We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”
Review of Elder Lea House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elder Lea House
Ranked #3 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our second visit, and even better than before! Superb welcome from David and Dawn, who couldn't do enough for us. Locally-sourced produce and home-made compotes and jams for the best breakfast ever. A superbly comfortable room, newly redecorated in tastefully neutral shades, with a stunning double wash-basin in the bathroom. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffsaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for putting the last review in its true place especially with the difficulty we are having getting Trip Advisor to remove the last untrue and misleading review.
It is good to know that there are caring honest guests who appreciate the effort we put in and are prepared to say so
So again our thanks and we very much look forward to seeing you for your third visit
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very clean throughout, and a very comfortable bed, wifi extremley slow,
owner a little eccentric, just after we arrived (30 mins early)
he told us 3 times that we had arrived earlier than we had said
and that he was only just ready for us, to which we replied on all 3 occasions
that it had not been expected to arrive early, despite not having far to travel
but thought we would just call on the off chance then we could go try the
local for some lunch, which he called and mentioned to them that we were
on our way, to which we were grateful.
although we understood why they had to ask us about breakfast for the next morning,
it all felt a little pressured, maybe they could try leaving a form to fill in with the registration form
then you would feel less pressured.
Our room was supposed to be a suite, but the seating area left a lot to be desired,
2 LLoyd Loom chairs and a small table, (according to the pictures on late rooms the suite
had a brown leather settee and 2 chairs) but they were not in the suite we had, and the television
was placed very low down, and would be more comfortable to watch if it was raised a little more. There was no air conditioning and the room was quite warm, but when the window was open you could hear the motorway, so we had to close the window before we could go to sleep.

Although this B&B had a 5 star rating we felt it was a little over priced, and probably appealed
more to the older person, hence the decanter of sherry (which we never touched).
This review is how we felt about our stay at Elder Lea House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrandory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

This review was rejected by Laterooms with whom the guest booked as it contained several untruths so the guest is trying it on with TA.
Eg. The guest mistook a lounge photo of brown leather chairs to be part of his mini-suite when the room photo ( Peach Room) shows Lloyd loom chairs ! ( see our photos on LRooms of the lounge and his room !!!)
Since there are other untruths in this review Trip Advisor has been asked to remove it as it contains untruths which give a totally false impression of ourselves and the room he booked amongst other things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Hotel is fantastic. We were welcomed by David and as we had no plans made for our evening meal, He recommended the Clough Inn which was close by. The food there was excellent and very reasonably priced.
Our room was the "Blueberry Room" It was very clean and beautifully decorated. The entire hotel was filled with interesting curios which added to the charm.
Davids wife Dawn was also lovely and we had a wonderful chat prior to leaving for our meal.
The Hotels proximity to the M62 is not an issue, in face we found it a complete bonus. We had our bedroom window open all night due to the heat and were not disturbed by it once.

The breakfast at the hotel is amazing. Fresh mixed fruits with yoghurt, a full breakfast plus toast and preserves with Juice and tea or coffee. The breakfast menu is varied and you can choose a lighter or vegetarian option.

The Hotel Garden is Beautiful and alot of care is obviously taken in its upkeep.

We were made to feel more like family than guests by both David and Dawn and nothing was too much trouble for them.

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. We shall certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: The hotel has three rooms all of which are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xanthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

May we thank you for leaving such a great and honest review
We really appreciate you taking the time to do so and we look forward to seeing you again
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

the guest house is very nice it has beautiful gardens has pleasantly decorated rooms a fabulous bathroom (we stayed in the peach room) and serves a very nice breakfast .the negatives are the proximity to the m62 (although it didnt disturb our sleep) payment only in cash as there is no cashpoints near and when we arrived after a very tiring journey we hadnt put our foot across the doorstep before david was demanding to know what we wanted for breakfast ! where a "would you like a cup of tea" would have been nicer i also thought £85 a night was overpriced..the clough house pub up the road was a very good recomendation very nice food and freindly staff and if you walk back to the b&b you must stop off at the other pub on the way excellent ales a lovely old fashioned freindly atmosphere and a very nice and welcoming landlord and landlady

Room Tip: the peach room has a fab bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank throb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

We appreciate the nice coments but are disappointed with the wrong?misleading ones
such as the M62 comment , no cash machine -when one is 3 minutes away !! etc etc
Guests advised payment in advance and offered complimentary drinks on arrival-refused in this case as wanted to rest.
"Demand" -breakfast-blatent untruth as we only ask if any special breakfast requests as we wil go out and get them if we do not have them in !
£85 expensive ??? For a suite in 5 Star Gold Award accomodation !!!!Could have booked a cheaper room and not drunk all the complimentery sherry , tea,coffee,biscuits etc etc !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Myself and a colleague booked this guest house as we needed 'last minute' place to stay via laterooms. We arrived after 9pm and and were immediately informed that we had to vacate our room by 10am the next day or pay an extra charge.

The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean.

Breakfast was very very good with a an excellent choice and on par with larger hotels.

The only real niggles were the proprietor who seemed incredibly 'nosey' and we felt intruded upon on several occasions. Maybe this is just a genuine interest in his guests but none the less it made you want to lock your bedroom door and place a chair against the lock!

Finally you can only pay CASH when booking via the internet and no credit/debit cards are taken.....certainly not the best arrangement and one that suits the hotel rather than the customer.

Overall, a nice place to stay but probably would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrchrisjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Srangest and funniest review ever !
The guests were told about the late check out charge( to cover wages of housekeeper staying on) in the confirmation email we sent them , They themselves requested it on arrival! Despite this they stayed well beyond the late check out time !

Our only "noseyness" was to offer complementary coffee and biscuits at 11.30am -obiviously not appreciated.

Guests are always advised BEFORE ARRIVAL of check out times and payment means but they still chose to come- saying our brilliant reviews made it worth it !
(laterooms take nearly 18% comission from us- making a credit card facility of another +3% - total 21% impossible for a small place like us)

Sadly we are pleased they will not be returning as our guests normally appreciate the extra mile we go to help them - even in this case telephoning the local inn and organising a meal for them,well after the inn had stopped serving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was travelling to Brighouse on business and stumbled across this gem of a B&B whilst searching on the internet for accommodation. I stay away a lot and I can safely say that David and Dawn have the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The B&B itself, is absolutely beautiful with well appointed rooms and every luxury you could possibly want. David and Dawn are excetionally warm and welcoming people and frankly, nothing is too much trouble. My room was amazing: Large, with a very comfortable bed, really clean, delicious handmade biscuits, fluffy towels, everything I could ever need! Breakfast was absolutely delicious with a wide variety of fruits, croissants, cereals and a choice of hot dishes, freshly cooked to order. David recommended I go to a local pub for dinner, though they do provide a selection of food for dinner if required. The recommended hostelry was only a 5 minute walk away and had an excellent menu with friendly staff and again, nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend the lovely Elder Lea House to anyone who has the opportunity and will certainly stay there again when I am in the North. It really does offer absolutely every comfort and luxury you could imagine. Thank you David and Dawn (and the boys) for a wonderful stay and see you soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emster040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you from us both for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review,it really is appreciated.
It was good meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here with my Boyfriend on the last weekend in July for a wedding reception we were attending. We were welcomed and shown to our room, which was lovely. It was neat, tidy and very clean. We then got a lovely surprise when they brought some drinks up to our room as it had been a very hot and long day for us - thank you!

It was a very comfortable nights sleep and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.

Anyone looking to stay in this area must stay here! The hosts were lovely and made us both feel so welcome. My boyfriend will be back when he has to stay for business.

Thank you both for such an enjoyable stay :-)

Kate & Luke

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighouse hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Brighouse
346 reviews
3 mi away
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
#2 of 5 in Brighouse
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lane Head Hotel
Lane Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Brighouse
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder Lea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder Lea House

Address: Clough Lane | Rastrick, Brighouse HD6 3QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range: $101 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elder Lea House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elder Lea House offers quality 5 Star Gold Award (VB) at reasonable prices,close to the M62,Huddersfield,Halifax,Bradford ,Leeds etc Set in award winning gardens with luxury en-suite rooms,guest lounge,free wi-fi and meals graded as excellent by the Tourism Inspector Free breakfast which has a Visit England Award All cards taken ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elder Lea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder Lea House Brighouse, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing