We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan gem!”
Review of Hotel Certaldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Certaldo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Certaldo

For our honeymoon in Italy, we traveled around the north spending a few days in each of Bologna, Cinque Terre, Florence and Rome.

Florence was the middle of our 10day trip, so we were keen that it was a bit more relaxing and removed from the city slightly.

We stumbled upon Hotel Certaldo on hotels.com; and what a gem of a find!

We knew nothing about Certaldo, but the hotel looked beautiful and in relaxing surroundings less than an hour from Florence.

On arrival in Certaldo, we were disappointed the hotel had no restaurant, since there didn't seem to be anywhere to eat in the town other than cafés.

However, the staff provided a map and made a dinner reservation for us at a recommended restaurant in the 'old town'. We had to take a cable car up to the medieval town, where the restaurant overlooked terraced vineyards in the most beautiful buildings. The best meal we ate during our 10 days!

The staff at Hotel Certaldo were superbly helpful, making local Tuscan wine recommendations for us each night to drink by the pool or in our hotel room. They provided by far the best service during our trip.

The hotel is very close to Certaldo train station, and only 50mins from Florence. The old town and restaurants etc are only 10 mins walk from the hotel-including cable car.

A Tuscan gem, can't recommend highly enough.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheena Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 392 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Beautifully restored mill over river in lower Certaldo, easy access to Certaldo Alto, "old hill town"', birthplace of Boccaccio, with wonderful vies and fantastic restaurants. Perfect to location to travel to visit Florence, Pisa and Siena by train, 5 minute walk to station, so no need to worry re parking, traffic or drinking and driving! Close to San Gimignano, and other small towns in Chianti! Friendly, helpful staff and filling buffet breakfast, although limited bar/coffee availability in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Four of us stayed in 6 different places in Italy, and this was by far, the best in every way. The hotel is a great addition to the township of Certaldo, which is less well known than some other towns, but is a pleasant place to stay, with easy access to all other hill towns. The breakfast was perfect every day, with the dining and kitchen staff even knowing our coffee preferences. Front desk staff were equally helpful, and wonderful guides to the best places to eat out. Rooms were big, and hotel very attractive all round.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The room was clean and nice and breakfast was wonderful and we had a lot of choices - Elena was very helpful and recommended a very good winery tour nearby and suggested restaurants to go to - Margarita and Irene was helpful as well -they charged our GPS and helped us when we had trouble with the rented car,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Beautiful property and luxurious rooms + best breakfast we had on our trip to Italy. Also, wonderful service - we came without a plan and the concierge was super-helpful in setting up a driver and activities at local wineries, San Giamanano, etc.. We said thank you, and the concierge responded "It is my job and I LOVE it." That really captures the attitude of the staff here. Perfect location from which to explore Tuscany!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMTraveler1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a perfect stay at Hotel Certaldo at the beginning of December 2013. The hotel itself is not in a stunning setting as such (near a main road) but the access both from the motrway and in to Certaldo make it a great location. The main advantage of the hotel is that it's just perfect inside - like a boutique hotel with great attention to detail and lovely interiors, both in the hotel itself and the rooms. The bed in our room was one of the best we've ever slept in. The hotel staff are what really makes it - nothing is too much trouble they are so helpful and nice touches like a drink on arrival to a quick esperesso before we left. Margerita was particularly helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was also great - plenty of choice of fruits, cereals, cheeses, meats, breads and hot buffet selection. Certaldo itself is such a stunning location in Tuscany and we can not wait to go back and stay at Hotel Certaldo again - it has such a homely feel and one important thing I forgot to mention - AMAZING Toscana wine at only 15 euros (which may seem a lot for Italy, but is cheap for a hotel of this standard and is one of the best we've had on our trips to Tuscany).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rathi106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent week at Hotel Certaldo in August 2013 as a couple. Staff are very well trained and understand importance or smiling and being helpful - they have lots of information available. Certaldo makes great touring base for one of the prettiest areas of Tuscany, well within reach of San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena, Florence and Pisa. But you really need transport, we had hire car. Hotel is a converted mill and main building is very high quality with many original features. There are 2 other buildings which are work in progress, one houses a small but new gym. The rooms are very nicely appointed with tall ceilings (floor 2), windows to 2 sides, fridge, large shower room, where everything works, we were VERY comfortable. Despite being adjacent to the bypass the rooms were quiet, with controllable aircon. We had a few mossies in the room, but hunted them down, The breakfast is buffet style but all fresh and good selection plus waitress service for hot drinks (with smiles too). You can eat inside or out. At night you can wander through the "new" part of Certaldo which has little to inspire until you take the frequent Fenicular (€1.50 return) to Certaldo Alto (or 10 min uphill walk) which is another world. Historic buildings mostly used as restaurants, some with superb views over miles of Tuscan countryside. We sat and watched the moon rise while eating - very romantic. While Certaldo as a tourist destination is somewhat B list compared to San Gimignano and Volterra, the Hotel is certainly very A list and ideal if you want to come back to a quality oasis after a long day sight seeing. Parking is free - which shouldn't be taken for granted in Tuscany, the pool is not for swimmers - too short, but is pleasant to sit around sunbathing and to have the occasional cooling dip.

Room Tip: Room 203 had high ceilings and windows to 2 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certaldo
0.5 mi away
Albergo Il Castello
Albergo Il Castello
#3 of 5 in Certaldo
89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
100 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
823 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,139 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Certaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Certaldo

Address: Via del Molino 74, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Certaldo
Price Range: $94 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Certaldo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Certaldo was born from the renovation of an old watermill of 1500 AD, built upon the Elsa river. It visibly retains many elements of style and architecture of the old flour mill. The mill is today an elegant and comfortable 4 stars Hotel placed in the heart of Tuscany, in the Chianti region. It is a place where tradition has positively evolved to an ambient with all comforts, and offers a happy mix of emotions and situations. The beautiful medieval town of Certaldo Alto is only minutes away by feet. From our hotel you can easily reach for daily visits to San Gimignano, Siena, Florence, Pisa, Lucca and the Chianti. Our Hotel is the perfect place for a holiday made of pleasure, fun, relax and culture. The structure has many comforts: a big garden 500 sm, an always open fitness room, outdoor pool, solarium, private outdoor parking, a meeting lounge with video projector and maxi video and internet connextion, reading hall, internet point, lift, laundry service (on demand), a bar lounge and rich American buffet breakfast from 7.30 to 10.00. Rooms are cozy and elegant and have all modern comforts: TV sat Lcd, internet wireless connextion (on demand) both in the rooms and in all structure, air condition/heating, telephone, hair dryer, towels, safe, insonorization, ensuite bath with shower or bathtub, minibar, baycoats (on demand), added bed (on demand), wheelchair access. Animals are not allowed. Our structure has a polyglot reception open 24 hours and our staff will be glad to suggest tours in the surrounding area, guided tours in the Tuscan art cities, visits by farmhouses and wine cellars, wine and olive oil tastings, cooking lessons, riding etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Certaldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing