We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent party and accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent party and accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday 8th December for our works christmas party.
From start to finish we found everything to be excellent.The checking in was fast and efficient
the room was lovely and the bathroom spotless and modern.We had a good size flat screen tv
with loads of channels and plenty of tea and coffee.The Christmas party was well organised and
the food was of good quality and served hot.The disco was a great mix of music to suit all ages.There were 27 people in our party and everyone of them commented on how good the evening was. We would not hesitate to recommend the Rogerthorpe Manor for its accommodation, food and service.It is a credit to the owners and staff.Tracy and David.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveboy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
13th December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor, we very much appreciate the great feedback. We are delighted that you and your group enjoyed your Christmas Party Night and your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your continued business...

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    96
    44
    18
    18
See reviews for
110
129
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

In a lovely location and served a reasonable Christmas Lunch. But - the tables were cluttered in decorations, no one collected the debris from the crackers but when it came to clearing the courses they we obviously well trained and efficient, but glasses were collected before people had finished with them, and plates removed. The plate disappeared as they asked, 'are you finished.' Since some of our party were deaf .....
Yorkshire pudding with Christmas dinner was a first! And the stuffing was well under cooked, not the way we would have expected. As with many establishments we had to continually ask for extra gravy and custard. And what happened to the roast turnip and the heap of 'pigs in blankets'?
Cluttered decorations and a slab of soggy stuffing does not turn an ordinary lunch into a Christmas dinner with all the trimmings. I was relieved that I had been invited as a guest and did not have to foot the bill otherwise I would have felt cheated. It is a shame when much of the humour around the table is inspired by the poor quality of the whole experience. I know from experience they can do better, but this was not a good way to promote their Christmas menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellytbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
12th December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post on trip advisor, after reading this i find it difficult to work out whether you dined in the Jacobean Pub or our Ballrooms. Your constructive comments are very much appreciated and I take a lot of the positives that you posted about your dining experience. Your comments will be discussed at the next Managers meeting.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Friday night 7 Dec ,arrived 6.30 for our works party the car park looked full but the parking attendant advised me to park up round the back of the hotel which had plenty of spaces available. Made my way to reception , checked in was quick and the hotel staff very professional and polite. The room had flat screen tv on the wall,tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and ensuite. I had to adjust the air conditioning unit in room it was extremely warm upon arrival . Breakfast was buffet style very nice indeed with plenty of good quality items to choose from . Overall a very pleasant stay .I would recommend the roger Thorpe manor to family and friends

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorke_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
12th December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We read all comments and use them to continually improve the hotel with both staff performance and overall quality.

The time taken to send the glowing report is much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We married at the manor on 17th November and the whole experience from booking right up to the wedding day was amazing. Our day went so perfect the clock had struck 1am and I didn't even notice. Venue, food, service, quality.....fantastic. My husband and I could not find one fault with any of it. Master of ceremonies adapted to our last minute changes, no problems and smoothly into our evening do. The room set up was just as I would have done had I been able to dress it.....we were too busy enjoying it! We upgraded our drinks package to free flowing and I have to say our glasses were never empty. I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful venue to anyone wanting something special...thank you! Mr and Mrs Greaves xx

Room Tip: Bridal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
01st December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your open and honest review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that your day went exactly how you had both planned it. We work very hard to ensure each and every wedding at the Manor is very special and to the specific requirements of the Bride and Groom.

Thank you for your glowing report!!

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel. The first was during the summer Prom/wedding season so it was a bit busy, but this visit was very pleasant and peaceful. The hotel is in a lovely location away from the bustle of the motorways which criss cross the nearby towns. Our room on each occasion was very nicely decorated, imaginatively furnished and laid out, clean and very comfortable, with plentiful supplies of tea and coffee. The bathrooms were beautifully clean and well equipped. Plenty of selection at breakfast with the hot food nicely cooked. The fruit 'kebabs' were an excellent idea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
12th November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent post on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay once again; we do tend to get repeat customers once they have found us. I note the Fruit Kebabs comment also, that was my idea!

Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Salmon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

firstly the staff were a credit to the place we had nothing but the best friendly assistance throughout our stay, no matter the request. On to the general hotel: it seems to have a reputation of quality but that seems to be more legacy than anything else. Its dated, without doubt, its not really that close to anywhere i'm pretty sure that by their own standards they are achieving their targets but there isn't much else as a wedding venue in this area, but its not really contemporary. I really want to give 4 blobs but i just can't, you wont be disappointed at the rogerthorpe but it probably wont be a lifelong stay memory either. to qualify the title, the rooms we were in (during summer for dinner) were really dark and needed some more exposure to the outside light

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
29th October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent post on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted by your comments regarding the staff at the hotel; they work very hard in ensuring that you have a memorable stay.

We have performed over 150 Weddings this year and I think that by any hotels standards that is exceptional especially as locally there are several hotels of excellent quality.

We appreciate all comments both positive and constructive.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

me and my new husband would like to say a big thankyou to all the staff for making our wedding day on 23rd september amazing and perfect. we are so glad we made the choice to have it here from the moment we got up to the moment we went to bed everything ran smoothly the food was first class all our guests enjoyed it, If we could do it all over again we would BUT would not change a thing. the only thing that was disapointing was it had to end :-( . so all you future brides and grooms if this is your choice of venue you will NOT BE disapointed xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
29th October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted by your comments and thank you for taking the time to comment on your special day held at the Manor.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badsworth
1.8 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
6.6 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
3.9 mi away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Address: Thorpe Lane | Pontefract, Badsworth, Pontefract WF9 1AB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract > Badsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 400 years ago the Award Winning Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character. Whether you are dining in the 1610 Steak Restaurant or our own onsite Jacobean Pub you can be assured that you'll feel like you never left home, we also offer Afternoon Tea in our Oak Room. We are ideally located in the quiet countryside away from the bright city lights and the hustle and bustle yet close enough to major road links such as the M62 and A1 for ease of access We offer complimentary Car Parking, Fast and reliable Hi Speed Wi-Fi and an exclusive residents only Lounge Bar. All of our bedrooms have fully interactive 32" TV's and comfortable memory foam mattresses and the luxury items that you associate with a BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Badsworth
Badsworth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing