We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent and Tranquil”
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Soul
Medford, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Magnificent and Tranquil”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Tucked away on a hillside and overlooking a beautiful bay on the Pacific this spacious Mom & Pop B&B is only a 10 minute taxi ride into the beach town of San Juan Del Sur. This boutique hotel has 4 generously sized guest rooms, two of which share a large balcony with a beautiful ocean view. The rooms are well-appointed and very clean. Owners Randy and Brenda and their small staff go out of their way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay! The included breakfast is delicious and fresh. And the coffee? What can we say...it's Nicaragua and the coffee everywhere is wonderful! They even give you a cell phone to use during your stay with their numbers and vetted taxi numbers already pre-programmed. We regret that we only had 2 nights there on this our first trip to Nicaragua, but it won't be our last visit to Casa del Soul!
And if you feel the need for a therapeutic massage during your stay, Brenda will accomodate that with her great Shiatzu skills. This is a great way to relax into sunning yourself beside the pool.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but the two upstairs share a nice balcony and great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
164
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have had the good fortune of traveling the dusty lanes of iconic Route 66 and the majestic hiking trails of the Austrian Alps. I have overnighted in neon-lit motels, snow-covered Alpine inns, and, later in life, five-star hotels in mid-town Manhattan. The ones I remember the most are those where the warmth and friendliness of the innkeepers and staff members exceeded any of the physical amenities of the lodging establishments. Casa Del Soul will always rank high in my personal criteria of judging overnight accommodations. The host, Randy, and his staff displayed friendliness and willingness to serve the needs of their guests in a manner I have rarely experienced in the recent past. Their sincere desire that each guest be comfortable was evident throughout my entire stay. I not only experienced it, but I witnessed it in reference to other guests who were at Casa Del Soul while I was there. I am anxious to recommend Casa Del Soul to my friends and family. I know Randy and his staff will take care of them during their visit of San Juan del Sur.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeltaOne333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our family - two grandparents, sons and their wives, 2 grandchildren had a wonderful stay.
We didn't need a car because randy took us to town when we needed to go. The view was stunning. The upstairs bedrooms superb. The back bedrooms are a little dark but have good ventilation. There are lovely walks to take from there. He helped arranged our transport to and from and loaned us cell phones. Everything was perfectly clean. The breakfasts were varied and tasty.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms were excellent. The downstairs rooms would have been disappointing except we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quakertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Randy's house is perfect for any occasion. My business partner and I rented out the entire house for 10 days. 6 of which were spent working by the pool with great internet connection. The other 4 we had a full house of friends fly in from California. I ran to town daily and we also had a car. Easy access to town, along with the perfect setup for pure exclusion. Highly encourage anyone to check out Randy's house. Great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexI7935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days for our anniversary during December and had an incredible time. The accomodations were very nice and we liked having people around who could help us navigate the area with transport options and food. However nice it was in SJDS, the beach below the house was awesome. We explored for hours during low tide and came along many private sandy coves and interesting rock formations. There was no one, incredible. Would love to get back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Randy's place was amazing. Close enough to town to enjoy nights out but far enough we were able to focus on making work progress as well. Wi-fi was great and fast enough for remote video calls and screen sharing sessions. The view was awesome, staff and meals fantastic, and rooms lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights back before the 2013 holidays. I keep dreaming of the experience, and meaning to write and post a few pics... here goes.

Casa del Soul is a gorgeous property.. nestled amongst private luxury villas on the hillside behind the Jesus statue above San Juan del Sur. The place is a clean, quiet, safe, nicely furnished palace of stone and tile with a breathtaking view.

Randy, the owner, and his staff are as helpful (or invisible) as you want them to be. The prepared daily breakfast is great - and the huge communal kitchen, top-notch. Bring a few groceries from town and there's no need to leave. But if you do want to explore, everything is close-by. Walking is doable and cabs to town only $6-$8 if you don't want the exercise.

Nacascolo bay down below is undeveloped and deserted. We walked the rocks (at lower tides) to discover our own private nude beach... lol. I've attached a few pics/map of Casa del Soul taken during our adventure.

Nice amenities, beautiful natural setting, helpful staff, sweet dog, totally relaxing vibe -- what else could you ask? Casa del Soul is fabulous! We will be back.

Room Tip: Rear room has no view -- but who cares when you're sleeping. Step out the door and BAM! Paradi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.8 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Property: Casa Del Soul
Address: Pacific Marlin N 34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Del Soul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing