We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilltop city, Certaldo Alto (high)”
Review of Certaldo

Certaldo
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hilltop city, Certaldo Alto (high)”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A beautiful hilltop city that is very scenic. Some excellent views. After the rainy days we were able to see all the way to San Gimignano. There is free parking at the bottom of the hill in the town You can then take the funicular up. This is much easier than driving around in the frustrating one way streets to find the cattle track that eventually gets you up to another pay lot behind the city wall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    273
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bewdley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wedding in certaldo”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My step daughters wedding in the Town Hall.It was a truly memorable experience in this beautiful hill top town.The town has the benefit of not being crowded with tourists but yet has an excellent rail link to tourist centres like Pisa,Florence and Sienna.We received a first rate service from all those involved and would highly recommend the Hotel Certaldo.However what made the wedding truly special was the love and support of the Italian people who shared in our experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwardy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful village with so much history and character that you must visit; is not overcrowded with tourists.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trumpetfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Train station”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

From this town we caught the local trains into Siena and then to Florence. It was very easy to travel on the local transport.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in Tuscany Italy”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

While driving back to Pisa for our flight home, we had some time on our hands so decided to take up the advise of our receptionist in San Michele Hotel, San Gimingnano to stop off at Certaldo a normal local town. What a pleasant surprise. The main town is no different from others we were in but take the Funikular up to the old walled in town/village and you are in for a surprise. It is much smaller than all the other walled towns in Tuscany. It sits on the side of the mountain with views to the east and west of Tuscany including San Gimingnano and consists of small little cobbled streets with family owned houses a few restaurants, Hotel, and Museum. It was a nice little detour off our journey and we were glad we had seen it. The fee for the V is €1.50 up/down but it is possible to walk down if desired.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank brenDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Certaldo also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Certaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing