of mint ice cream and rose syrup was an acquired taste. On previous visits we have ordered the poppadom and pickles and there is an exquisite variety of pickles to enjoy. No complaints at all. Service was very good and we didn't have to wait long for a table. The restaurant was modern and tastefully decorated. All in all, a very good restaurant indeed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richthehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Took some work colleagues for a bite to eat recently following a recommendation, I must say I was disappointed in the food quality for the price it was like any other average curry house not a patch on the Grand Indian / Aagrah.

Wont be returning!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always Spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent service and excellent food every time (be it eat in or take away). Good selection on menu and always good quantities of food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As per usual! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Thaal is one of my favourite places to eat. The amazing decor, spacious tables, wonderful smells, vibrant music, relatively cheap, and amazing staff. You just can't go wrong! Me and my family (plus friends) visit Thaal many times a year and we are never disappointed. Although this last time we visited, all nine guests said we felt like we were rushed between our pickle trays and our starters. The food however was delicious - I had two large onion bargis to begin with and Chicken Shashlick with boiled rice for main. The portion size was just right! Will definitely be having that again! Once we had all finished our mains, the waiter came round and handed out the dessert menus. A few of us wanted desserts but nobody came back to our table to ask if anyone wanted any desserts or hot drinks - and not even to give the bill. One of our party members went to the desk 3 times and asked for our bill, yet nobody came, even though every time they said they would be a few minutes. We waited an extra half hour for our bill when finally another member of our party went to get it. The restaurant was the busiest I've ever seen it and therefore the reason for the service being a little off this one night. We all still enjoyed the night and can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Heptathlete1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaal also viewed

South Milford, Selby District
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Sherburn in Elmet, Selby District
 

Been to Thaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing