We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location!”
Review of Podere Benintendi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Podere Benintendi
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Podere Benintendi is greatly located on a Tuscan hill with panoramic view. The family that runs the place lives on the premises and is very friendly and hospitable. They offer five rooms and some apartments. We stayed in the Dante room, spacious, clean and equipped with a very silent and comfortable airco and insect screens on the windows. Very good beds too and very quiet environment. Everything is well kept here, both inside and outside. The rooms have access to a communal, fully equipped kitchen, that allows for cooking your own meals if you want. But you can also ask the hostess in the morning to cook a home made dinner, which we did twice and is was delicious! Great food (vegetables and herbs from their own garden) for a very reasonable price (3 courses for 22 euro!) accompanied by great local wine. Outside there is a swimming pool and garden with ample seating and tables. I can't think of anything negative here. It is also ideally located to explore Tuscany. San Gimignano is less than half an hour away by car and we also drove to Siena and Volterra from here. Other guests told us they visited the Chianti region and even Pisa, Lucca and Florence. The old part of Certaldo is also charming and there is a train station where you can take the train to Florence, Siena, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christel2012188669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Podere Benintendi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 99 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

Amazing location and extremely nice people! The view from every corner is absolutely breath-taking! We had a nice room wiht a large double bed and it was a real joy to wake up in the moring and look at the beautiful view from our windows. The hosts were very helpful reagrding our daily trips to the surrounding hills and we had also enjoyed an exellent tuscan dinner prepared at the location. We hope to be back soon!




Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Even though we spontaneoulsy changed the date we would come, it caused no problem. We weren't lucky with the weather, but still found this house right on top of a hill very beautiful. The 360° view around the house is amazing, the rooms spacious and clean, the reception very friendly. Given all the comfort, it's reasonably priced, a large breakfast included. I don't think we where there for the last time ;)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me_inparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have been in benintendi for 2 nights, the room was big clean and fit for our needs, also there was a kitchen that we used for our convinence. We really enjoy the view and the relaxation of the place. If you are looking for a place to relax this is the place. The breakfast is very good and tasty with quite a lot of food variety. There is also an option to ask for dinner only by preorder in the morning time and we tried it, it was fabulous , there were 4 courses each one of them was very good.
One thing that I think could be better is adding few basic food components like tea and sugar to the room kitchen.
To summarize our vacation on the benintendi it is most recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Each window you open at the Benintendi Podere frames your dream of what Italy should look like. In the foreground you see the hills,farms and trees. In the distance you can see the hill towns. We have been to Italy more than 15 times. I know what I'm talking about. They have a wine shop on the grounds. You can use the big kitchen to make your own food. The eggs for breakfast are a yellow generally reserved for sunshine. They have a great pool-it's just beautiful. The little town of Certaldo has a great restaurant called Il Castello-The batter dipped vegetables can make you crazy. This place is something very special. GO!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms or on line ask for the fronts
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stimeysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

What a wonderful place to experience all of Tuscany's charms!
A warm welcome greets you when you arrive. Everything you could need is explained and offered. The rooms and views are spectacular from every direction you look. The gardens are simple, neat and well tended. Hedges of Rosemary surround the property and everywhere you wander a different fragrance envelopes your senses.
We could not have found a more perfect place to have the time that we had in Tuscany!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The best part of the hotel is the location. It is centrally located to San Gimignano, Siena, Pisa, Chianti and Florence. Our host spoke only a little English, but overall anticipated our needs well. We stayed in Botticelli room which was a good size, but lacked A/C unless for an additional small fee. Given the unusual heat this summer, our host gave us free a/c after we asked for the A/C to be turned on after trying it without for the night. The location of the inn is on a hill and there are wonderful views of Certaldo Alto (often missed by the tourists, lovely L'Antica restaurant) and in the distance 13 km away is San Gimignano. Breakfasts were typical European: meats cheeses breads Nutella cereal and juice. We cooked for ourselves one night buying food from the local Co-Op. We also had an amazing meal cooked by our host for a reasonable price. In the basement there are numerous local wines and snacks for sale at a reasonable price. Laundry is also available on site and clothes hangers to hang to dry outside which was nice to have. We also loved the hosts' dog, Navi. She's a beggar, but she's very friendly. Also, beautiful amazing swimming pool - perfect to watch the Tuscan sunset. The cost of cannot be beat. We stayed for a full week for less than 100 dollars per night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chevyole16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certaldo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albergo Il Castello
Albergo Il Castello
#3 of 5 in Certaldo
86 reviews
8.0 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Tavolese
Hotel Villa Tavolese
#1 of 1 in Marcialla
45 reviews
10.9 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
936 reviews
1.2 mi away
Il Pianigiano
Il Pianigiano
#3 of 16 in Certaldo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Benintendi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Benintendi

Address: Via Montebello Murate 78, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Certaldo
Price Range: $83 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Podere Benintendi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The construction rises on a hill, from here we can enjoy a splendid view on those nearby valleys. The house has been recently restaured and divided into 5 apartments and 5 rooms. Apartments and rooms look out on the garden, where we can admire different varieties of plants and flowers. On the surrounding space, you can find many relax areas, such as the characteristic "Concimaia", a very panoramic place endowed with pavilion, table, chairs and a romantic swing. In the west, close to the construction, we can find a little natural lake, habitat of ducks and frogs, whose croaking amplifies the feeling of close contact with nature. For nature and good form's lovers, Podere Benintendi offers the opportunity of walking and training in the open air. The structure is endowed with a very big swimmingpool (4,5x17 m). Guests can enter into the pool through a roman flight of steps that dips softly into the water. Here you can spend pleasant instants steeped in relax and welfare. Close to the pool, under the wonderful terrace made up of stones, is the characteristic "Enoteca" in rustic style, where you can buy oil of our production. Adjoining to the Entoteca, you can find the gymnasium, that guests can use free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Podere Benintendi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Benintendi Certaldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing