We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Del Vicario

Osteria Del Vicario
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The decor and patio is very nice. The menu looks attractive. But the food is below average, in every simple Italian trattoria you can better eat. Our expectation wasn't fulfilled with the exception of the great location. The mixed vegetables at the beginning were missing any spices. The lamb was tough and the beef well done. When I addressed it to the boss she went extremely rude.

Conclusion: Not the money worth.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank EmilDue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    60
    25
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place but food is far below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

A nice place to sit outside with great view and interesting dishes on the menu with antipasti for 25€ and secondi for 30€, led to high expectations. But me and my friends were all very disappointed by what we got served. All dishes (we had meat, lobster, noodles, octopus) tasted boring without any special touch. The lamb was even dry and hard-bitten.
This is definitely a place I will not come back and try again. We had much better food in other locations during our stay in Tuscany.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Johannes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's not worth the money at all!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The view is great from some of the tables, but the food was more than disappointing and not worth the price. We were a group of 12 and ordered a la carte and therefore saw a number of different dishes and most of them were either very salty or had no taste at all. After we complained we were advised by the unfriendly owner of the restaurent that we should have better ordered the daily menue (70 Euro per person without wine) instead of the a la carte dishes..... we will for sure not give it another try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Conny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view but lamentable quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Warm prosecco, forced franco-italian fusion (Michelin pleaser?) food that does not merit the price (20€ primi, 30€ secundi). Quality not good and portions also very small (which may be an advantage if you find white chocolate with mortadella on your plate but "à chacun son goût"...). Eight years ago this was an excellent restaurant but now it is a shadow of itself. Maybe I will come back if they start serving exclusive Italian dishes (even avant-garde) made with local products.

Helpful?
6 Thank Luc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too far from Michelin star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were misleaded by the Michelin guide label on the door and were sorry about that later. Also the interior and terrace is very nice and romantic, everything in the menu looks attractive. BUT the food is really average, in any simple italian trattoria you can eat better.
The service is veeeery slow. We spent 3 hours there for 2-course dinner!

I could forgive the taste of food if it won't be so much overpriced!! 150 euros for dinner for 2, are you kidding me? I think the chef should moderate her ambitions and concentrate on the taste...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Yanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Del Vicario also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Del Vicario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing