We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Visit Abroad”
Review of La Poggiolaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Poggiolaia
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Prior to our vacation we had received a myriad of negative feedback regarding European travel. Needless to say we managed our expectations regarding all aspects. That said, both La Poggolia and its sister property Villa Il Pozzo were absolutely magnificent. The postcard scenary was matched in everyway by the warmth of the ownership and staff. The amenities and cleanliness exceeded every expectation. We will forever be an advocate of the Gori family and their properties and cant wait to drink vino rosso with them again. Ciao

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for La Poggiolaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just returned from our fourth visit to La Poggiolaia, staying in La Capanna. Its difficult to describe how beautiful the location is, the comfort of the accommodation and the friendliness of the people, including Paola the owner and Sylvi the manager. Its a great base for sightseeing, however we chose to spend most of our week enjoying the surrounds and the superb food and drink, including the wine made from the vineyard itself. We especially enjoyed watching the sunset with a glass of Chianti.
Thank you Paola for another fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Cera Una Volta Trattoria, about 1.5 miles from La Poggiolaia was a superb place for dinner!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

La Poggiolaia is more beautiful than the photos. We felt like we were living a dream in the beautiful Tuscan countryside in our meticulously renovated farmhouse apartment surrounded by lovely landscaping. The hilltop location offers breathtaking vistas of rolling hills covered with vineyards, olive groves, cypress trees and hilltop villages. The towers of San Gimignano rise in the distance reflecting the warm Tuscan sun.
The location was ideal for exploring all of Tuscany. However, La Poggiolaia is such a charming location with patios, pool, gardens, terraces, vineyards and olive groves; it captivated us. As we lounged, sipping fine wine from the owner’s winery, viewing the panoramic vistas of the Tuscan countryside and breathing the fresh air with the wispy scents of lavender and roses, we wanted to stay forever!

Our apartment was quiet, comfortable, and spacious will all the modern amenities. The gracious owner, Paola Gori, had thought of everything to make our vacation wonderful. Sylvia, the friendly onsite manager, was there to provide help for any needs we encountered such as wifi, wine tasting, restaurants, etc.

We were so glad that we visited the family winery, Tenuta Della Luia, for a tour and tasting. We then had a supply of our favorite wine to enjoy during our stay. We also visited the nearby town of Certaldo riding the funicular to Certaldo Alto, and enjoyed the medieval hilltop town and delicious gelati!

We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust196744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our week at the Campanna just couldn't have been any better. The villa was totally reconstructed in 2004 and has stunning views of the entire countryside through the many oversized windows and glass doors. We stayed there with another couple and both of our second floor rooms had large opening windows with commanding views of distant hillside castles and vineyards. The villa is very clean, comfortable and very nicely decorated. The grounds are extensive and surrounded with well cared for roses, all kinds of flowering plants, trees and lawn. There is also a large swimming pool with shade cabanas on the lower terraced area.

We planned on eating out most of the time, however, this place was too nice to leave. We picked up food at the local Coop and BBQ'd on three of our nights. On the final night, the gracious owner Paola, cooked us an excellent full course dinner that was served by her onsite manager, Silvia. And, during our stay Silvia was extremely helpful, assisting us whenever we had questions or needed help.

Paola, her brother Alessandro and their family own and operate the Tenuta Della Luia Winery, which is about a mile from the villa. Alessandro's son Johnny gave us a tour and tasting which we thoroughly enjoyed. The view from the winery is almost as spectacular as the one from the villa and we tasted their excellent wines while seated in their garden overlooking the valley. The wine was so good that we had a case shipped to our home in the US.

I highly recommend Villa Campanna and all four of us hope to return in the next few years.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2LHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great place to spend your vacation: wonderful views, high quality apartments, good wine, child friendly. I would definitely come back there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I just completed my second stay at La Poggiolaia. This place is the epitome of what one thinks about when they dream of Tuscany. Located within an hour of Florence and Siena and even closer to San Gimignano, the Villa/Apartment complex is simply wonderful. From the sweeping views of the Tuscan countryside filled with olive trees and vinyards to the stylish and comfortable rooms it is truly a gem.

I brought a small group of 7 to La Poggiolaia last April and another again this year. In 2010 we stayed in two side by side apartments with an adjoining patio and garden. This year we stayed in the 4 bedroom Capana. Both were superb.

You will need a vehicle because the site is located about 7km from Certaldo and 2 km from the small town of Fiano. Certaldo has a train station on the direct Florence-Siena line, making it easy to access the center of both cities in less than an hour.

I would strongly recommend this beautiful location to anyone wishing to enjoy a beautiful and relaxing Italian vacation. I will likely use it again next Spring with another group that is planning to visit Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Great place, friendly service, breathtaking view on the Tuscan countryside, fantastic swimming pool. Each room has air conditioning, which was badly needed in the second week of July 2010.

I took the kids in the morning to the Mugnano riding club, played tennis in the afternoon in Certaldo and relaxed in the swimming pool in the evening. For the lovers of gardening, the owner grows an amazing variety of roses.

Two thumbs up: I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smangane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certaldo
1.7 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
99 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tenuta di Sticciano
Tenuta di Sticciano
#8 of 23 in Certaldo
91 reviews
4.4 mi away
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Certaldina
La Certaldina
#1 of 23 in Certaldo
81 reviews
5.2 mi away
Camping Panorama del Chianti
4.9 mi away
Agriturismo Montalbino
Agriturismo Montalbino
#2 of 34 in Montespertoli
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Poggiolaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Poggiolaia

Address: Via Pino Bacio 47 | Sammozzano, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Certaldo
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Poggiolaia is an elegant hilltop farmstead, strategically positioned in the middle of the Golden Triangle - Florence, Siena and Pisa.La Poggiolaia (literally "hill of olives") takes its name from the vast groves of olive trees that surround it in every direction, and will impress its guests with stunning views of the gentle rolling hills that lead to the ancient towers of San Gimignano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Poggiolaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing