We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner”
Review of Osteria La Saletta

Osteria La Saletta
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Certaldo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 5, 2016

We were staying at a villa about 9Km from Certaldo. The Villa owner suggested this restaurant. The restaurant is owned by an elderly man and the chef is his mother!

The restaurant is small and probably has 10 tables. Service was elegant and the food we had was wonderfully prepared.

All four of us enjoyed the meal and visited the restaurant another time.

A visit to this restaurant will be a memorable experience. Since it is only a short walk from the Certaldo train station, it makes for a great end to a visit to Florence.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 681 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2016

Visited our first night in Certaldo, and returned again our last night because the food was so good and the owner so attentive. He explained the menu (in English) and produced incredible foods.
The wine list was excellent and he helped with that, too.
We'd eaten in the Castle (Certaldo Alto) and the food here was better and less ostentatious.
Recommended without hesitation.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Hmmm so good! We were looking around for a lunch restaurants and luckely found Osteria La Salentta. And suddenly I had my best Italian dish ever! We felt very welcome and can highly recommend the place!!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

If you visit Certaldo you must visit La Saletta for a most memorable meal ! The food was deliciously reminiscent of the area and definitely try the onion soup - this traditional version was the best I have ever eaten.

Fantastic wine selection and service was wonderful. Only wished we'd visited La Saletta when we first arrived so we could have experienced the menu twice!!!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

We found this restaurant on a stop over in Certaldo. Since all tables inside were taken, we were offered to sit outside on the terrace next to the street. There we waited 30 minutes for the owner to take our orders. Serving the food the - pasta - took even longer. Overall service attitude was very cool.

Despite the nice food, this long wait really took away all the joy. Not recommended from my side.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank tintin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Saletta also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria La Saletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.