We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as expected!”
Review of The Casa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighouse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Casa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Just returned from an overnight stay at the casa hotel having been to a family wedding.
Myself, my husband and parents decided to check in early at the hotel ready for the evening wedding reception. The weather was glorious and having seen pictures of the
hotel on their website we thought it would be a good idea to have lunch,
and drinks over looking the
stunning lake, then return to our
rooms to freshen Up and change for
the party.
On arrival the hotel does not look appealing, it really needs some
fresh paint to freshen up it's look. The place was very busy with
families, couples and groups of friends, which I suppose is a good sign. We sat down by the lake side
which really does look beautiful and
had lunch. Which was very nice.
(cannot fault the food). Simple pub food what you expect, quite
reasonable too.
Around tea time we went to check into our rooms, which is done with the man in charge behind the bar, at the bar! He is quite rude too!! I
checked the price of the room with
him as we were led to believe it
was £50 Inc breakfast. (rooms had
been pre booked by the bride and
groom). I was then told I could only
have a superior room at £60, and I got a lake side view!! Not too pleased, but we just paid it!
This was also given to my sister who was next door to us. On arriving into our rooms we were both equally shocked to find we
couldnt even see the lake, just a
shed. We were also only given 1 bath towel in each room and to top
it off, neither of the rooms had hot
water!!
Luckily my parents room at £50 was just above us, had had hot water
and full view of the lake!!
They really should revise the
prices of these rooms. we didn't
expect a lot for £25 per person, but
warm water and a towel is not a lot
to ask for. Having just 45 minutes
to get ready (there was 6 of us to
shower) We were told an emergency plumber would be called
as they don't have one on site. All
the lady could say was "yeah, so we don't know how long it will be". Not
impressed, I decided to tell her we
were not happy with a few things.
We did get £20 back between us.
The party was great, good food, great atmosphere and decorated
very nice for a wedding. Bar staff a
little forgetful on your orders so
check what you are given. Also
expect a plastic glass, as they ran
out of glasses a few times!!
Don't go by the pictures on the
website for this hotel. The rooms
are really not as cozy as they look.
Just to finish off..... our rooms still had no hot water the following morning, I do hope they find that plumber!!
Nice as a pub throughout the day to enjoy the weather and relax.
They do need more staff to be on the ball, but I suppose many places do.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holsrus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stopped here on a Saturday night. Was impressed fro check in to leaving. On arrival we checked in at the bar where all the staff are very friendly. The bar and restaurant are great, clean and modern.
Room are clean cosy and have usual Tv tea making facilities and excellent value for money.
Restaurant is great, food they serve on hot rock is amazing, well worth visit.
Breakfast was great as well

Would definatley stay again and suggest to others. It is perfect whatever group u are with, family friends partners.

Lovely smoking area as well which has great view of lake.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolvesfc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

On arrival, there was no reception, had to wait for the bar man to check us in, because we had booked through late rooms, they didnt have confirmation of our booking..so therefore the superior room we had booked was not available, we were upgraded to the £80 per night Premier room, 4 poster bed, 'Romeo and Juliet' balcony...The room was tiny, the balcony actually overlooked the car park ramp (so the cars could see into the room if you sat on the bed!), the 4 poster bed is pused into a tiny space, so had to climb into bed from the bottom!! Extremely bad lighting, constant noise from the traffic at the front, had to boil the kettle on the floor as no socket near the dresser, but we made the most of it, meal was nice...reasonable priced, but not a lot of options on the menu, staff were a little ignorant, we were waiting for a table for 25mins, even though there were tables ready, bar prices were steep, back at the room..the balcony light stayed on until the early hours, which attracted all sorts of creatures, couldnt have the doors open once dark, killed 8 spiders (big ones) in the space of 15 minutes...not good. Breakfast was burnt to a crisp and was nearly cold, overall, dont think i'll ever go again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faye_wrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

What a disappointment...small dirty room (cobwebs, dirty carpet, dirty bathroom, spiders!) and terribly uncomfortable bed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and would never stay there again. Staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elsibells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Our second visit to this hotel, the food is amazing! I would recommend something from the "on the rock" menu section - your meat/fish is served to you on a hot volcanic rock so you can cook it yourself as you like it. I had the tuna, hubby had the steak, they were equally lovely, and the service is superb!!!
Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c1airebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Had a great relaxing time at the casa. stayed for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time. would deffinatley go back food great, large portions and great value for money. lovely rooms with flat screen tv's and a lake view.
Friendly staff and generally excellent service all round.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigcatbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighouse hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
0.6 mi away
Lane Head Hotel
Lane Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Brighouse
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Brighouse
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elder Lea House
Elder Lea House
#3 of 5 in Brighouse
58 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
#2 of 5 in Brighouse
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casa Hotel

Address: 281 Elland Road, Brighouse HD6 2RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range: $66 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Casa Hotel Brighouse, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing