We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bella Vista is Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Pozzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa il Pozzo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Bella Vista is Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned home to Canada after spending two glorious weeks at Villa Il Pozzo. This is our second visit in two years. The property is simply the most beautiful in all of Tuscany with its panoramic views and splendid accommodations. This year's visit in May was for two weeks at Bella Vista, a well-appointed spacious apartment with spectacular views from all the windows for miles and miles around.
Our hosts Alessandro, Guiliana, and Paola were most helpful in recommending local restaurants and sights to visit. This is a family that is truly dedicated to ensuring your enjoyment in every aspect of your holiday in Tuscany. Their own winery, vineyards, and olive groves are all well maintained and provide a excellent backdrop to the Tuscan landscape.and complete your holiday visit.

Room Tip: Many good choices of accommodations to suit your taste and family size. Check out the villa on-line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisandDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at villa il Pozzo end sept beginning october and we have been amazed of the warm Welcome form the owners. Firstly the view just knock your socks off since it is so nive and so delightfull. Secondly Asslesandro one family owner was there to welcome us and help us to get to our room. He was also present at all time of the day for recommendations of visits and restaurants.
Their villa is superb and all you would have in your dream of the best in Tuscany. This was almost a dream......but it was reality. Our room ,Torre, had a nice view overlooking the wineyard You do not feel in a hotel but more in a family house since the people are so nice
The wine tour was exceptional especially we were right in the middle of the harvest. Their wines are also very tastefull
What else do you want more .....please go and stay there this is tto much

We are Canadian and it was a great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemasterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Without sounding too dramatic, I truly believe that if I had one week to live I would spend it at Villa Il Pozzo. True story.

I was married at the villa in July 2012 and it was truly the best experience of my life. My close friends and family rented the entire villa, as well some of its sister villa, La Poggiolaia, for a week-long wedding celebration. The moment we arrived we fell in love with the stunning views, the beautiful property and our welcoming and gracious hosts, the Gori family.

The wedding ceremony and reception took place on the balcony and lawn overlooking the Tuscan hills and there was not one part of the day (or week, really) that was not absolutely perfect.

Every corner of the property is like a little dream you just want to keep in your mind and never forget. Each apartment is beautiful, clean and charming. All week we drank wine (lots and LOTS of wine) from the family’s winery on the property, and were given a private tour right before we left. We all had cases of their wine and olive oil shipped back to the US, which we LOVE.

The thing that meant the most to me was the care and attention to detail that the Gori family paid to our us during our stay – from taking care of all our crazy requests (tow trucks, toilet paper, reservations, wine) to literally pruning every last plant by hand so that the place looked perfect for the wedding day. I'm not sure they are used to loud, wild American guests like us, but they treated us like we were royalty the entire time. They even gave me a special wedding gift on my wedding day. Bless their hearts!

I truly feel that I left a little bit of my heart there and I can’t WAIT to come back. This is a very special place and one that I hope to come back to time and time again.

Room Tip: All are great! Bella Vista has the best views and Terrazza has an amazing terrace. Torre and Affresc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polygirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We rented the Giardino apartment for a week and loved it and the entire property. Members of the family who own the property are the on-site managers of the property as well as the winery - all of them are wonderfully helpful and accommodating. The location of this property is absolutely superb and the views are the best! There are many areas for lounging about outdoors to take in the views while sipping on vino. The tour of the family winery was very informative and the wine-tasting was very generous.

My only recommendation (and thus 4* rather than 5) is that there should be screens on the windows are there were a lot of mosquitoes and other bugs and it would have been nice to be able to keep the windows open.

Room Tip: The Giardino has its own terrace - but it is right beside the drive-in entrance to the property. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dani_lCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at Il Pozzo twice before, the last time eight years ago when our eldest child was one. We returned now that our children are old enough to appreciate the beauty of Tuscany. As always, we stayed in 'Il Camino' and as always, Alessandro could not do more to make sure we enjoyed our stay - including booking tables for us at the fabulous Casa Chianti trattoria just 1km further along the road.

This was our first stay in the summer holiday period and the apartments were all full which meant the pool area was much more busy than on previous trips but we were glad to see they had invested in much more loungers and shade pergolas. The large size of the pool meant that plenty people could enjoy it simultaneously. Given the very hot and dry summer the gardens looked beautiful and dinner on the terrace overlooking the vineyards with San Gimignano in the distance, whilst drinking the wines produced from those grapes by the Gori family simply cannot be beaten.

Florence is a easy 40 minute drive straight to the free parking at Piazzale Michelangelo and San Gimignano is a short hop way. Pisa is 70 mins trip - mostly motorway. Just make sure you plan your journeys/SatNav routes in advance to avoid entering ZTLs and incurring €100 fines.

We will be back for our fourth visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rekamds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triel Sur Seine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife, daughter, and I have just returned from a week-long stay at Villa il Pozzo, and we could not have been more pleased by our experience. The villa itself is superb - the apartment we rented (il volte) was huge and cool (temperature-wise), despite the 37º outside temperature, and cool (architecturally) with neat, brick arched ceilings throughout, and tastefully decorated.

Gianni and Alessandro are extremely friendly, enjoyable, and kind hosts. They hosted an interesting and casual wine-tasting session for my wife and I, introducing me to their fine Tenuta della Luia. If you read this review and stay at Villa il Pozzo, ask Gianni to let you try some of his "Hello, Kitty!" rosé ;-)

The villa is located on top of a hill, overlooking the Gori family's olive trees and vineyards. The vantage from the villa's terraces are breathtaking, with views of the green and gold rolling Tuscan hills as far as the eye can see, interrupted by the occasional medieval church tower and a splendid silhouette of the towers of San Gimignano.

The villa's pool is large, cool, and clean. If my nine year-old daughter had her way, we would have spent every one of our seven days just hanging out at the pool. When we weren't spending time at the pool, we were able to visit Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano, and Certaldo, all at most an easy 45 minutes away from the villa.

Villa il Pozzo is a picture-perfect little pocket of Tuscan paradise - highly recommended!

tom

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t0mf1scher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

You know that sinking feeling when you have spent months planning your big vacation, researched everything, and then you are driving up and it looks nothing like the pictures? Well thats NOT going to happen at the fabulous Villa il Pozzo! Everything was even more beautiful than the pictures, and Alessandro was kinder, more helpful than we could have hoped, helped with dinner reservations, touring suggestions and even met us at 11 pm when we locked ourselves out.
Kitchen have enough to make simple meals, beds are very firm (I didn't mind this), and AC units worked wonderfully, even in the July heat
We were traveling with five children, and had the upstairs units. We enjoyed the beautiful piano, antiques, fabulous times on the patio with views of the tuscan hills. The pool is refreshing and lovely- hills surrounding with vineyards, olive trees and even a wild boar (a baby)
The drive from Certaldo was about 10 minutes, great restaurant down the street, wonderful, personal wine tasting that was educational for all. We are anxious for our wine to arrive by mail
but can it taste as good without the view?
I'm a picky traveler and I feel comfortable recommending this beautiful spot to a couple for a romantic get a way or a family for a great base to explore tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl333333_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Certaldo hotels
3.1 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Poggiolaia
La Poggiolaia
#5 of 21 in Certaldo
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tenuta di Sticciano
Tenuta di Sticciano
#6 of 21 in Certaldo
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
79.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Tavolese
Hotel Villa Tavolese
#1 of 1 in Marcialla
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Pozzo

Property: Villa il Pozzo
Address: 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically positioned between Florence and Siena, in the heart of the Chianti region, Villa Il Pozzo will impress its guests with stunning views of the gentle rolling hills leading to the extraordinary ancient towers of San Gimignano. All its beautiful apartments are personally furnished by Mrs. Gori with precious original antiques. Amenities include a magnificent Mediterranean-style swimming pool, a private library with recent and antique literature, a breathtaking classical Tuscan garden with hand-carved stone balusters and huge terracotta urns. Our guests may stroll through the olive groves and vineyards surrounding the Villa and taste the excellent Chianti wine and Olive Oil produced by the farm. Stucco, frescoes, and high hand-painted ceilings make Villa Il Pozzo the perfect place for an unforgettable vacation. At walking distance there are a family-owned Tuscan Restaurant, a mini-market, and one of the oldest churches of the region. Following an old tradition, all the weddings of the Gori family members are celebrated in this Romanic jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa il Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing