We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal. Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaal

Thaal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $62
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal. Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

A regular favourite for my wife and I. This is not a cheap restaurant but it is not overly expensive. You get a great meal that you don't mind paying for. The staff are always friendly and courteous. You can even book by text and save 10% on your bill which is a bonus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yerocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    38
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Have had many a good time at the Thaal, food is always good, atmosphere friendly and staff are evcellent, would recommend a visit...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service - different menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have eaten here quite a few times since its opening. I really like the decor and the staff are always very friendly and welcoming.
But more importantly the food is always excellent. I love the menu, it has the usual suspects of curries (rogan Josh etc) but have never needed to resort to these, as the chefs specials are so varied and different. I love the Lamb with scrambled egg (sounds horrid but it tastes beautiful) if you want something a bit different from your Indian food with nice surroundings I can not recommend this place enough. Sure it is a little more expensive and you can probably get better value for money if you want a bog standard curry, but it you want more of a dining experience and try something different give it a go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Von_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Food, Cold Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went her eon the back of a few recommendations. The food was nice, but my Vindaloo was no where near hot enough. I feel this is one of those restaurants, were they treat there punters as poeple who don't know Asian food, and therefore servce everything the same heat. My Vindaloo was the same as the Madras and the Biryani.

Now anyone who likes there chilli's, knows how dissapointing it is to get a mild curry when you was expecting a hot on.

Other than this the food was really tasty.

The restaurant itself was nice, BUT really cold. It s a Monday evening and the restaurant was quite empty, however this should not mean punters should have to sit with coats on, which I did.

Overall for me, there are better restaurants in the Wakefield area such as Raj Poot, Red Chilli, food is jsut as good and at the right heat, AND the restaurants are warm

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaskewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Thaal want to go back"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

been several times now and everytime has been a very good experience. great food, good service very friendly staff..have seen other reviews compaining about the speed of service, but I have always found it to be just right, never feels you are been rushed and time to enjoy company between courses.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsChris_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaal also viewed

South Milford, Selby District
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Sherburn in Elmet, Selby District
 
Sherburn in Elmet, Selby District
South Milford, Selby District
 

Been to Thaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing