We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

the hotel is warm, welcoming with plenty of character and yet all rooms have all mod cons required. The 1610 restuarant in the hotel is superb whilst the adjoining Jacobeon pub serves up decent pub grub although I felt the Sunday Carvery, although plentiful, was of poor quality

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike160763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive report on the hotel and the 1610 Steak Restaurant. The hotel appears to go from strength to strength and comments such as your show this.

We serve over 270 people each and every week for the Sunday Carvery within the Jacobean Pub so hopefully again this area we are serving a great product, we will however look at improving this.

Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 464 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend on a deal that is currently being run, having got married here a few years ago. Room was spotlessly clean and large in size, if not a little cold!!!! However that may have been my working of the controls after one too many wines. The food is genuinely to die for (in a good way) and proper portion sizes, it's also more than reasonable in price. The athompshere is always good and staff too, particularly MO who's service is impeccable and a real credit to the hotel. Would I go again yes, would I recommend yes.............was it perfect well it was a shame bubble bath didn't work, but didn't say anything so can not comment on how it was dealt. So wish this hotel had some additional facilities like a pool or gym, would save me going further a field on other occasions.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent positive report regarding your stay at our hotel. We believe the staff and our food served is one of our many great assets to the hotel.

We will check on the Spa Bath and ensure this is corrected.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

5 of us went to Rogerthorpe Manor for christmas day lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it.The food was very good and the service was excellent.We have been before for christmas lunch and enjoyed it.Whenever we have been for meals we have enjoyed them.This time they were excellent as one of our party wanted changes to the menu and they were very obliging and did this

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

08th January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your lunch with the hotel.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I atttended a British Legion annual lunch at Rogerthorpe this week and never having visited before I was impressed with this 400 years old mansion house as a venue for this type of event.
The food was excellent and served with precision by the young waiters and waitresses. I also liked the seating of round tables for ten with plenty of room between. It was nice to eat in a retaurant where all the courses were served hot. Look forward to visiting again in the near future. .

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

13th December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor, your complimentary comments about the 400 years old Manor and the quality of the food served is very much appreciated.

We take all comments very important and the great feedback from you is very kind.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday 8th December for our works christmas party.
From start to finish we found everything to be excellent.The checking in was fast and efficient
the room was lovely and the bathroom spotless and modern.We had a good size flat screen tv
with loads of channels and plenty of tea and coffee.The Christmas party was well organised and
the food was of good quality and served hot.The disco was a great mix of music to suit all ages.There were 27 people in our party and everyone of them commented on how good the evening was. We would not hesitate to recommend the Rogerthorpe Manor for its accommodation, food and service.It is a credit to the owners and staff.Tracy and David.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveboy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

13th December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor, we very much appreciate the great feedback. We are delighted that you and your group enjoyed your Christmas Party Night and your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your continued business...

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

In a lovely location and served a reasonable Christmas Lunch. But - the tables were cluttered in decorations, no one collected the debris from the crackers but when it came to clearing the courses they we obviously well trained and efficient, but glasses were collected before people had finished with them, and plates removed. The plate disappeared as they asked, 'are you finished.' Since some of our party were deaf .....
Yorkshire pudding with Christmas dinner was a first! And the stuffing was well under cooked, not the way we would have expected. As with many establishments we had to continually ask for extra gravy and custard. And what happened to the roast turnip and the heap of 'pigs in blankets'?
Cluttered decorations and a slab of soggy stuffing does not turn an ordinary lunch into a Christmas dinner with all the trimmings. I was relieved that I had been invited as a guest and did not have to foot the bill otherwise I would have felt cheated. It is a shame when much of the humour around the table is inspired by the poor quality of the whole experience. I know from experience they can do better, but this was not a good way to promote their Christmas menu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellytbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

12th December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post on trip advisor, after reading this i find it difficult to work out whether you dined in the Jacobean Pub or our Ballrooms. Your constructive comments are very much appreciated and I take a lot of the positives that you posted about your dining experience. Your comments will be discussed at the next Managers meeting.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Friday night 7 Dec ,arrived 6.30 for our works party the car park looked full but the parking attendant advised me to park up round the back of the hotel which had plenty of spaces available. Made my way to reception , checked in was quick and the hotel staff very professional and polite. The room had flat screen tv on the wall,tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and ensuite. I had to adjust the air conditioning unit in room it was extremely warm upon arrival . Breakfast was buffet style very nice indeed with plenty of good quality items to choose from . Overall a very pleasant stay .I would recommend the roger Thorpe manor to family and friends

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorke_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

12th December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We read all comments and use them to continually improve the hotel with both staff performance and overall quality.

The time taken to send the glowing report is much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badsworth
1.8 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
1,006 reviews
6.6 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
987 reviews
3.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
572 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
915 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Address: Thorpe Lane | Pontefract, Badsworth, Pontefract WF9 1AB, England (Formerly Best Western Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract > Badsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
Price Range: $97 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 400 years ago the Award Winning Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character. Whether you are dining in the 1610 Steak Restaurant or our own onsite Jacobean Pub you can be assured that you'll feel like you never left home, we also offer Afternoon Tea in our Jacobean Pub. We are ideally located in the quiet countryside away from the bright city lights and the hustle and bustle yet close enough to major road links such as the M62 and A1 for ease of access We offer complimentary Car Parking, Fast and reliable Hi Speed Wi-Fi and an exclusive residents only Lounge Bar. All of our bedrooms have fully interactive 32" TV's and comfortable memory foam mattresses and the luxury items that you associate with a BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Badsworth
Badsworth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing