We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dn110dw
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“excellent hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Attended a workmates birthday party that he had booked here and as it was a bit too far to travel we decided to book a room here . Glad we did because when I phoned to book and told the lady we were Best Western card holders we got a free upgrade ,by the way the card is free and you collect points and receive freebies here and abroad .
There was a slight mix up on check in with the room and this was quickly resolved we got to see two rooms and both were clean and comfortable and well decorated to a high standard.
Food at the buffet was plentiful and tasty my wife says although I missed out but I didn't miss the breakfast next morning , all I can say about this is ten out of ten for service quality and choice .

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mikmakmanuspants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
23rd January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent report on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and the food sampled.

To get 10 out of 10 is great!

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    95
    44
    18
    18
See reviews for
110
129
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The food in the restaurant was lovely but the room was awful !! So the free room offer was alittle floored ! Ended up paying 60 for a migraine ! The bed was the most uncomefortable bed I have ever sat on never mind slept on , it was so hard ! I was told nobody else has ever complained , so Im surprised there's another terrible review on here for room 23 !!! It honestly felt like there was no mattress ! I woke up with a migraine , was sick , and couldn't eat breakfast , but still had to pay the £10 for breakfast :-(
There was no shower and the air conditioning system didn't work and the jacuzzi bath didn't work. We usually have our works Christmas do here , and all stay over , but I think it's time for a change :-( the receptionist told it was part of new mattress testing !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
17th January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your latest review on Trip Advisor.

Having replied to your initial email sent to the hotel to your satisfaction I can only once again thank you for your constructive comments.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A party of 19 of us all for the very first time decided to eat out on Xmas Day at the Hotel and we all agreed that it was the best decision we had made to eat here.
From the moment we arrived to the time that we left we were looked after by the very attentive and friendly staff and did not want for anything,the atmosphere was great and the food was excellent,hot,plentiful and very tasty.
Rogerthorpe Manor goes down in the address book for a further visit,there is no question about it.
We did not stay overnight,it was just for the meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
13th January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review of you and your friends Christmas Lunch.

We are delighted that you choose us initially and trust that you will be returning next year!.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of your Facebook offer and booked to stay with you for a post Christmas break. Doreen booked us in over the phone and she was very attentive to our requirements. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and we loved the Christmas touch with the lights, especially the Christmas pudding and reindeer on the roof. Unfortunately our welcome was very robotic and the amount of information given to us in the 2 seconds whilst passing us a door card was so script read and very impersonal it took me by surprise. ( we booked in at 2.20pm on Saturday 4th January) We found our way to our room which was upstairs. The room looked stunningly beautiful. it was the bridal suite room 14. It was so nice and even had a spa bath. The room was warm and cosy the seating area was comfy and the whole room was spotlessly clean. The mattress was too hard on the bed. We felt the bed needed more pillows but that's just our opinion. We had a delicious meal in the pub in fact I'd go as far as saying it was one of the nicest pub meals I've had. The service was great and we were made to feel part of the place. Great atmosphere and good prices. We were very disappointed that our stay was rudely interrupted first thing in the morning by the house keeping staff opening and closing doors and talking very loudly outside our room at 7am about how many rooms they had to do that day. No peaceful lay in for us I'd even but the shhh I'm sleeping sign on the door. The room next to us had children and I could hear them but that's expected but the noise from the house keeping team was too much we got up and had breakfast at 8am !! Not our aimed for 9.30. The lady who served us breakfast was lovely she was full of smiles and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice. Overall we really enjoyed our stay although we didn't get the lazy morning we had hoped for....

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
08th January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and review at the Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and there are lots of positive points. The areas in where we have fallen short will be addressed and we thank you for pointing these out to us.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was our first xmas party at rogerthorpe and I was a little dubious as its in the middle of no-where and no-where to party afterwards, but as e stayed at the hotel the bar was open to us residents after the party finished. The food was outstanding, very generous portions, excellent service, really enjoyed the disco to. Would definitely recommend Rogerthorpe. The rooms are also very nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
18th December 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas Party Night experience with us; the feedback is great for other who are thinking about booking our hotel or indeed have booked and want that honest opinion.

I appreciate the time taken to write the great review.

Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent a night here for a christmas party. The food was missable for our Christmas meal, but the breakfast was very good. The room - we were in 23 and we were disappointed to find no shower, but we had a jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately this didn't work, so disappointment again. The decor was very good and spacious enough for a one night stay. The bed was very hard. Not sure I would stay again, especially as it is a best western, not what I would have expected.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
18th December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

We always appreciate the time taken to review the hotel and whilst we are always delighted with great reports when we get constrictive comments these are used in our weekly manager’s meetings s a way of improving our overall service.

The Bathrooms have been scheduled for 2014 where we refurbish them and add showers instead of Baths, each room is different in the hotel in terms of some have showers, no baths, some showers and no baths. We have these to ensure we accommodate a specific request from the guests.

Our feedback for the Festive Food served at the party’s have all been positive and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal but see that Breakfast was t the standard desired.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badsworth
1.8 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
6.6 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
3.9 mi away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Address: Thorpe Lane | Pontefract, Badsworth, Pontefract WF9 1AB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract > Badsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 400 years ago the Award Winning Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character. Whether you are dining in the 1610 Steak Restaurant or our own onsite Jacobean Pub you can be assured that you'll feel like you never left home, we also offer Afternoon Tea in our Oak Room. We are ideally located in the quiet countryside away from the bright city lights and the hustle and bustle yet close enough to major road links such as the M62 and A1 for ease of access We offer complimentary Car Parking, Fast and reliable Hi Speed Wi-Fi and an exclusive residents only Lounge Bar. All of our bedrooms have fully interactive 32" TV's and comfortable memory foam mattresses and the luxury items that you associate with a BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Badsworth
Badsworth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing