We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had booked an executive room but found this right at the other end of the hotel, through a maze of corridors and fire doors - so we downgraded to a standard room much nearer to the lift. This was very comfortable with a kingsized bed, very good bathroom (but we could only get hot water from either tap and in the shower!), TV, hairdryer and good storage. It was very clean with modern furniture but sadly no air-con and only small opening windows which made the room very hot on a summer night. However, it overlooked the canal and from about 3am it seemed there was a constant droning sound from a machine(?) on the opposite bank which kept us awake.
We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and found the quality of the food very good, particularly the pork belly which was excellent. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, with freshly poached or fried eggs being offered in addition to the hot food on the buffet - tasty bacon, sausage, hash browns, mushrooms, baked beans and some lovely black pudding. This was much better quality than we have had in more expensive hotels.
We found all the staff were very friendly and polite and all spoke good English. We had a good deal offered on the internet and so would rate this good value.

Room Tip: Suggest you go to check the location of your room first as some, even the executive ones, are a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Our executive and deluxe rooms are located on the new side of the building as they were an addition to the original restaurant and hotel. Unfortunately there is no lift to these rooms but our signage on the corridors and in the lift does direct you the quickest way to these floors.
We are glad you found the standard double room very comfortable and easier to access. The maintenance issue has been addressed. Only our executive & deluxe rooms have air conditioning but our standard rooms do have fans.
We are delighted you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in our restaurant and thank you for your positive comments about our staff members, we shall pass these on.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again if you are in the area.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    96
    56
    21
    5
See reviews for
34
113
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Peckham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Friendly and polite staff. Rooms are fairly basic and a bit tired and a long way from the hotel reception. I had an executive room which included wifi and all was ok. Breakfast was nice albeit a bit busy but I guess the hotel was full. Would stay here again if I happened to be in the area. I did sleep very well bit partly due to it being a very long day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Waterfront Lodge Hotel.
We are delighted that you would choose to stay with us again if you were in the area.
Complimentary Wi-Fi is available to all out guests and customers throughout the building using a log on system.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelliekay
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent location within a few minutes walk from the station. Friendly greeting efficient check in. Breakfast first morning (Saturday) was chaotic, staff working their socks off but 2 waitresses not enough for a full hotel. Shortages of food, had to wait for cereals, milk and hot dishes. Second morning was much better, possibly because we were earlier.
Have stayed here several times and really like the place. Staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Good value for money.
Only downside was out toilet not flushing properly, no one on at weekend to sort so a 'note' was made.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelliekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We have recently invested in additional equipment and training for our breakfast service and have received very positive feedback. Thank you for your comments towards breakfast.
We would like to apologise for your maintenance issues during your stay, all our standard rooms are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which includes; new wet room style bathrooms, designer furniture and luxury pocket sprung beds.
We are glad you have stayed with us on numerous occasions and are happy with the service from our staff members and pricing.
We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. If you would like to stay in one our refurbished rooms please request this when booking. (We are currently working on 3-4 rooms per month).

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

paid £35 for room n breakfast a few days before i stayed. wasnt expecting much. the room was clean. bed comfortable. breakfast included. free wifi. dont expect flashy interior but a solid good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Waterfront Lodge.
We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our standard hotel rooms and have very recently added new beds to all single rooms.
We hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here with my toddler for two nights. We had a deluxe room which I would highly recommend as these are large, on the upper floors and away from the lively restaurant. Ours was very clean and well equipped with tea, coffee, mini bar, snacks, air con, lovely coconut toiletries and large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower. We also had the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in!

Breakfast was excellent, with cooked to order eggs and then a hot buffet and delicious pastries, cereals etc. we also ate in the restaurant twice which is exceptionally child friendly and serves delicious Italian dishes. All the staff were consistently friendly and helpful and were lovely to my daughter. I particularly recommend 'Prego Play' which takes place on Sunday afternoons. The whole bar area is converted into a crèche complete with child register and baby locks on all doors. There was a huge selection of toys, dressing up, arts and crafts, face painting and children's DVDs and the children are properly supervised so you can enjoy your meal in peace with the children popping in and out of the restaurant. Wish I had something like this locally!

All in all I would certainly recommend this little gem of a hotel if visiting Brighouse or surrounding area. My thanks to the staff for being so accommodating and making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a deluxe or executive as can imagine the rooms on first floor may be noisier at we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_blonde01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our facilities including Prego Play. The deluxe rooms are the highest standard of room that we offer here at the Waterfront Lodge and we do agree and also recommend these rooms for that extra bit of luxury.

We hope to see you again if you are in the area.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My family and I were in Brighouse visiting family in early June 2014 and had the pleasure of staying at the Waterfront Hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a nice big clean room that was very quiet. The hotel has lots of character...as it used to be an old mill that was converted to a hotel. The breakfasts served to guests were amazingly good. I definitely gained some weight staying there! We also had a most wonderful dinner with our family in the main restaurant Prego which was delicious. We found the hotel to be very child and family friendly which made traveling with a six year old easy.

The hotel is right beside a very cool canal which you can sit and feed the birds. As the hotel is right on the main street in Brighouse which made pub hoping and shopping around town very easy. I'll look forward to staying there again with my family.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room... they are very big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickfromEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Brighouse and at The Waterfront Lodge.

We hope to see you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed on business so had a single room. Had to change as very noisey overlooking main road and room very small and grubby. Second room quieter but seemed for disabled person with call bell etc. Had wet room which had engrained dirt. Room disappointing. Bed so small nearly fell out and I am very petite. Would not go back. Breakfast good selection but had to wait 15 minutes even though first for breakfast at 8am and no one else in restaurant. Bacon very salty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mali48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Owner at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review following your stay at the Waterfront Lodge.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not fully enjoyable and we have looked into the comments you have left.

We do not agree that our rooms are dirty as the term ‘grubby’ may suggest, however we do agree that some rooms require maintenance. These few rooms are being addressed during our refurbishment programme, which is currently underway.

As we are a town centre hotel a small number of our hotel rooms are located on the roadside, in spite of internal noise excluders some light sleepers may find this disturbing. Customers are welcome to make requests when booking to allow us to locate them the best type of room.

Our standard single rooms have single beds which are of a standard size 3.3ft, we also offer standard double rooms with double beds which can be booked for single occupancy.

We are very sorry to hear about your wait at breakfast this is not to our normal standard, we are looking into your comments regarding the bacon.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
3.3 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
532 reviews
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.0 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: 14 Huddersfield Road, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 1JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air conditioning & mini bars are available in our executive and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Brighouse
The Waterfront Hotel Brighouse, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing