We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get home and try out the recipes on my own!”

La Cucina di Giuseppina - Italian Cooking School
Ranked #1 of 8 Food & Drink in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giuseppina and her sons, run with passion a cooking school in Certaldo, between Florence and Siena, A beautiful medieval village. With more than ten years of experience in teaching, Giuseppina loves to lead students in the secrets of traditional Tuscan cuisine. And her family, which shares the same passion for the joys of life and food, offers to participate in activities such as truffle hunting and wine tasting.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get home and try out the recipes on my own!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I did an evening cooking class while I was staying in Florence. Certaldo is really easy to get to on the train and you get to enjoy some fantastic views on the walk up the hill to Cucina Guiseppina.

There was only me and a couple for my class which was great as it meant you got to have a go at doing everything. Guiseppina and her son were great teachers and made the whole evening a lot if fun.

The food we made tasted amazing and I feel confident about being able to recreate the dishes at home on my own.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Classes”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Simone at the school offers a great way to join into the fun of food in Italy. We requested a catered dinner for our villa for 8 people and we were served great local foods. While the truffle hunt that we attempted was canceled because of rain, we had a great time interacting with the family. Certaldo is a hidden gem in a Tuscan paradise. The cooking school is a great way to experience the real Italy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrankEPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a don't miss. Giuseppina is a wonderful character who makes Italian cooking very simple. She leads you through the preparation of an appetizer, pasta course, meat course and dessert. The menu varies based on what is seasonally available in the markets. After having simply made fresh pasta, I may never eat Barilla again. Plus her cooking knife would put Jim Bowie and Crocidille Dundee to shame, it is the size of a small machete. The location is beautiful, quaint and well worth the drive. Will do again.

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's a cooking party!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Giuseppina’s cooking class provided our group of 8 with a most wonderful experience. Our cooking class on September 18 was all about authentic Tuscan cooking under the direction of a truly authentic Tuscan chef. Giuseppina’s relaxed, warm and friendly manner made even the least experienced of us feel comfortable in taking on the various tasks of preparing the multi-course meal. The event was both educational and more like a party held in her beautiful small kitchen filled with laughter, creating, dining, and sharing our time together. If you are ever vacationing near Certaldo, in our opinion, Giuseppina’s cucina is an experience not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Giuliacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a great time we had!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

On sept 4 th , we were with some friends at the cucina of Giuseppina. We were a group of 8 people. We cooked bruschettas, zucchini flowers, pasta, pork with rosemary ( we tried it later that week at our tuscan home) and pana cotta. We ate our meals served with wine and water. We received complimentary aprons. Giuseppina is a good teacher, she is always laughing, smiling. We had a good time. Fantastico like my husband would say!!!!!!!! If you want to do something different in your tuscan holidays, go to Giuseppina

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Praline23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina di Giuseppina - Italian Cooking School also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Cucina di Giuseppina - Italian Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing