We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Tuscan Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Ranked #1 of 16 Certaldo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Il Paluffo provided us with the perfect tuscan experience. We traveled with two other couples and appreciated the modern touches in a beautifully restored setting. The view is fantastic, and the bio pool says this is not just another cookie cutter resort. While they were there when we needed them, we appreciated the hands off approach of the staff, who allowed us to make this feel like our very own villa.
We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2ChicagoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon; for 2013 season we will provide our guests with an internet connected tablet with suggestions about daily or half day trips around Paluffo.

A presto Luca and Liana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 234 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent a blissful week at Il Paluffo, which worked both as a perfect base for tourism in Tuscany and as a resort in itself. The owners, Lianna and Luca have completed a renovation of an ancient olive oil mill and residence, complete with a pool overlooking archetypical Tuscan hills with San Gimignano visible in the distance. The house is set secluded in sweeping vineyards and olive groves, but only a 5 minute drive from a local village with markets and restaurants. The famous and not so famous Tuscan tourist sites are generally within an hour drive. We typically would eat breakfast in the garden, drive to a tourist site, then return to Il Paluffo to recuperate by the pool. Lianna and Luca are more than happy to help with local travel, or to arrange for activities at Il Paluffo, including wine tasting, cooking demonstrations, or yoga. I hope to return soon, and would wholeheartedly recommend the place to any traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank americansinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Feedback as yours help us to keep in mind that we live in a Paradise and push us to be aware of the flower colours, landscape beauty, pleasant smells in the air, calm Nature noises.... Grazie!

Luca and Liana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We enjoyed our family's stay in the Stilo apartment in June but there were a number of issues with the accommodation.
The medieval nature of the building made for rather dank and dark accommodation. It isn't a cosy space that you'd choose to stay in for long.
The service was very "hands off". You were left to get on with it and self-catering is what Il Paluffo offers. It is not a hotel.
That said, it is an historic property that has been beautifully restored and the setting in the Tuscan hills is very peaceful and relaxing.
All in all, a qualified "thumbs up".

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear guest, the Paluffo is both a B&B and a self catering apartments. In the apartment there are 2 or more bedrooms and bathrooms, a kitchen and a living room and a private garden. The apartments fit better who want to have a small private house, the B&B is appreciated by travelers who love a complete relax. Anyway we offer a maid and cook service on demand for the apartments.The Stillo House is east to south directed with very large windows in the living room and all other rooms have windows, only in the bathrooms there aren't windows.
Thanks for your remarks and best regards!

Liana and Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend in the main house B and B. The place seems to be off the beaten track, but it is a great find- a historic building, elegantly restored, with modern comfort ( really comfortable beds and fabulous bathrooms) and style ( that mixture of antique and modern the Italians do so well). It's a kind of boutique hotel which isn't a hotel at all, it's a home. The panoramic views, garden, pool and olive groves surround you with tranquillity. The hosts speak English fluently and love food - which was local and delicious and eaten in their amazing kitchen. The only problem is that it is actually very near lots of famous places to visit, but you don't really want to go anywhere else!

Room Tip: Very spacious rooms in the B and B. We looked at the places to rent, which would be really good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VoyagerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review but my English looks more rotten than fluent ;-) anyway I try to improve it doing conversation with our nice guests. Next year we will offer also basic and advanced italian lessons for whom want to explore the Dolce Stil Novo.

Grazie

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A group of four stayed in the Torre house for one week in mid-October. The location is gorgeous and the house we stayed in was quite lovely. We each had private bedrooms. The bathrooms were very well appointed with excellent water pressure in the shower, nice sink, good lighting and a complimentary hairdryer and lovely towels. The beds had nice linens and the rooms were very spacious with plenty of storage. The windows however do not have screens so whats ever outside comes inside at night. You can close the wooden shutters but that keeps out all light but it does help keeping out the bugs. I would bring some kind of bug repellent as the weather was warm and we did get bug bites. Don't let that little detail get in the way of your lovely visit. The property has a common living room with a ipad for guest use. The internet service was poor. We had intermittent service in the living room but could not get service in our house at all. Sometimes we sat out in the courtyard to get service. We had a full kitchen so we shopped locally and cooked many of our meals. One night we had dinner in the main dining room - which is quite charming but the food was so-so. I'd recommend going out to local restaurants. The stairs in our house were quite steep - anyone with any mobility issues would have a challenge climbing even the first flight. As long as you know that going in the space is very comfortable. There is a very unusual swimming pool on the property and if you don't mind jumping in with the frogs and lily pads you'll be fine. They charge you extra to use the pool - I think they should eliminate this extra charge This would be a great place for a family reunion, friends gathering and large group get together -that said if the group is going to party all the other guests will hear the party loud and clear. I would recommend the owners/host set up a complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoons in the courtyard, and maybe leave a basket of fruit/breads bottle of wine when guests arrive. Also, check out your door key when you arrive to make sure your keys work with ease. We struggled with our entry door which I'm sure could be fixed with an adjustment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank janetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 9, 2012

Thanks for your kind review. To our host in all apartments we offer a 0.75l organic olive oil and 2 bottles of water as welcome gift. In the common area a basket of our organic fruit for all guests is available as well as kettle with a selection of teas. Even if we have few mosquitos from june to September, in all bedrooms we fit a mosquito repeller with some spare pills.
The use of the swimming pool is free, small frogs and blue dragonflies live in the non swimmable area for the joy of our youngest guests that love to watch them for hours. All apartments, rooms and common area are provided with many internet access point with 4M/1M speed but, during the bad weather (heavy rain or thunderstorms), the speed can be reduced because Paluffo is in a rural area without optic fiber connection.... for now.

We hope to host you again!

Liana and Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Incredible property, with breathtaking views, and a beautiful pool. We would definitely come back and recommend it to friends and family. If there is room for improvement it is with the hours the front desk is manned to assist guests. All in all a beautiful property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aspasias007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks for your suggestion, we already empowered the help desk and in 2013 we will propose new activities and courses as photography classes and cooking classes on selected themes.

Grazie

Liana and Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

You've looked at pictures of Italy. You've seen rolling hills with cypress trees and vineyards spotted on every nook and cranny. You've thought they were fake. But, alas, they are not. Il Paluffo sits exactly in that spot. Not only are the grounds just stunning, but the owners, the rooms, the area are just surreal.

I would be there tomorrow, if I could.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank spnickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 1, 2012

If you remember the landscapes of Leonardo da Vinci paintings you will find them around us: smooth hills, cypressus, small woods, some clouds and vineyards....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Certaldo hotels
1.7 mi away
La Certaldina
La Certaldina
#1 of 24 in Certaldo
82 reviews
3.5 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
100 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fattoria Pogni
Fattoria Pogni
#1 of 4 in Marcialla
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Agriturismo Cameli
Agriturismo Cameli
#7 of 24 in Certaldo
210 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Villa Tavolese
Hotel Villa Tavolese
#1 of 1 in Marcialla
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paluffo - Main House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paluffo - Main House B&B

Address: Via Citerna, 144, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Certaldo
Price Range: $129 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic building has been restored in 2010, conserving its original structure. Paluffo ecolodge has four independent apartments, each of them with a private garden – Torre, Stillo, Forno and Frantoio, and the owner’s house, with four rooms for B&B. The housing estate includes the historical mill, completed with a millstone and a press for the pressing of olives, a fermentation room used in the past for the production of wine, a wine cellar dug in the tufa rock, a bread oven and two wells. The fermentation room and the wine cellar are now at the disposal of guests as common spaces. A laundry area is also available to guests. Paluffo is surrounded by six hectares of land on which olive trees and grape vines are organic cultivated. Guests can taste and buy the extra virgin olive oil, the honey and the wines organically produced in the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Paluffo - Main House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing