We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Vacation”
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Soul
New Jersey
1 review
“What a Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We just returned from Casa del Soul and couldn't wait to write a review! My husband and I went with another couple who actually did all of the leg work in finding Randy and Casa del Soul. We love being adventurous in our travels so Nicaragua was an automatic YES for us, but we were nervous about what to expect when arriving. Let's just say that we couldn't have asked for more! Randy and Brenda were so hospitable. The house was beautiful. Pool was cleaned everyday, the hammocks under the tiki were great for a late afternoon nap. Every morning we were greeted with coffee and breakfast. During the day we could do as little or as much as we wanted to do with Randy always more than happy to give rides to ATVing, Horseback Riding, the grocery store or town. He also made sure we had a cell phones (we had to get pre-paid cards, but for $5 it was great to have just in case and to call a cab when we needed one). The house was equipped with WiFi and Digital TV, the pool was the perfect temperature and cleaned everyday, and the views were fantastic whether from the pool, your room, or down at the beach which was a 5 minute walk from the house. Although we were worried about food/water, all water served was purified and the food was fantastic, fresh - especially the fish. The food in town was quite inexpensive and simply delicious! We only stayed out kinda late 1 night, but there seems to have been a good night life with live music to boot. I'd definitely recommend this as an off-the-beaten path vacation with some nice amenities! One thing to note is that Randy does have a dog...just a heads up as we're pet lovers but this may be a deal breaker for others. Thanks Randy for a great vacation and for your hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pvalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
164
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2009

From the first email I sent to inquire about Casa Del Soul, I felt like we were going to see an old friend. The owner, Randy, not only booked our reservation, but also gave us travel and transportation help. He met us when we first got to town to take us personally to the property. Service was exceptional - they provided all the amenities of home, including making sure we had plenty to eat and drink, gave us a laptop and cell phone to use while there, Nicaragua travel books, games, and even speakers for our Ipod (and offered us an Ipod if we did not have one)
The room was beautiful and spotless. Floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean and a balcony with two hammocks. A full size pool had plenty of lounge chairs and hammocks. We were a few miles out of the main town/beach area but Randy made sure we had rides to and from town anytime we wanted. When it was time to leave, Randy arranged transportation for us back to Managua airport (several hours away), letting us stop and see a volcano and artist markets on the way. The stay was relaxing - we might even go back to Nicaragua JUST to stay at Casa del Soul again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We travel with another couple and have renting houses for several years now. Casa del Soul more than met all our requirements. Randy and Brenda were great hosts and provided us with information galore and points of interest we should see. Although the walk into town looked daunting, just take your time and it's fine (this comes from someone who does not exercise). There were lots of time Randy would pick us up in town so that we didn't have to call for a taxi. There is even a wonderful, friendly, charming dog attached to the house (we wanted to take him home, but Randy wouldn't let us). The kitchen had every thing you could possibly want, we packed steaks in our check-on luggage and used the grill. Breakfast was always lots of fresh fruit, which tasted so much better than what we get a home, eggs, pancakes, whatever you want. San Juan is a small, clean town with numerous restaurants which have very cheap and excellent food. We rented for 10 days and only had a car for the last 4. We found that taxis are an excellent way to get around - share the cab and you can go to other towns/market places for only $2.00/pp. We even tried our luck at the brand new casino in town and had lots of fun. The house has lots of games to pay in the evening so if you stay at home, there is plenty to keep everyone happy. Everyone is friendly and willing to help in Nicaragua. You'll love Casa del Soul as much as we did!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cats4dog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We were 2 middle aged couples who rented out two bedrooms, sharing a common balcony overlooking the sea. The house was in a pristine location away from crowds and noise. At first I wondered how we were going to get in and out of town but found that the beautiful hilly walk was good for our bodies and if our strength just couldn't do another hill or if we were out late at night, we had the use of a cell phone and Randy (the owner) would pick us up.

The cook (Gabi) made us breakfast everyday and we did our own evening meals about 6 out of the 10 nights we were there. The kitchen was better equipped than my own. The open floor plan on the main level (like no walls) allowed us to enjoy those meals (and happy hours) with full unobstructed views.

Randy, the owner, was around but not in our faces at all. It was nice to have him to pick his brain on sightseeing ideas or best way to get from place to place when we took off for the day. We also had use of his laptop computer while we were there.

I would highly recommend this place and would return there again without a second thought.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biketravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed at casa del soul for 4 nights in december 2008 on a short vacation to nicaragua that we spent in san juan del sur and ometepe. The conveniences of the hotel far outweigh the distance from town, which was a concern for us when we booked it. It is too far to walk into town, so it isn't the best place to stay if you're the type of traveler that wants to stay out late every night. But they give you a cell phone and have a driver that will take you into town and pick you up whenever you call him. We went to town once or twice a day for our entire stay and it was very convenient. What you get for being 20 minutes outside of town is amazing views, wonderful privacy and seclusion, and a private beach. The breakfasts were excellent, and gabi cooked several lunches and dinners for us too. We just picked up some groceries and she did the rest. The room was nice, we were in the slightly smaller of the two premium rooms on the second floor. An air conditioner would have been nice, because even when it cooled off at night it was still a little warmer in the room that I'm used to sleeping (probably got down to about 75 at night, and december in nicaragua is a time when the weather and traveling is perfect). The satellite TV was much better than expected, with every major US network and premium channel available, and the dvd player and ipod speakers were awesome added bonuses. The bathroom was beautiful, and the hot water was piping hot. Overall, the convenience of being at a place with more staff than the number of guest rooms, a great pool, nice quiet area with hammocks, a private beach, amenities such as a provided cell phone and driver, far far FAR FAR outweighed the fact that it was a little bit outside of town. The price was perfect as well. Also I should mention that Randy arranged to pick us up at the border as we had flown into liberia costa rica, and they were there waiting for us when we got there. They also drove us to the dock at san jorge the morning we left to go to ometepe. Top notch service without the tourist tax and price gouging that you get from some of the bigger resorts. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks Randy for such a wonderful vacation!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mattunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I had never tried a B&B before but after reading many of the reports on TripAdvisor and all the info on the Casa del Soul website, decided to give it a try. This property exceeds its advertisements (and exceeded my expectations)! Truly a taste of luxury that we very much needed after our rustic accommodations in other parts of Nicaragua. Casa del Soul was impeccably clean, nice and quiet, and offered incredible views of the Pacific Ocean right from our guest room. The owner, Randy, and his assistant Brenda went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Brenda's delicious food was a welcome change from the bland, unappetizing food we'd experienced for most of our trip previous to our stay at Casa del Soul. The B&B is located in an upscale, executive neighborhood in the hills overlooking San Juan del Sur. Randy offers transportation into town (a 5-10 minute trip) and has taxi service available, even as far as to the Managua Airport. The personal service and spacious facilities made us feel as though we owned the place. We stayed 4 days. I'm glad we saved Casa del Soul until the end of our Nicaragua vacation. It would have been very difficult to stay at some of our other hotels in Nicaragua after experiencing the luxury of Casa del Soul.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — there was nothing that I disliked
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank airlinepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Casa del Soul is a slice of heaven, in a gorgeous spot. The proprietor, Randy, goes out of his way to make sure guests are comfortable and have whatever they need to make their stay memorable.

You can cook your meals, have them cooked to order, or eat your meals out, in town. Arrangements for transportation and excursions are available for the asking.

The rooms are luxurious, by Nica standards, with unforgettable views. The house is built with the beautiful surroundings paramount. Sunset swims with cocktails poolside are not to be missed.

  • Liked — The proprietor was very accommodating.
  • Disliked — There was not enough privacy between our room and the neighboring room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsMindyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.6 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Property: Casa Del Soul
Address: Pacific Marlin N 34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Del Soul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing