We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscan Villa in serene location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Paluffo - Main House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Ranked #1 of 17 Certaldo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tuscan Villa in serene location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A group of four stayed in the Torre house for one week in mid-October. The location is gorgeous and the house we stayed in was quite lovely. We each had private bedrooms. The bathrooms were very well appointed with excellent water pressure in the shower, nice sink, good lighting and a complimentary hairdryer and lovely towels. The beds had nice linens and the rooms were very spacious with plenty of storage. The windows however do not have screens so whats ever outside comes inside at night. You can close the wooden shutters but that keeps out all light but it does help keeping out the bugs. I would bring some kind of bug repellent as the weather was warm and we did get bug bites. Don't let that little detail get in the way of your lovely visit. The property has a common living room with a ipad for guest use. The internet service was poor. We had intermittent service in the living room but could not get service in our house at all. Sometimes we sat out in the courtyard to get service. We had a full kitchen so we shopped locally and cooked many of our meals. One night we had dinner in the main dining room - which is quite charming but the food was so-so. I'd recommend going out to local restaurants. The stairs in our house were quite steep - anyone with any mobility issues would have a challenge climbing even the first flight. As long as you know that going in the space is very comfortable. There is a very unusual swimming pool on the property and if you don't mind jumping in with the frogs and lily pads you'll be fine. They charge you extra to use the pool - I think they should eliminate this extra charge This would be a great place for a family reunion, friends gathering and large group get together -that said if the group is going to party all the other guests will hear the party loud and clear. I would recommend the owners/host set up a complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoons in the courtyard, and maybe leave a basket of fruit/breads bottle of wine when guests arrive. Also, check out your door key when you arrive to make sure your keys work with ease. We struggled with our entry door which I'm sure could be fixed with an adjustment.

  • Liked — Location, house was just lovely and secure.
  • Disliked — Poor internet connection and no screens on the windows.
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. To our host in all apartments we offer a 0.75l organic olive oil and 2 bottles of water as welcome gift. In the common area a basket of our organic fruit for all guests is available as well as kettle with a selection of teas. Even if we have few mosquitos from june to September, in all bedrooms we fit a mosquito repeller with some spare pills.
The use of the swimming pool is free, small frogs and blue dragonflies live in the non swimmable area for the joy of our youngest guests that love to watch them for hours. All apartments, rooms and common area are provided with many internet access point with 4M/1M speed but, during the bad weather (heavy rain or thunderstorms), the speed can be reduced because Paluffo is in a rural area without optic fiber connection.... for now.

We hope to host you again!

Liana and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
96
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Incredible property, with breathtaking views, and a beautiful pool. We would definitely come back and recommend it to friends and family. If there is room for improvement it is with the hours the front desk is manned to assist guests. All in all a beautiful property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aspasias007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your suggestion, we already empowered the help desk and in 2013 we will propose new activities and courses as photography classes and cooking classes on selected themes.

Grazie

Liana and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

You've looked at pictures of Italy. You've seen rolling hills with cypress trees and vineyards spotted on every nook and cranny. You've thought they were fake. But, alas, they are not. Il Paluffo sits exactly in that spot. Not only are the grounds just stunning, but the owners, the rooms, the area are just surreal.

I would be there tomorrow, if I could.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spnickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
If you remember the landscapes of Leonardo da Vinci paintings you will find them around us: smooth hills, cypressus, small woods, some clouds and vineyards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at the Forno appartment during the end of September with our baby boy and had a really good time.
While the website pictures doesn't really show it, rest assure - the view from the garden and poolside is superb. You can absolutely lurk in the sun and enjoy a good panoramic view of the hills in the area, drenched in olive plants and vines.
The facilities are rather new, nicely designed and well maintained. The kitchen is equiped with the basic things you would need for cooking your own meals and there's free wifi.

We highly recommend this place for a relaxing vacation!

  • Liked — The panoramic view from the poolside
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Grazie for your kind review, we will shot more photos of Forno and if you have any please send us or submit them on the facebook paluffo site.
We hope to host you again! Luca & Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Latini Hotel
#4 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paluffo - Main House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paluffo - Main House B&B

Property: Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Address: Via Citerna, 144, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic building has been restored, conserving its original structure and design. Paluffo features four independent apartments, each of them with a private garden – Torre, Stillo, Forno and Frantoio -, and the owner’s house, with four rooms available for B&B. The housing estate includes the historical mill, completed with a millstone and a press for the pressing of olives, a fermentation room used in the past for the production of wine, a wine cellar dug in the tufa rock, a bread oven and two wells. The fermentation room and the wine cellar are now at the disposal of guests as common spaces, and can be used for meetings and courses.. A laundry area is also available to guests. Paluffo is surrounded by six hectares of land on which olive trees and grape vines are cultivated. Guests can taste and buy the extra virgin olive oil produced in the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Paluffo - Main House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing