We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All In The Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It's All In The Detail”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

With fine food, excellent service and great location what else could you say? The attention to detail is what makes the difference, little added value items on the table and the way food is presented can show how much the management respect their customers. This is how it should be done, thanks for a really good experience. We paid slightly more than normal but it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    69
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
36
181
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My boyfriend (now Fiance) had booked us in to the Black Horse Inn (since we had our first date here 3 years ago) as a surprise where he proposed later that evening after dinner by the log fire in the bar. We stayed in an upstairs room called the Gold Room. Lovely and cosy, comfy bed, decent size room and bathroom. My only suggestion is the need for a full length mirror in the room.

We had not booked a table for dinner but the staff kindly agreed to squeeze us in even though they were fully booked. We enjoyed some delicious food and one of the nicest soups I have ever had.

After the meal, the group in the restaurant were quite rowdy and some of the other guests were also getting agitated by this, so we moved back to the bar next to the log fire which was quiet where we had champagne cocktails. Obviously being over the moon, I was showing everyone I met my ring and I think the staff became quite bored of this!! When we checked out the following morning I told the lady at reception that he proposed and she said "yes, so I heard".....anyway that's no big deal at all but just wish they had done something or made a gesture so I could say that I was more than happy with everything about the Black Horse Inn, unfortunately just something was missing for me in terms of the service because this is a place I will remember forever.

Breakfast was of average standard, small portion and I had to go into the kitchen to find a waitress to get some brown sauce.

There is no doubt we will return to the Black Horse Inn for anniversaries in the years to come to enjoy their wonderful food and the gold room, I just wish I felt that I couldn't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Location is just off motorway so easy to get to but not in a particularly pretty village, however who needs to go out with the excellent food and service they provide! The staff couldn't do enough, food was Devine (and I never gush about food), room was beautiful and bed probably the best I've ever slept in. We were offered Buck's Fizz with breakfast! Lovely courtyard which I just need to revisit in the sunshine to enjoy a lovely cold glass of delicious wine from their extensive list! Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 443NikkiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydiaRussell, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We do try and order sunny days so our guests can enjoy the courtyard but we don't always get them. I do hope we see you back very soon to enjoy a drink in the courtyard.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the black horse last Wednesday on our way to a short break on a barge!! The hotel was really friendly the food and service were top class and we were able to take our small dog with us . it was a good stay and we would stay again. The only downside was that the room although very nice was very small as was the shower room. I think the rooms in the main building were bigger so try to avoid the courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydiaRussell, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you fro your kind review. As I am sure you can appreciate with the buildings being 17th century cottages all the rooms are different shapes and sizes, so some bathrooms are smaller than others. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We suggested this venue for dinner with close family friends having described our earlier experiences. We were not disappointed as the evening lived up to our billing. Even though we chose the early menu,the quality of the food,the excellent friendly and efficient service was well up to the standard we have come to expect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydiaRussell, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves, and the early bird menu was to your liking. Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently, it was suggested to us by friends who live in the area but who haven't actually stayed there. Our room was warm and comfortable but the bathroom was about as small as it is possible to be, larger guests may have had trouble in there. The bath wasn't draining properly meaning that while having a shower you were standing in scummy water which left the surface very slippery. We only had breakfast there, which was adequate rather than inspired.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are across a courtyard from the main building. I imagine this could get very busy in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydiaRussell, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
I apologize that you found the bathroom too small, and that the bath wasn't draining properly. Had we been made aware of the drainage issue we would of sorted this out as soon as possible.

I am glad overall you did enjoy your stay, and thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardingly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The food and atmosphere here were excellent. Service exceptional also. We all had different starters, mains and desserts all of which were beautifully presented and were absolutely delicious. We have dined at Le Manoir, The Fat Duck and many other fine restaurants and the Black Horse rates right up there with them, except at a fraction of the price. We cannot wait until our next visit. Congratulations to the Chef!3

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheridan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydiaRussell, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Lovely to talk to you on Sunday. Richard (the head chef) thanks you for your very kind comments about the food!!
I am really glad you enjoyed the meal so much and the service was to your liking. Look forward to you coming back and dining with us in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
3.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
534 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
The Black Horse Inn Brighouse, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing