We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't say enough good things about our experience!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Certaldo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Russian first
Any
English first
Lauren K
Montauk, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about our experience!”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

If you are going to Florence or the Tuscany region, you should stay at Casa Pietraia. Don't bother researching any further because you have just found the best of the best if you are looking for an authentic Tuscan experience! The villa is clean and spacious while offering a view that compares to no other. Matteo helped us plan our perfect Tuscan vacation. He recommended towns to visit, sites to see, restaurants to eat at, and even called and made reservations for us. Emma's farm to table cooking is absolutely lovely, and Giancarlo offers endless knowledge on the surrounding vineyards. Surrounding the villa are olive trees that they make their own olive oil from. We were particularly interested in the process, so Matteo did a tasting with us and taught us all about harvesting. We will definitely be going back for another vacation at Casa Pietraia, and hopefully even help with the olive harvest if we can get there at the right time of year. Matteo, Emma and Giancarlo gave us a vacation that we will remember forever!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thanks Lauren!
It's our pleasure to share our knowledge with the guests of Casa Pietraia and we are very happy you had a good time at the villa.
We are lookinf forward to meet again you and your wonderful family soon and it would be fantastic to have you at the villa during the olive harvest: it's an old tradition and we would love to show you all the process and to let you tast the new extravirgin olive oil.
Thanks againg for your review
all the best
Casa Pietraia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISnowbir...
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I cannot recommend this villa highly enough. The place is lovely, the views are spectacular, and the hosts, Giancarlo, Emma and Matteo, are great. Matteo even rescued my wife when she blew out a tire on the car! The rental is the upstairs floor of the family home, and there is a ton of space, including an excellent, well-furnished kitchen, and sunroom. There is a beautiful, refreshing pool for hot days as well. The kitchen is stocked with excellent local wine, and they charge only 6 euros a bottle. Emma is also an excellent chef and will prepare an unforgettable meal for about 35 euros a head. The hosts are also happy to spend time providing recommendations and detailed directions for places to visit, and clearly love what they do. We were pleasantly surprised to find rental included maid service including laundry. You will love this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thanks a lot! It was a pleasure for us to have you and your lovely family at the villa. Casa Pietraia is a place to relax and to forget troubles, we our best to let guests feel like at home.
we hope to see you again in the future and in case you needed help to plan your vacation please feel free to contact us.
All the best
Matteo,Emma and Giancarlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourcrand...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect vacation!”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family of 7 had the most wonderful vacation and our stay at Casa Petraia made it comfortable and relaxing. This property is in an excellent location, just 30 minutes from San Gminano, and the train in town gets you to Florence in 45 minutes.

This working property is so beautifully kept with spacious rooms that are well appointed. You will be so comfortable. You can spread out and relax. Every corner and every window has a stunning view as the house sits up on the hill. There is air conditioning if you need it, but it does cool off in the evenings with the winds. And the best treat is this home has an enormous infinity pool that is just stunning. You can eat, watch sunrise or sunset, play right there. They have everything to keep you comfortable.

The family that owns the property actively work their fields of olive trees. They are the warmest people and very hospitable. They helped us with making reservations to wineries and gave us tips on how to best use our time with where we wanted to go. Do note that your get the whole property to use, but the family stays in the apartment below. You rarely see them as they are working the fields, and are unobtrusive. We loved having them close by if we needed anything. They offer cooking classes and wine tastings and tour if you request. We regret that we did not get to enjoy Emma's delicious smelling food. Next time! We will for sure return.

Grazie Giancarlo, Emma and Matteo!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Grazie!!! Thanks a lot for this amazing review! We our best to let people feel at home and to enjoy the time they spend in Tuscany, so reading this comments makes us very proud! It was a pleasure to host you and your family, you're such nice people and we had a good time talking with you. We hope to see you soon. Thanks again for choosing Casa Pietraia.
All the best
Matteo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B
1 review
“Wonderful introduction to Tuscany”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thanks you to Matteo, Emma and Giancarlo for a lovely introduction to Tuscany. The Villa was super; roomy, quiet, beautifully decorated and in a brilliant location. I could have happily just stayed at the Villa but then i would have missed the beautiful countryside and lovely people of the area. Matteo and Giancarlo were happy to share their local knowledge and provide directions on how to reach places and times to avoid them too! Emma spoiled us with her cooking and information about the history of the area.
Perfect place to visit to kick back or as a jumping off point to other wonderful experiences.
Thank you
Wendy Barton

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Thanks to you Wendy!
We have been happy to share our time with you, it was a wounderful week.
We hope to see you again soon.
All the best

Matteo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another simply fantastic week in Tuscany”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a return visit for us to this amazing property.
Emma, Giancarlo and Matteo go out of their way to share not only their beatiful villa but their incredible knowledge and pride in Italy and Tuscany. The accommodations are truly special with spacious rooms and the serene indoor and outdoor sitting areas can only be appreciated first hand, pictures do not do them justice.
We all looked forward to our planned meals (2) where we had Emma perform her magic. We did not think it possible that she could meet the standard she had previously set, alas she prepared two of the greatest meals we have ever experienced, hard to believe it possible for her to surpass the previous experience but she did. You arrive as tourists and leave as friends planning your return.
Without doubt the best place we have ever stayed and the most gracious hosts you could find anywhere in the world.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Hi Travor!
Thanks a lot! We are very proud to be considered as friends by our guests. We have the luck to live in a wonderful place, to
meet new travelers each week and to know their stories. It's a bit like traveling without moving and we have to thank all of you.
We will continue doing our best to let people feel at home and to improve our services.
Thanks again, we are waiting to see you soon my friend.
All the best
Matteo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
909Bill
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Country Villa”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The view of the Tuscan country side from the sitting/dining room is beautiful and the sunsets are a bonus! We were fascinated in learning about olive farming. After spending a prior week in Rome we found the rural setting peaceful and most welcome. The kitchen was very well equipped, making it easy and enjoyable to prepare meals. The owners are very helpful; they are nice people and helped us make the most of our visit.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2016
Thaks Bill!
It was a pleasure for us to host you at Casa Pietraia.
We hope to see you again, Merry Christmas and happy new year!
Matteo, Emma and Giancarlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossellep...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“This is a fabulous place!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here with my husband, our daughter, son-in-law, granddaughters 13 and 8, and there was total agreement that the villa was perfect for each of us. The house is beautiful -- it is extremely well-furnished, has very comfortable beds, screens and air-conditioning. The grounds are lovely, the pool gorgeous and the views -- especially from the large dining room/sitting room -- are just SPECTACULAR. We could hardly tear ourselves away to go out and explore!
Even with the great physical aspects of our villa, the best part was our great hosts! They are amazing! We were treated royally, in every way. When our GPS failed us and we could not find the villa, son Matteo came out into the countryside to find us and lead us home. When we arrived, our hosts treated us to wine and appetizers and made sure our kitchen was sufficiently stocked for our first night. And there was more -- a fantastic birthday dinner for me on our second night, impromptu invitation to another dinner, and even a ride to the train station on our last day. As they live right downstairs, they were always available to us for whatever we needed. They are simply lovely people who quickly became our friends. The only negative about the property is that it is difficult to find (especially when GPS misleads), and there is no little village store within walking distance so you definitely need a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the hosts
Liked least: the directions and the distance from amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your words! Meeting you and your lovely family was a pleasure for us and definitely as you wrote we have now new friends. Thanks again for choosing Casa Pietraia, hope to see you soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing