We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Spot on” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaal

Thaal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $62
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always Spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent service and excellent food every time (be it eat in or take away). Good selection on menu and always good quantities of food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    38
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferrybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As per usual! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Thaal is one of my favourite places to eat. The amazing decor, spacious tables, wonderful smells, vibrant music, relatively cheap, and amazing staff. You just can't go wrong! Me and my family (plus friends) visit Thaal many times a year and we are never disappointed. Although this last time we visited, all nine guests said we felt like we were rushed between our pickle trays and our starters. The food however was delicious - I had two large onion bargis to begin with and Chicken Shashlick with boiled rice for main. The portion size was just right! Will definitely be having that again! Once we had all finished our mains, the waiter came round and handed out the dessert menus. A few of us wanted desserts but nobody came back to our table to ask if anyone wanted any desserts or hot drinks - and not even to give the bill. One of our party members went to the desk 3 times and asked for our bill, yet nobody came, even though every time they said they would be a few minutes. We waited an extra half hour for our bill when finally another member of our party went to get it. The restaurant was the busiest I've ever seen it and therefore the reason for the service being a little off this one night. We all still enjoyed the night and can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Heptathlete1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited here New Years Eve 2013 so it was always going to be super busy. We were seated in the reception and were served drinks immediately. It took about 10 minutes for our table to come free that we had booked online. The food was excellent, one meat eater and one veggie and there was plenty of choice for both of us. Service to the table was again excellent especially as the restaurant was so busy. Only downside was that it took a while to get the bill at the end but i cannot grumble about that considering how busy they were and it was NY Eve. Would definitely go there again. I like the fact that you can book online and you get a 10% discount for doing so. Great restaurant

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Caveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not happy with the service at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked online for a romantic night out with my partner what a mistake that was. When we arrived there were lots of people already waiting the staff did not know we had booked they didn't have us down for a table so we had to wait which would have been ok if there was anywhere to sit. After about 20 mins we got a seat my partner had to go up to remind them we were still waiting. We were eventually shown to our table 35 mins after arriving then due to there being no available menus we were given the takeaway menu to look at. This is not acceptable in a restaurant. We sat for about another 20 mins at which time we were going to leave when they took our order. When the food arrived it was served quickly and the food was good. As we were here to have a romantic meal it would have been nice for us not to be sitting at a table where other customers were squeezing past our table every two minutes which was not ideal for anyone let alone a couple trying to have a romantic time. I have been to this restaurant previously and the experience was lovely. After this one I won't be back or recommending it to friends or others. It would be good to get a response to this review and be assured of changes to the service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mother & daughter time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved my 3 course meal staff very friendly got 10% of for booking on line loved the company and the food clean and tidy not far off the motorway x

Helpful?
Thank vonnie920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaal also viewed

South Milford, Selby District
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Sherburn in Elmet, Selby District
 

Been to Thaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing