We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAGNIFICO!!!!!”
Review of Villa il Pozzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Certaldo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa il Pozzo
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“MAGNIFICO!!!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week trip to Italy and the 9 days that we spent at Villa Il Pozzo were by far the highlight of our entire stay. The villa is wonderful - furnished with beautiful antiques and yet provides you with all the conveniences needed. The grounds and the views all around the property are amazing and the area is peaceful and quiet, and a great location to tour the Tuscany towns, such as San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena. Allesandro is the perfect host - welcoming, helpful and gave us a great wine tour and wine tasting. We stayed in the Terrace apartment and enjoyed eating breakfast outside in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening as we watched the sunset. I highly recommend Villa Il Pozzo!

Allesandro, Bob and I are already talking about our next visit!!! We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

After staying in Paris and Venice, this was a welcome respite from the crowds and high prices. While staying here, each morning I would walk to the little country store to buy yogurt, a banana, and a Fanta from the wonderfully friendly owner who spoke not a word of English. As I walked each morning, the fog lifted from the vineyards revealing an exquisite silent beauty. We stayed in a room that was part of in a 1000 year old tower. The entire villa was furnished with wonderful antiques. Our room was the least expensive that they offered at 80 Euro/night (off season). It was wonderful. We peeked in some of the other apartments. One had a kitchen that was like something out of a Tuscan picture-perfect cookbook. Gianni (Johnny and son of the owner) spoke perfect English and met us late at night after we arrived late after getting lost. Hint: enter Certaldo-Fiano into you GPS. It’s 2 miles down from Fiano. There are several terrific restaurants nearby. These people are great. I’d go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Any room is good. You can't go bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Villa Il Pozzo. The apartment Giardino was lovely ... beautifully decorated, very comfortable, with everything we needed.
Lucky for us, it was grape harvest time and we were fortunate to watch the process and taste the estates excellent wines as well as the delicious olive oil.
The owners were always available to answer questions or provide information. The website is very accurate in its description of the property. The only surprise was that it was even more beautiful that the pictures.
We look forward to returning especially when this year’s harvest will be ready for drinking because Alesandro promised it would be a very good wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuliacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Villa il Pozzo is located in a wonderful location, on top of a little hill, with a superb view over Tuscan landscape. The towers of San Gimignano are clearly visible in the distance.
The house and garden face south, so it is always sunny. There is also a pool on a lower terrace. In April, it was still too cold to use it, but it must be very nice in summer.
As we were rather early (two weeks in late April), we were the first guests this year and alone in the house most of the time. Even though the very friendly owners do not live in that place, they were around every day and always helpful if we needed something.
Internet is also included, but the access could be simplified. Nonetheless, all problems were easily and quickly sorted out.
All in all, I would definitely go there again when revisiting Tuscany and I can highly recommend that place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mueffi1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The grounds are awesome just to walk in and explore. We certainly enjoyed watching the harvesting of the grapes in the vineyard and saw the wine making process at the winery. The owners were always kind, generous, and willing to explain the different processes involved in crafting their Chianti. My wife and I traveled here with my sister and new brother in-law. It was wonderful to share this experience with them. We drank at least a bottle or two every night on the veranda watching the sun go down and listening to the wonderful sounds of the country.

The villa is ideally located for driving to and from Florence or Siena. It was a different adventure every day. The countryside is so beautiful and fun to explore. The accommodations were perfect and charming.

I would recommend staying here to anyone who wanted to experience a wonderful Italian vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OctoberMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We just spent a week at Villa il Pozzo and I cannot possibly think of enough wonderful things to say about it. We were in the Bellavista apartment which was absolutely lovely, with huge windows that looked out onto the Tuscan countryside. The location was perfect; we took day trips to Florence and to Pisa & the coast. We drove all over the area visiting little hill towns. We spent one day just relaxing at the Villa--sitting on our private patio, eating lunch one of the the terraces overlooking the vineyards, walking the country road to a nearby church, then tasting wines at the winery on the property (Alessandro and Gianni were charming hosts and taught us a lot about winemaking). We were lucky enough to be staying at the villa the week that they started to harvest their grapes, and we were able to watch the process right from our apartment. I would heartily recommend this lovely Villa to anyone considering a vacation in Tuscany. I am quite certain we will return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuff1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We had to do it again - it was the second vacation at the beautiful place Villa il Pozzo. We´ve been to many places in the world but there is no one where we can relax and regain power as much as here. It´s absolut quiet in this area, and we need this silence as we live in the center of Cologne. It´s not far to the next cities Florence, Sienna and Pisa. The appartements have a unique flair, they are big and include a tasteful furniture and perfect equiment. We love the pool with just a little chlorine in it for a couple of swims a day and the spectacular view over about 30 km of Toskana pure. And we love the residents who are very friendly and almost as a second family. There is wine, grappa and olive oil in the rooms to use (and pay), the next supermarket is about 6 km in Certaldo, and a brilliant Osteria just about 800 m away (hill up to go, hill down to leave). And: we did it again and booked already for the next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kailuehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Certaldo hotels
3.3 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
97 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fattoria Bassetto
Fattoria Bassetto
#8 of 21 in Certaldo
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Poggiolaia
La Poggiolaia
#5 of 21 in Certaldo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fattoria Pogni
Fattoria Pogni
#1 of 4 in Marcialla
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camping Panorama del Chianti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Pozzo

Property: Villa il Pozzo
Address: 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically positioned between Florence and Siena, in the heart of the Chianti region, Villa Il Pozzo will impress its guests with stunning views of the gentle rolling hills leading to the extraordinary ancient towers of San Gimignano. All its beautiful apartments are personally furnished by Mrs. Gori with precious original antiques. Amenities include a magnificent Mediterranean-style swimming pool, a private library with recent and antique literature, a breathtaking classical Tuscan garden with hand-carved stone balusters and huge terracotta urns. Our guests may stroll through the olive groves and vineyards surrounding the Villa and taste the excellent Chianti wine and Olive Oil produced by the farm. Stucco, frescoes, and high hand-painted ceilings make Villa Il Pozzo the perfect place for an unforgettable vacation. At walking distance there are a family-owned Tuscan Restaurant, a mini-market, and one of the oldest churches of the region. Following an old tradition, all the weddings of the Gori family members are celebrated in this Romanic jewel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing