We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Osteria La Saletta

Osteria La Saletta
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Giannpiero, the owner patiently explained the menu to us and recommended certain items according to our tastes - result of which was wonderful food cooked by his mother - I had onion soup which was a typical Tuscan dish and prawns which were tender and very good - my husband had tagliatelle paste with mushrooms and wild boar which he loved - overall we loved the wine and the food and we were there for over 3 hours -

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    121
    17
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The food is without doubts good
We got a classical Tagliata of Chianina which was good
What I didn't like very much was the waiter ( probably the owner itself ) who didn't seem to care very much of us , being instead rather rude

The total was also not so economic
41€ for the tagliata , a glass of wine and cantucci as desert

Helpful?
Thank Sc2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

There was only one other couple eating when we arrived and that made us a little weary but although it looked unassuming, the host was wonderful, attentive and produced the most delicious food and wine I've eaten in italy to date. Highly recommended and we'd have gone back if we'd had time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey65_Pinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan food and wine”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We ate here based on previous reviews and it did not disappoint. I have to learn to make the soup and the ricotta based cheesecake...or move to Certaldo. We also had the Tonno del Chianti and the shrimp. All were SO good. Hopefully we can make it back someday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“italia mon amour”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

There is a sort of feeling really deep into Italians about the intimacy of their secrets . This minuscule bar ,restaurant wine bar is a perfect example of it . You step into another era by entering this property, anything is small scled except the taste of anything you will enjoy here. Here the list speaks pratically (and it is right so) only Tuscanity at its genuine best . The easy speaking and sweet landlor will introduce you to dishes only foundable in this area, Gnudi , a sort of small ball shaped ricotta gnocchi that will put you in pefect harmony with the surroundings, a perfect "Tonno del Chianti" a middle age recipe for an ham slowly cooked and looking like tuna from here the name, and many of those wonderfully full tasting Tuscany dish that your memory will never forget Spectacular wine list with anything great made on these magic hills. A place for connaisseurs, hard to find if you do not know it , but worth looking for

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enricoallievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Saletta also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria La Saletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing